Aramark Employee Reviews for Food Service Worker

Found 516 reviews matching the search See all 13,011 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 11, 2018
Great company to work for. Wouldn’t recommend taking on a position at a school though unless you’re ok with not working when the students go on break.
Pros
Free lunch, friendly coworkers
Cons
Only work during school days, off for 2-3 week seasonal breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its just ok
Food service worker/ caterer/cashier (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 10, 2018
its just not a place that i look at as my dream job i see myself working for myself or at a career job its not enough money and the way they do the hours is also a pain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of jobs
Barista/ food service worker (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIOctober 9, 2018
Aramark puts businesses inside businesses. I worked inside GM serving coffee and food. Aramark is in schools and even prisons. Each location is different.
Pros
Free up to 6 dollars in food per day
Cons
One 30 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  IndainaOctober 3, 2018
The co.pant is t will. G to work with go hand its not the best place to work due yo the stress it causes but good money and it can have good in other ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  North Providence, RIOctober 1, 2018
Management does not care about hourly workers. Poor food, always running out of food. Food quality is very poor. The management takes offense to calling out sick, gives you a issue
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible working condition, always running out of food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really enjoy cooking
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Decherd, TNSeptember 29, 2018
really enjoy cooking , and talking to each person I run across. And I enjoy making them happy.We cook breakfast ,lunch for them and have a time deadline.Than we need to stock the marts so there have colds drinks to buy.Than we have to clean the kitchen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJSeptember 28, 2018
The job itself isn't stressful. Management was just unfair, the customers were rude and their wasn't any room for growth in the company. Overall, it is a starting experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job
Lead Food Service Worker/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 26, 2018
It’s a nice company
You can learn a lot
It’s one big family
The people are amazing
The students are the best part of the job
Everyone typically make you feel welcomed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reproductive and efficient
Kitchen Assistant and line food server (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoSeptember 26, 2018
There is a fast paced environment where you have to assist the chef in the distribution and preparation of food and service to the clientele due to the fact that's a cafeteria style atmosphere cleaning is the hard part but it's enjoyable working with the customer's and employees and learning the preparation of different foods
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Part time and sometimes not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  IllinoisSeptember 25, 2018
Only worked here for a couple of months before quitting. Management was a pain to work with, always mad over something and yelling at me for no reason. They called the kitchen every day to complain about something and made me cry at work multiple times from how rude they were. I barely got any training, and was expected to know how to do everything within a few days. My coworker was truly the worst person I have ever had to deal with and is another reason why I quit. If you’re looking for a job with cruel management and horrible hours/low pay, this is the job for you! The only thing that I loved about the job was the kids I got to work with, they made my days so much better and if it wasn’t for the awful management and staff I would still be working there. I also got no breaks which was horrible considering I was running around all day trying to prepare over 300 lunches and breakfasts. I got extremely sick and had a doctor’s note to stay home for a few days while I recovered and the managers had no sympathy for me and assumed I was faking just to get off work for a few days. Worst job I’ve ever experienced!
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, AWFUL management, extremely tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fungf
FOOD SERVICE WORKER (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 21, 2018
The managers have poor communication and the employees pretty much run the place. Overall, Aramark itself is a great company to work for and they have many options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work site could be a better place
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Valhalla, NYSeptember 16, 2018
Poor in giving hours to workers to satisfy their living...increase in salary isn't good...there is no level of moving up a scale just being at the same level
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment, lack of workers to student ratio.
Food Server Worker (Current Employee) –  Cranston, RISeptember 15, 2018
I arrive at 730 am and I start preparing breakfast to the classroom's.once completed I then take the temperature of the lunch food that has to be prepped in order to get lunch ready. During lunch I serve the student's.After lunch I clean the kitchen to get ready for the next day.
I love the student interaction,and the co-workers I have.

The hardest part of my day is if I have no help and the managers have to fill in. it's hard because I know they have to be in a lot of places and i do not get a lot of help at no fault of their own.
Pros
The hours are perfect because i work for the school system and I have a daughter in school.
Cons
Not enough kitchen staff per student ratio.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced job
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 6, 2018
I really enjoyed working for Aramark at the jail. I am a hard worker and put my heart and soul into my duties. My husband is relocating and I wanted to stay with the company. So I’m hoping you could consider hiring me
Pros
Eat free
Cons
Lunch break and short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place bad management
Lead Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 31, 2018
I loved the head ppl I loved my coworkers and my supervisor but the management was horrible they were not fair. I never understood why they did things the way they did them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Diverse Atmosphere
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIAugust 30, 2018
A typical day begins with preparing for breakfast and lunch. Cross-training is essential. Management is key in this area. The culture is great. The hardest part is working both restaurants in one day and sometimes not getting a proper break or lunch. The most enjoyable part of the job is the personal work relationships that are built with those that we serve on a daily basis.
Pros
Free Meals and Unlimited Drinks
Cons
short work hours, breaks and lunches are not always distributed fairly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun and low pay.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 27, 2018
I worked at a cafeteria at a college and it was a pretty bad experience. Management was terrible and not well organized, the pay was minimum and the work environment wasn't nice. It was very fast paced and stressful, especially when we had to cater events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place and awesome peopls
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Denali National Park, AKAugust 25, 2018
Great place to work for the summer. There are people from all over the world who come together to make the season enjoyable, and everyone just universally loves one another. The diversity and culture of the people in Denali was a remarkable experience!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 24, 2018
Good place to work. Very busy, always fun! Coworkers are very helpful. Learned other restaurant procedures. Build relationships with students. Management is willing to help. Has am open door policy,
Pros
Free lunch, build relationships
Cons
Short breaks, lines are long when on break to order food
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lackluster
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARAugust 20, 2018
The job overall was lackluster at its finest. Typical day is coworkers not doing their job and getting cussed out and putting people on blast for one's gratification. Supervisors walking around not doing their job. The hardest part of the job is when you tried to speak your mind you don't get a chance because they cut you off before you say something
Pros
no comment
Cons
bullying, coworkers not taking it seriously, the
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aramark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13,011 reviews
53.7K
44K
33.2K
21.2K
11K

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight