Applied Ecological Services Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 12 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52
45
33
22
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 12 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun but sometimes really hot
Horticulturalist Aid (Former Employee) –  KansasJanuary 13, 2018
I was a temp worker who mostly pulled weeds and shipped plants. I thought it was great work but in the end, even for a fit guy like me, the work was too intense during summer.
Pros
normal
Cons
normal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
true believers in what they do
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brodhead, WINovember 19, 2017
True believers in what they do. Very dedicated but were also at times very arrogant, believing they knew more than everyone else in the industry. Could be the right job for some people if you fit the culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place to Work if Not in Management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Dundee, ILJune 6, 2017
This employer is very discriminatory and uncaring toward non-management or disabled staff. Has a hard time keeping promises when it comes to promoting PT to FT staff. Non-management staff is underappreciated and overworked and trying to get a salary increase is like pulling teeth. I presume the benefits are the cheapest they can come by because overall coverage is not very good for regional offices. I have also heard of local management sexually harassing people.
Cons
Poor pay, feeling unappreciated, don't expect a referral even when going above expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work for.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Brodhead, WINovember 29, 2016
repair , replace or fix non functioning equipment. worked with very nice people, had to drive 30 min. to work every day. Enjoyed doing my job and my accomplishments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Restoration Technician (Current Employee) –  Brodhead, WINovember 29, 2015
I enjoy working for AES! THe company is like family that you get to know and respect. I'm glad and happy that I work for a company with that environment.
Pros
Working outdoors, beautiful sites and fun work enivornment
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work days: outside in the forests and prairies
Field Ecologist (Former Employee) –  Brodhead, WIJuly 19, 2014
A lot of experience and learning using heavy equipment and machinery. Amazing to just be outdoors with the plants and wildlife around you
Pros
nothing like working in nature
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in.
Restoration Field Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  AppletonAugust 29, 2013
I learned how to coordinate and manage projects as well as lead a group of co-workers in the completion of tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The sky's the limit
Employee (Current Employee) –  USAApril 2, 2013
There is unimaginable passion for the environment and restoring ecological systems in every single employee. The atmosphere is always full of excitement and optimism. Thinking outside of the box is prized and encouraged. There are many brilliant minds at AES. Take charge type individuals who are not afraid of hard work and long hours will thrive as there are always new opportunities and lots of freedom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Native restoration company with ecological values
Human Resource/Safety Administrator (Current Employee) –  Brodhead, WIMarch 22, 2013
AES is a great place to work, planting native seed, plants and trees helps the environment return to its natural state of beauty.I have learned a great deal about native plants and amazing benefits they have on the environment.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
below market value wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and family centric
Computer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brodhead, WISeptember 28, 2012
I enjoyed working with AES for many years. I learned so much about ecology and the roles that humans play in shaping our world.
Pros
beautiful drive to well maintained corporate office
Cons
no doggie or child care on campus ;-)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the work and the people in the immediate office
Administrative Manager (Former Employee) –  Eudora, KSAugust 1, 2012
I believed in what the company did but not how they treat employees or how they do business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Applied Ecological Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Applied Ecological Services Reviews by Location