AmWINS Group, Inc Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 18 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
42
36
20
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 18 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of joy and cheer and women and shrill voices and friendly smiles and lots of food and judgey looks and cubicles.
Insurance Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 16, 2018
Should enjoy typing, clicking, scanning between multiple monitors, the sounds of flip-flops flopping all day. Should like food and desserts every other week, multiple flavors of coffee, cold blasts from air conditioners, loud complaining, very casual environment. Wonderful assortment of interests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership with No Vision
Interim Chief Information Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 1, 2018
Immature company that wastes talented individuals. Is not up to the 21st century with business technology and security postures. Prioritizes the wrong functions and goals while the business often times is at risk of itself and not focusing strategically.
Pros
Basic Job with a paycheck
Cons
Leadership lacks vision, not transparent, enforcement through fear
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little compensation and very little room for advancement
Premium Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 29, 2018
Little compensation and very little room for advancement. A person will only get promoted if you are very close with. You will be waiting for a long time to get a promotion. Bonuses are very minimal as the director keeps a massive chunk of bonus funds for himself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AmWins Group
Senior Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 7, 2018
AmWINs Group is an excellent place to work. They offer opportunity for advancement and growth in many areas of the insurance industry. Local management is very challenging. They do not clearly communicate expectations because they are vague about what they really want. You can go in one day and it is almost a play day, buy then the next day they want to know why you did not get the work done, very confusing.
Pros
Benifits, Corporate Culture, Ability to grow at the corporate level.
Cons
Locally stressfull and confusing. No clear leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
software programmer (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXApril 19, 2018
Not really interested in individual employee development. Passive-aggressive communications from management. Little to no communication among team members.
Pros
Average/acceptable pay, great health benefits
Cons
No real job satisfaction, no advacement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Environment
Underwriting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 14, 2018
No room for growth towards certain individuals whom already have the insurance experience. There is no structure on workflow procedures. You learn as you go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced - Ever changing environment
Release Engineer (Current Employee) –  South Park, NCJanuary 14, 2018
Its a good place to work if you are Developer... No Documentation is provided for their current - ever changing environment. Must be willing to work and learn on the fly.
Pros
Good Management
Cons
No Documentation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
IT Technical Support Analyst I (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 14, 2018
We work in partnership with brokers and consultants as well as carrier partners to provide three solutions: brokerage, underwriting and administrative / outsourcing services. Our brokerage capabilities include a variety of specialty group benefit programs such as retiree medical, medical stop loss, small group fully insured and self-funded programs. Our underwriting capabilities include fully insured major medical, medical stop loss, student accident and prescription drug insurance. Our administrative / outsourcing services include care management, claims adjudication, eligibility management and enrollment, premium and billing collection.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Care
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXNovember 8, 2017
Very good Place to work, Typical day, I will be assisting Group Retirees with there supplemental benefits, which we were secondary to Medicare.. Took about 25 inbound calls a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Redondo Beach, CAOctober 14, 2017
The office culture is horrible. So much favoritism and harassment. Management turns a blind eye unless you are in their clique. There is zero chance for advancement. No pay increases. This place is soul sucking. They need to worry less about team building events and perhaps try morale building.
Pros
Casual dress.
Cons
Terrible management. No room for growth. Toxic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 15, 2017
Growth within the company, good hours, and good pay, i wish i didnt leave,but do to personal reasons i had to, but overall, this was a new call center, no high turn over rate at all
Pros
Growth within the company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a fun place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 12, 2017
This position was a temp position for 3 to 4 months. They had budget cuts. But on a whole it's a good company to work for. The culture is pleasant, the people are nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management & Office Leadership w/ no advancement opportunities
PA (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 24, 2017
The moral of the office is pretty low due to the poor management within the office. I have been at AmWINS for a few years now and have reported to seven different managers. One that was in a completely different office, in a different state. And three that have had zero insurance industry or TPA experience...which is our line of business. The current leadership brought into our office (having no experience relating to our work) is doing away with all management positions and having every department report directly to him, making no room for advancement opportunities.
Pros
Great benefits, laid-back office environment, competitive pay
Cons
awful management, no advancement opportunities, poor office moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to with for
Associate Broker (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2017
I loved working at AmWINS. I couldn't thank enough for the opportunity given to me to start my corporate job. Great people to work with. They have great program for advancement. Unfortunately, I was not able to take advantage of it.
Pros
Team Events, Free Lunch and Learn offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 3, 2017
great place to work. great staff, leadership, and culture. Team work was a priority at all times. Always a group helping to cross sell, share leads, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take the good with the bad
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 31, 2017
Very laid back culture with great flexibility. But communication is seriously lacking and management is close to non-existant (depending on your department). Functions as a small company but compensation structure is very corporate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace...
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 1, 2013
AmWINS Group is a Insurance Brokerage. I performed all data entry for A/P.
Pros
Great Team
Cons
My job was eliminated due to Automation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report