APG Security Employee Reviews

Showing all 172 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAJuly 7, 2019
I checked belongings and ID of employees and clients. The working room was tiny, but in general it was a very comfortable place with a good scheduler.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont go here
Sgt.Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJuly 3, 2019
I worked at UPS site in Greensboro and they don’t fight for their employees. Customer was constantly nit picking and management didn’t do anything about it. Couldn’t get healthcare because the manager hardly came to the site. Very bias and will try to force you to work different shifts. No OT unless someone calls in(still have to get it approved first). Too many captains of a small boat
Pros
Slow paced, great co workers. Lot of down time
Cons
Different managers giving different orders, no accountability. No raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Sharon, PAJune 27, 2019
Can't keep employees so others are overworked. Horrible at getting you uniforms.
Underpaid for what they require. Constant pay issues, you've got to check your pay every single week.
Pros
Weekly pay. People you work with
Cons
Bad management low pay too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
APG Security
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RI 02886June 4, 2019
Apg security wasnt the greatest job, never really kept anyone in a certain place, always moving from location, never could really ask for a steady time or place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from APG
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Warren, OHMay 31, 2019
Honestly. They are just an all around horrible company to work for. Worked hospital security in a ghetto. And we went hands on constantly which is no problem but nothing to back you. No protective gear. When we have 6 GSWs in a week I think we need at least a concieable vest. I mean people always bring huge knives in that we lock up and its only a matter of tine before someone gets killed due to the major security flaws.
Pros
Laid back, seeing things most people never will. Death, bodies ect.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
APG is adequate
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Sebastian, FLMay 29, 2019
APG is just another low wage protection services company. adequate, nothing special. Wages are low for the geographic area and responsibilities expected
Pros
paychecks every week
Cons
nothing special about them
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIMay 23, 2019
Has unlimited over time if you need any extra money, willing to work around school schedule. The pay is good for what they require you to do. All you have to do is be good with working with others and you’ll get by just fine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic security
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 23, 2019
New site captain hopefully improvements but don’t hold you’re breath.. super easy job not much advancement as far as a career goes but it’s a job.....
Pros
Easy 8 Hrs
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from senior management
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsMay 10, 2019
As an operations manager, I feel like a puppet. I try to be fair with my employees only to be shut down with no support from the company. Some of my current and former employees failed to see that I am fighting an uphill battle and have no respect for anything that I have done to protect them from APG management. In my tenure, I fought to get my staff raises, brought back supervisory positions, as for some reason my predecessor eliminated the positions, and made difficult decisions on staffing. Unfortunately, at APG, everyone is just a number.

That said, they hire people who are not qualified to work security, their background checks are a joke, and they make clients feel unsafe by not staffing open positions. I urge any client to dump them.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fall River, MAApril 30, 2019
At first it was great, the employees were easy to get along with and always had your back until slowly but surely everything fell apart. Staff got cut majorly from 10 to 12 per shift to only 5 per shift. In the health care department, 5 officers is nowhere near enough to cover an entire list of needs from all Hospital staff. A new account manager was hired, to replace one that was far much better, and he extremly sucks at it. He has no respect for anyone nor does he get the respect from those that know better. He's a complete moron and him still not being replaced tells all that is needed to know about the company. I'm only speaking on my experience at St. Anne's Hospital since he's been there. As far as the job, it can be stressful but you can get used to it but it's not for everyone. There are some, very few, decent employees there still just not very many. Anyone who chooses to work there, good luck.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get your foot in the door
Human Resource Generalist/Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Woburn, MAApril 29, 2019
Not a bad first company to move on from, become law enforcement or, further your career for security. Benefits could be better, but overall environment is not bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply here waste of time
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Norwood, MAApril 24, 2019
Don't work for APG Security in Norwood Hospital terrible The manager can't handle situations doesn't know what she's doing pays people extra shifts even though the employee isn't present in the hospital and also mess up pay role and lets employee bring there kids to work to sleep over night you also do a lot of 12 dollars an hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucked
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RI 02886April 12, 2019
Working 3rd shift was probably the worst. Mandatory OT if 1st shift didnt have enough people to cover. Management was all about favoritism, and no real room to advance unless a supervisor left. They were quick to fire you for the smallest things, like no being clean shaven or not shining your boots.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at just needs some improvement
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCApril 9, 2019
Overall good place to work at just needs some improvement in areas. I believe the pay needs to ve higher. The downside of the company is the turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so bad
supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, RIApril 2, 2019
this job is more as a passer by the time kinda job. great if you need money in order to get your life moving on in he direction you want it to go to .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have the skill for work and I have the ability and charisma of work
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  John F. Kennedy International Airport, NYMarch 28, 2019
Am very hard working very honest loyal always on time at working very respectful always do my work at my best always paying attention at what I’m doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment was fast.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 25, 2019
The manager are great at what they do. The manager take serious manner to be there on Time and make sure nothing leaves the building. Security guard had throughly search each client one by one.
Pros
Fast paced environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for experience.
Security Officer (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAMarch 17, 2019
The only benefits for working at APG are the hospital staff you meet, the connections that are possible for you to make while working and the experience you get working in a hospital security setting. Other then that the management team is weak, expecting the most from us while they themselves have their days off where they don't have to come in or be called. EVERY day off they call you multiple times to come in. Even though they start you off with a set schedule, that quickly changes and they put you on for overnight shifts and doubles you weren't aware of or signed up for. They MANDATE overnight shifts and doubles regardless of your availability, so when you don't show up for a shift you didn't know you were mandated for an officer who is already there has to stay. This happens often and completely deteriorates morale with the people we work with. Over all- good stepping stone to get to where you want to go, but NOT a company you want to be working for.. for long, employees aren't valued, benefits are terrible, hours are rough and upper management is horrific in speaking to employees. all this at 12/ HR. no differentials.
Pros
good entry into hospital setting
Cons
healthcare, moale, administration, scheduling, Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
officer (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsMarch 11, 2019
Security company is very understaffed, there are not enough people to staff the number of positions needed to be filled, officers are under paid and under appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All the great supervisors left
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 21, 2019
Starting off they were pretty decent company but a lot of their managers and supervisors left from the headache in the front office and the lack of communication they have with their Command of chain
Pros
Non
Cons
Lack of Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at APG Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 172 reviews
531
433
346
218
144

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.2Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.6Culture