Arctic Glacier Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 112 reviews
Ratings breakdown
528
433
321
211
119
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 88 reviews matching the search See all 112 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job for kids in the summer. management and everything else is pretty disappointing
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Belding, MIMay 17, 2018
You become friends with the other drivers and helpers. 0 punishment. poor management. company doesn't care about you. really only a decent job for high school or college kids during the summer. Restricted to 40 hours during the winter. expect 60-80 hour weeks in the summer.
Pros
Good sumer job for high schoolers and college kids
Cons
Management sucks. corporate doesn't care about you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legalized slavery
Labor and Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAMay 10, 2018
One of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Force you to work six days a week, work you no less then 12 hours a day sometimes try to make you go over your DOT allowed driving time. Always have trouble with the ice boxes at the stores. Management does not care about the employees what so ever. 70-80 hr work week and the pay is horrible they expect you to work to death to makeup for the pour pay. Old trucks always breaking down and having problems don’t waste your time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with lots of opertunity
production (Current Employee) –  Kansas CityMarch 28, 2018
Arctic Glacier is a great place to work with lots of opportunity for growth. The job is fast paced and is a great way to stay in shape while getting paid. It is a cold environment but it is better than working in the heat, especially in the summer. The pay is fair and the benefits are good. The management team is easy to work for and are not afraid to get their hands dirty. Overall, I would recommend this company over other production facilities I have worked at. The job is pretty straight forward. When you show up to work you get started right away. You are either stacking bags of ice on pallets or driving a pallet jack. There is opportunity to excel if you have a little mechanical aptitude. I would say that the hardest part of the job is that it is physically demanding.
Pros
good pay, good benifits, physicaly active, climate controled, good people, team centered, 2 days off a week, and no drama
Cons
your days off are not always on the weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYMarch 26, 2018
Not a good place to work..the managers there dont no how to speak to there employees with respect..i would never go back...dont fall for it stay away.
Pros
There are no pros
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
artic glacier was pretty relaxed when everyone did their job
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 12, 2018
artic glacier is a great starting job for people that want experience as a production associate because it doesn't require you to have any sort of experience and they teach you what you need to learn to do the job safely
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay
Leader (Current Employee) –  Mamaroneck, NYMarch 6, 2018
Managers were unskilled and very brash when dealing with people they thought were of a lesser class than them, no raises crazy summer hours laid off in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good long hours in the summer, good overtime pay. Healthy work culture
Driver C-Class (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILMarch 2, 2018
Good long work hours in the summer, great overtime pay.
Healthy work culture, comradery and teamwork.
Start really early and end late in the day.
The manager was okay.
Pros
Good long hours in the summer
Cons
Not alot of hours in the fall and winter
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good in the summer if you are willing to work
Assistant Distribution Manager (Current Employee) –  Belding, MIMarch 2, 2018
No room for advancement until someone quits or dies. Tons of hours during the on season will cut as many hours as they can in the off season. People consistently no show for shifts and keep their jobs. Drivers are the only ones paid well. Benefits are terrible and raises are a little bit below cost of living.
Pros
Good job for college kids
Cons
no room to grow, bad raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Route Management with success in sales
Senior Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Dubuque, IAFebruary 18, 2018
A typical day starts with me loading my truck for a full route, doing pre-trip examination of my truck, and loading my handheld for the day. I then complete the route in an order that is most time efficient and yet best for my customer. At the end of the day, I'm responsible to clean off my truck, do truck inventory, balance payments and receipts and prep for the next day.
Pros
Management of my own truck
Cons
Long hours away from my family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, only one day off per week.. unorganized
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 16, 2018
Only seasonal work for the most part.. You don't know where you're going from one day to the next.. Only one day off per week. Low pay for hard you work..A very physical demanding job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my thing
Driver Helper (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Montgomeryville, PAJanuary 20, 2018
Waiting for the driver to come 20 to 30-minute depending on if the office door is open or not is a seasonal job then waiting for the employee to load up the truck, 20 to 25 minute,
Pros
It's an ok job
Cons
The pay sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ice production kings
Account Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mamaroneck, NY 10543January 14, 2018
a great place to work especially in the summer.i learnt a lot of accounting and mangement stuff there,I loved working on the computer systems, & credi
Pros
Great pay.great benefits, free ice
Cons
short tempers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Summary
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 8, 2017
Its an entry job level to get you some driving experience
The management is very poor. Lack of communication
lots of uncertainty and have to often times pick up stops to cover other routes.
Not that professional
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Work
Helper (Current Employee) –  Coal Valley, ILNovember 13, 2017
Easy Work
Low Pay
Long Hours in the Summer
Short Hours in Winter
Driving a semi into small places
Dealing with gas station managers
Lots of downtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many different manager switches
DELIVERY DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WINovember 10, 2017
typical day was coming in at 6 in the morning getting your route ready then heading to the back to load your truck with ice by yourself. after that you head out
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Field Merchandiser Technician (Former Employee) –  Dubuque, IANovember 8, 2017
Not a place i would recommend, management was really bad, could never get anything you need, could get a hold of any management when you needed them. Everyday i had to figure out what to do because i couldn't get a hold of my superiors.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CANovember 6, 2017
Awesome place to work great atmosphere. great work hours and friendly staff. amazing benefits, managers are easy to work with. face paced during summer time.
Pros
great atmoshpere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for advancement
Driver (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WINovember 3, 2017
I wouldn’t recommend this place for anyone looking for a career in driving. They don’t believe in raises, they rather you put your life on hold, and the training is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to stay physically active, good exercise.
Lead Forklift Operator / Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Newburgh, NYNovember 3, 2017
Personally, I enjoyed my stay, as a seasonal worker, working the second shift. Management allowed leeway for my inexperience and encouraged & supllied supplimental training from experienced employees.
Pros
Frequent over-time during peak season (summer).
Cons
Seasonal hires are seasonal employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours and Hard work
Distribution and Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pierre, SDNovember 2, 2017
Every day was a new challenge! Little to no experience workers around to show anyone how to do maint. on plant operations. Still somehow figured out how to meet production goals. Distribution was a breeze as long as maint. was approved on delivery trucks. Many times a break down would set routes behind schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report