Area Wide Protective Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All facts
Tcs (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 14, 2018
Every week i was working 55-65hrs and still would not see a 650-700 check . The hours I put in never matched my pay PETE & KAYLA & DOUG are the WORST
Pros
Not even sure if there are any 🤷🏽‍♂️
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its different
Senior Traffic Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Maiden, NCApril 6, 2018
Working out doors etc its a change from being indoors with management breathing down your neck. You go different places meet new people the Charlotte management team sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I’m lucky to have any sanity at all
Flagger/Traffic Control (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 31, 2018
The work hours are a joke; you don’t get your work schedule until the night before, and you have no clue how long each work day will last. The people here have no respect for you, and I was on the bleeding edge of wiping out all my savings because I couldn’t get enough pay out of this job.
Pros
Nobody tried to murder me
Cons
Unpredictable work schedule, psychotic coworkers, barely existent pay, came close to stepping out into traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Job
Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLMarch 29, 2018
They put alot of responsibility on you with very low pay and management does very little to help you in everyday task and hold you accountable for everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back but serious
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 24, 2018
with a region that was exploding and the employee and customer increasing it was exciting and fast paced. Trying to keep staffed was a daily struggle . Holding Employee's accountable.
Pros
great customers to work with. working outside.
Cons
long distance commutes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
senior flagger (Former Employee) –  Lima, OHMarch 22, 2018
you work a lot of hours for being part time and you don't get payed days off your standing still no bathrooms for 12 to 16 hours a day and you are working weekend up to 72 hours a week but you get a company truck and they pay gas but you go all over the state and some time have to leave at 2 in the morning to be on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone treated me with respect & dignity.
Certified Flagger (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMarch 19, 2018
Everyone there treated me with respect and dignity. And, i loved working for AWP. They was kind and treated you like family. I wish i was still employed there. I really wish i was never let go. I would definitely work there again if i had the chance. I would totally recommend this place to anyone in my family or to my friends.
Pros
Most the time you are sitting in your truck & talking.
Cons
Your working in ALL weather conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay!
Senior Taffic Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 16, 2018
Although you work outside most of the job, you do enjoy the pay at the end of the week. The managers are fair and do live up to their codes and procedures. You will often get tested in what you learned in training throughout your career to make sure that you stay sharp. This is more than a plus because it is human nature to forget, even if you have been there for years. If you don't use it, you loose it, as they say.
I think that it is an amazing way to provide for your family, if you are determined to work hard and play even harder!
Pros
Paid training, weekly pay, unlimited overtime.
Cons
You are considered a "part-time" employee, therefore you do not get benefits, even if it is after years of service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it sucked
flagger (Former Employee) –  Riviera Beach, FLMarch 12, 2018
worst place to be employed at the management suck the hours are not reliable very unorganized organization no benefits nor raises company has lost many contracts due to poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Safety Supervisor/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioMarch 9, 2018
Nothing else to say except they continue to buy new competitors and still cannot do the job safely. More injuries will occur if things do not change sooner than later!
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, not enough pay for such a dangerous job, working with individuals who may have been drug tested, but everyone knew they got around somehow
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working and bad signals
Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Martins Ferry, OHMarch 8, 2018
A typical day at work for me would be getting to work at 7 in the morning and not starting work till 11. most the workers that we worked for didn't tell us what they wanted us to do or how to set up are zones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just started
Traffic Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lufkin, TXMarch 1, 2018
I just started this job I can't really say much. I rather form a more in-depth opinion before I say anything positive or negative, I see that as unprofessional and not fair to my employer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Company to work for.
Flagger/Traffic Control (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 28, 2018
I'm talking about the Miami location that's ran by Manager Amber Shorter. The worse job ever. No hours no benefits and you only work is when you pay for hours or cool with someone in management. Too much favoritism at this job. Dont waste your time applying. No respect at this job, every one there smoke weed and carry guns even management.
Cons
No breaks, 3 people to a small truck, roach infested trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work place
Senior Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  United StatesFebruary 23, 2018
I was a senior traffic control specialist and I loved AWP. I developed a more alert sense of awareness towards traffic safety and driving regulations. I learned how to set up work zones and safely control traffic.
Pros
Hands on experience
Cons
Dangerous work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy but stressful
Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 22, 2018
This is a very easy job. But very stressful. When you work on the roads and try to get people to stop so other can get by and there are people who stay on there phones and don't pay attention makes for very stressful job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with poor benefits
Senior Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Apopka, FLFebruary 19, 2018
Every truck in fleet is equipped exactly the same. So if required to change trucks a person would not need to worry about supplies to set up a work zone.
Company has a great training method at hire, including advanced CPR, Intermediate ATSSA Maintenance of Traffic, and Trailering.
Overall management is good, though, improved communication would have been helpful.
Pros
All trucks equipped the same.
Cons
Low pay scale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work place
Flagger/Laborer (Former Employee) –  FloridaFebruary 19, 2018
They tell you it is an on call position. they don't call but then they wonder why the turnover rate is sky high. people need to work. Totally misleading about the job and they do it knowing full well you most likely wont be called to work until people quit, which they do
Pros
few nice coworkers
Cons
no work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awp
Flagger (Former Employee) –  North Canton, OHFebruary 17, 2018
you don't rele get a brake no matter the condition of weather it is miserable. cant wear shorts during summer. you can work super long hours from 6 am to when ever and may not get the next day off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like travel and working outside
Traffic Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 17, 2018
Good place to work for but management suck and its a high turn over rate you get to travel and you can learn a lot of different ways to keep people and the roads safe.
Pros
The jobs be easy most of the time and good money
Cons
Some days you dont get a lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
CREW CHIEF (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLFebruary 15, 2018
Not a bad place to work. Also not a great place to work either. I enjoyed working at AWP most of the time, but it was long hours, with no benefits. Even working well over 40 hours a week your'e only considered a part time employee.
Pros
Not a hard job
Cons
Low pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Area Wide Protective. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 353 reviews
539
457
369
253
1135

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
2.0Compensation/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.4Culture