Apple Bank for Savings Employee Reviews

Showing all 80 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Jr. Loan Administrator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 23, 2019
Do not work here. Nasty people and promises are broken; once you are in a position, they look you over and hire someone else! Do not apply...go to another bank!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work for
Operation supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 7, 2019
A bunch of people who worked there for ever that are miserable and take it out on The employees. Horrible work conditions no ac/ no heating. Employees take 3 hr lunches and mangers say nothing. Was told that speaking my native language is inappropriate. Last but not least HR keeps nothing confidential they will call you’re boss and tell them about your confidential concerns.
Pros
Shorts hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Various Roles (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 6, 2019
Impressive 150 Year track Record in Banking Servies
Consistent senior management team
Dedicated employees with very little management turn-over
Continued growth and opportunties
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Relationship Banker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 11, 2018
work place is ok, salary is good but not good benefits. working hours are very easy. system is very manual and it takes lot of time to process any transaction. lot of paper work. so many form
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apple Bank is good company but can be much better.
Teller Supervisor (Current Employee) –  NewNovember 6, 2018
It’s a really good company but doesn’t pay well the company had so much potential but lack the ability to keep up with the way other banks have been progressing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, low pay, great customers, job security
Teller (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2018
Apple Bank for savings is a slow paced place to work. Healh insurance is expensive and if you visit the doctors the copay is high, so is not worth at all. Management do whatever they want there is no control on that you will be lucky if you get someone nice as manager and willing to help you growth within the company. If they dont like you, they will transfer you to whatever branch even if is bad commute for you. Everything is old school, system is not helpful. Too many unnecessary reports. One thing i like is that branches are closed on many holidays. If you just want to go to work and get the banking experience to start, this is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environmet
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYNovember 1, 2018
I typical work day for me was dealing with customers. Taking in deposits and withdrawals. Reconciling my draw to make sure there are no discrepancies. Great people to be around.
Pros
Clean and relaxed environemt
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow days, but crazy during Social Security Days.
Teller (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 6, 2018
Start day with stand opening procedure. Look for correct opening signal, open the vaults, fill out the mortgage report, make coffee and tea, sort your cash and wait for the bank to open.

Depending if it is the beginning of the month. If it towards the beginning, you will get bombarded with a long line of seniors who want to zero out their account. You are expected to work fast. If it is the middle or the end of the month, work is nice and slow. You are expected to be seated the whole time, which is fair enough.

I have learned that if you work with a smile, customers will like you more.

Management is extremely strict, and will tell you to silence yourself if they catch you talking to coworkers. Must keep transactions with customers small or they will time you. Favoritism is big among senior employees. They are like family, and you are the stranger.
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 31, 2018
Time spent too short, no paid off. Wish the culture was a little more up-to-date and the manual way you learn should be updated with new idea and up to day equipment.
Pros
Location
Cons
Time spent too short
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with people internally as well as externally
Senior Trainer (Former Employee) –  XXX 3rd Avenue, New York, NYJuly 16, 2018
training department. Every two-three weeks trained potential teller and/or managers for the banking floor.

My training to assist others to succeed. I had to reprimand when I felt an individual was not doing their work or studying. Challenging days were having to terminate an individual for not passing the weekly tests given.

I felt great when those who graduated, to still see them working at the bank months and years later. Some have been promoted in other areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Line Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manhasset, NYMay 10, 2018
Apple bank for savings is a fun place to work as a customer specialist. its a secure job where as long as you do your job, you wont be bothered by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work just new to advance their systems for the high expectations of their employees
BSA/AML Case Investigator (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 10, 2018
Decent pay need better benefits to maintain momentum. For younger people starting in the company it may not be the best place to retire from. Keep your options open.
Pros
Respectable and professional work environment.
Cons
Offer competitive benefits and working hours. Need to update systems and buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People, Dynamic Environment
Vice President, Deputy Chief Auditor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 9, 2018
Apple Bank was a good experience for me. I learned a great deal and was given the opportunity to work with many knowledgeable people and executive management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, repetitive and unexciting work with good pay
KYC Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2018
Work is very dull, there are few perspectives for changes. Processes are awfully manual and inefficient and will remain that way for a while unfortunately. Work environment is very light. Pay is competitive, most employees are paid overtime (if they can justify the extra hours) which to me was awesome. Management is professional but inexperienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Assistant Manager/Assistant Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYJanuary 26, 2018
Apple Bank is an awesome institution to work for. They care about their employees as well as their clients. They've progressed from a "Mom and Pop" bank to compete with the bigger known banks in the NY area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would evaluate my experienced to be productive.
Assistant Treasurer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2018
I always looked forward to heading to the office. The group of individuals I worked with I would considered them to be family. We worked well together and all of our resources combined, we achieved our end goals. The most enjoyable part of the job I would say is providing assistance when it was needed.
Pros
Working well with other departments.
Cons
Choices of healthcare options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture but slow paced...
Supervisory Teller (Former Employee) –  Massapequa, NYJanuary 24, 2018
This is a great place to be comfortable, however there is not much opportunity to grow. It is a slow-paced workday with very little stress, but as a result the work day goes by very slowly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its just how i see things
Customer Line/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Manhasset, NYJanuary 24, 2018
apple bank is just a bank that's all the same as the rest low pay and tones of work .I did have have some days not all thde time I would not go back but the people seem nice at times lol
Pros
the hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2018
It's a great company to work for they are very flexible they training team.is excellent and it's a company that is willing to adjust. It have many branches you can work at that's convent for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
zero work life balance
AML Investigations (Consultant) (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYDecember 26, 2017
I worked for this bank through a third party staffing firm. It was one of the worst experiences of my life. There was zero work-life balance, mean managers, totally illegal work practices, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Apple Bank for Savings. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 80 reviews
525
423
320
25
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture