Aramark Employee Reviews in Chicago, IL

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2018
The hours can vary making it difficult to get adjusted to a schedule. The supervisor don't really help a lot the just dictate the work with no instruction and are very critical of you performance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management can't be trusted.
Biomedical Equipment Technician (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2018
Overall the work culture was stressful due to Upper management VP level and above putting unrealistic goals on workers and having a culture of it's all about the money and not the workers. Local managers and co-workers are great to work with! Aramark was rated on of the ten worst paid companies in the U.S. to there employees.
Pros
Work hours
Cons
Upper managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The manager all suck
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 23, 2018
If your a fine big booty girl special privileges and if you a guy who does illegal drugs you were cool as long as you shared. Basically if your ghetto it's okay.
Pros
No bring your own food
Cons
Do as your told even if your doing someone else job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Procurement Experienced
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 12, 2018
The employees that I work with are very friendly and it makes my job exciting. A typical day would be to:
Review invoices from received products from various vendors.
Deal with daily discrepancies from the client, as well other vendors. Reviewing production line procedures making sure the product meets USDA guidelines.
Ordering various products through several different vendors also reviewing financial inquires, while maintaining a 10 million dollar inventory.
Pros
Friendly working enivironment
Cons
Not enough coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a stepping stone
Lunchroom Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2018
I was greatful for the job. It allowed me to provide for my family and gave me the minimum time required to be qualified in my field. Growth and Development
Pros
employment
Cons
under appreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Assistant Manager Transportation (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2018
Aramark work people into the ground with little or no appreciation. I worked some days almost 23 hours when other managers called off, but was never shown any appreciation; instead, I was given the worst shifts along with the worst team possible.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with many coworkers to assist
Meeting Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60616October 30, 2018
Work hard for the first two to three hours and very light work for the remaining hours of employment. The management staff is excellent with a variety of workplace culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The unviersity of chicago
Dishwasher and Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 9, 2018
I iwsh that aramark can come back too the unversity of chicago. I have alot of friends saying that they wish aramark was still there. Bon appetit dosen't treat you right at all. Go aramark
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Catering Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2018
They are a great company to work for, I have had a positive experience with them.It's been wonderful to work and be part of such great team. They have really taught me a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job
Lead Food Service Worker/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 26, 2018
It’s a nice company
You can learn a lot
It’s one big family
The people are amazing
The students are the best part of the job
Everyone typically make you feel welcomed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for networking
Soldier Field Suite Runner (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 22, 2018
What I liked most about Aramark is that I stayed on my feet. Most people enjoy jobs where they don't have to much, but honestly it makes the day go faster.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, good pay, poor management
Warehouse Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 10, 2018
It's a great job, but very poor management skills, they hire to many relatives from the same family, making it impossible to be treated fairly. Favoritism is a real problem at aramark
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Very hot in the summer months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide me with a great experience but the stress level was too high
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 9, 2018
I learned a lot so I would not dismiss Aramark. The culture tends to get fuzzy especially thru leadership. If the expectation is we live and breath the culture so should senior management
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HOUSEKEEPING (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 9, 2018
organized
team work
easy job
just do your job your day will go good
communication
big location will get lost
being on break you get 3 breaks
good work culture
Pros
3 breaks
Cons
bring own lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Catering Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2018
they pay well and get rise every year. it is a great place to work and the coworkers are great. it can get stressing at times dealing with difficult client but over all fun work experience
Pros
work with school schedule
Cons
stressing at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much expected and not enough support
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2018
They expected too much from their DM's and scope of work. They had us selling, retaining, training, sourcing, recruiting, hiring, on boarding our new employees. I had over 29 accounts and they expected quarterly business reviews with everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company
Chief Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2018
It is a company with many divisions. Worked in the laundry facility. Schedules were flexible with employee needs. Regular scheduled maintenance on equipment.
Pros
working equipment
Cons
Being on call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow an a hard place to work
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  ChicagoAugust 7, 2018
When I first started I thought it was a good place to work I was getting a lot of hours making a lot of money and then it stopped but I had choosing to work for third shift and that was the worst idea I ever had the people there was lazy didn't have any work experience and was just real lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Retail Manger (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2018
Aramark is a ok place to work but at my place of work it is a little unorganized. And we sometimes have to work long days if we have a call off in our location.
Pros
Good Insurance for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on the account, can be a great place to work.
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 30, 2018
Leadership has worked to change the culture and has some successes. They are still working to improve. Depending on the account, it can be a really great place to work. Job security is a definite concern.
Pros
Flexible schedule.
Cons
Job security can be questionable from time to time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aramark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13,343 reviews
53.8K
44.1K
33.3K
21.2K
11K

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Aramark.