Apex Systems Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great contractor position
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 27, 2018
I worked as a Home Delivery Helper with Best Buy Geek Squad in the Nashville, TN Davidson County Area. I was under contract by APEX Systems, LLC during the holiday season in 2017.
Pros
You got to work with different Geek Squad team members
Cons
Sometimes the days were short.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxx
Six Sigma Master Black Belt (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 22, 2018
preferred.
Experience in Agile Methodology, scrum master certification, or similar certification
Experience or certification in Six Sigma methodology or process engineering
Knowledge of business process improvement methodologies is required.
Bachelor’s degree is required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job as a contractor
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Belvoir, VAFebruary 22, 2018
This was my first job after coming out of the Air Force as well as my first job as a contractor. My daily routine was spent scanning documents into a database while trying to fill a quota on how much is done. The team I was with were an incredible group of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A temporary job assignment company
Deployment Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Miramar, CAFebruary 20, 2018
I am on assignment at a customer.
Have been consulting for 14 years on and off
Management is organised for a temporary agency
I work onsite at the customer's location and do not know APEX's workplace culture. The hardest part is knowing that I will have to look for new positions constantly. At the customer location I am not involved with their local politics
Pros
quick onboarding
Cons
no company investment for benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting with Apex
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAFebruary 20, 2018
It was an incredibly interesting experience and learning how to communicate to professionals in the IT world. However the "numbers" were more important than integrity and personal support. Overall, I liked the environment and the people however disliked the numbers game.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team based environment...when they give you hours.
Windows Deployment Technician (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 16, 2018
Easy and straightforward job. Setting computers up and migrating user data from an old workstation to the new. However they lied about accommodating my National Guard drill schedule. They did not prevent me from going to my scheduled drill periods but they would not schedule me to work for the weeks around them to save the company money on travel costs, giving me 2-3 week periods of no work and no income. Was told this would not be the case when I was on-boarding with the company.
Pros
Covered food and lodging, and most travel expenses
Cons
Schedule changes daily, non-transparent and shady recruitment. Absolutely no security in work consistency
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a contract agency
Project Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Timonium, MDFebruary 15, 2018
Even though I did excellent work (praise from my client) and that I went above and beyond what I was required to do; I was requested to take a reduction in pay because of the economy
Pros
None
Cons
Poor advancement potential
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced, Competitive and friendly environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newport Beach, CAFebruary 14, 2018
Learned a lot about recruiting, IT language, and sales.
The workplace culture is friendly and management is exceptional.
every one from the company as a whole is very friendly and always willing to help.
Pros
team building, shorter days on friday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Enterprise System Engineer (Current Employee) –  Independence, OHFebruary 14, 2018
Contracted to work at Rockwell Automation

Please refer to my resume for job duties

Fast pace environment but also cut throat with working with clients. Juggled many different things during my assignment. I am currently still there but have been reduced to 25 hour a week.
Pros
Work From Home
Cons
Cuthroat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apex is okay; Clients are Problem
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 13, 2018
Apex is an okay staffing company to work for. However, their client was uninspiring and boring. The client clearly did not need me. I spent my days looking for another job and renewing a professional certification. Unfortunately, although Apex knew I was bored and unhappy, there was no other place for me so I had to find another position outside of Apex.
Pros
Upfront interviewing process; good support from IT when problems encountered logging time.
Cons
Boring client (not Apex's fault!)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful for contractors
DISA GOC JRSS Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Scott AFB, ILFebruary 10, 2018
Company reached out to me in order to subcontract me to DISA for my current job. They helped negotiate my salary with the contract holder. Were available when I had questions and were able to negotiate a flexible starting date when exiting the military
Pros
flexible
Cons
extremely expensive "benefits", no paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detroit St John
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Trenton, MI 48183February 10, 2018
This job was a contract for St John. I only worked this position for 2 weeks. I was updating their database on all of the laptops that are in the hospital.
Pros
easy job
Cons
only a 2 week project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apex Systems
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAFebruary 9, 2018
Great positions available with a decent salary, but does not offer any kind of PTO, sick days, or vacation time. Most jobs are temporary assignments, so once your contract ends, you may or may not have a new project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Hunter Temp Company
Systems Administrator/Software Test Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAFebruary 9, 2018
Unfortunately I jumped on their salary quick. They paid a lot - but ZERO benefits. The promise was a 6 month position and then a full time hire after. Didn't happen. The tech group eliminated my position in 3 months and Apex could not find me another job fast...would never work for them again.
Pros
high pay
Cons
everything else - no benefits - no stability - no future
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
business analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 7, 2018
Apex placed me in two separate contracts, but became inattentive/uninterested. This staffing company has a very big company feel. I prefer smaller staffing agencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't!
Invoice Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 6, 2018
The communication between recruiter and employee is terrible. Was not satisfied with assignment, so I asked for recruiter to assist in another assignment. Was told by the recruiter's boss that finding another placement for an employee was "not the recruiters job". When concerns were expressed about recruiter not being helpful, management seemed to not care.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Lack of communication/advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive to a point - Needed Customer By In before start of project
Northrop Grumman - DFARS Systems Engineer F35 (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAFebruary 6, 2018
This was a contract position and I was placed at Grumman for the duration of the contract. I enjoyed all the High Tech equipment that was found in the working environment.
Pros
Fascinating exposure to High Tech equipment
Cons
Travel to El Segundo was time consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Intro to Contracting
(Contractor) - Desktop Support Tech, System Admin (Current Employee) –  Fort Knox, KYFebruary 5, 2018
This was a good starting point into learning about being a contractor. I learned the skills necessary to be able to get a higher paying job, either within the company or somewhere else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prefer not to answer
I.T. Operations Support Analyst contracted to DXC (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 5, 2018
This organization is a contract only company. Employee has to be able to enter worked hours daily in at least 2 formats, one for Apex and the second for what ever company you are contracted to.
It is not a secure work environment because companies that contract an employee can have the employee removed from a work site with little to no reason and Apex may take a while to replace you at another work location. For that reason this is not a secure work environment and that can be stressful.
Pros
Getting paid weekly.
Cons
Insurance expense and high deductables
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracted with Best Buy through Apex Systems
Delivery Helper (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXFebruary 2, 2018
Overall good company to work for. Since you are contracted through them with another company, there typically isn't much interaction between you and APEX management. However they are easy to get ahold of if you have any questions that you need addressed, and do take the time to make sure your questions are answered completely.

Interview process was a breeze. I went through a phone interview, and then a Facetime interview. Typical questions were asked, both behavioral questions, and questions related to performing essential job duties. Process only took about a week.

They pay fairly, and they''re not strict about clock ins/outs. You complete this process through their mobile app and submit your time at the end of the week. They trust employees to enter their times honestly and correctly, and this trust is something you cant get with other companies. You are paid weekly, and I never had any problems with direct deposit.

They do offer benefits as well but if you're contracted for only short period of time, you are not there long enough to receive the benefits.

The only downside to contracting with them is job security; my contract was less than two months long but yours will probably vary. Other than that this is an A+ company to work for. No complaints.
Pros
Low-stress atmosphere, good pay, respectable and helpful management
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Apex Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 675 reviews
5205
4221
3151
251
147

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.7

3.0Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight