Arizona State University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  TempeSeptember 22, 2018
ASU is a great place to work, the people, the culture and the many opportunities make it a fun and rewarding workplace. They offer very generous benefits and some of the best healthcare services available.
Pros
Great environment, good work/life balance, great benefits
Cons
Parking is expensive and not convenient to walk to the office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time opportunities for students
W. P. Carey 101 Student Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 21, 2018
ASU offers a number of part time on-campus positions that fit great with your school schedule. They get you involved, keep you on campus and allow flexible hours in accordance with school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job, doesn't matter in real world.
Copy Editor (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 19, 2018
I made a point to work while in college, usually at the university itself. I worked at the school newspaper and in the tutoring center, and everyone assured me it would look great on my resume. The truth is, I don't think employers in the real world care about student jobs. The other discouraging thing is it is hard to get a reference from your job, since the turnaround is so high. If an employer called up the writing center at ASU now, nobody would know who I am to give me a recommendation, because everyone who worked there when I did has graduated and moved on.
Pros
On campus, can work around classes.
Cons
Meaningless in real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent and abusive work environment.
Assistant Research Professor (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 18, 2018
While I enjoyed helping graduate students develop models to understand the spread of epidemics, the stressful and abusive work environment generated by my supervisor was the reason I had to leave.
Pros
Salary, working with graduate students to develop models to understand the spread of epidemics.
Cons
Stressfull and abusive work environment generated by my supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 17, 2018
The course curriculum is great. It helps you achieve significant knowledge in your engineering discipline. Opportunities are great once you graduate from ASU
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Graduate Student Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 16, 2018
I had the opportunity to grow professionally in my field and collaborate with various projects that contributed to the overall mission of the justice department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School and employer
Event Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arizona State University, AZSeptember 14, 2018
As an event assistant I was working with the Building Manager's to keep the 2nd floor of the memorial union clean and ready for whoever had reserved the rooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Assistant
Volunteer - Post Graduate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 14, 2018
Worked with the post graduate swim team during the Olympic build up to 2016. Great pool, great coaches, great environment to grow and great athletes to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Level Education
Site Manager, AZ K12 Center (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 12, 2018
Collaborative environment
Opportunity to advance career
Knowledgable staff
Exciting environment in large university
World renowned programs
Learned advanced skills
Pros
Fascinating environment
Cons
Grant driven program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asu ra
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 10, 2018
I did not like my time at ASU as an RA. The workplace culture lacked boundaries. Employers would expect employee to be on call at all times of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple positions availabe for individuals continuing their education
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZSeptember 9, 2018
I held a part-time, temporary position while continuing my education, which not only paid but gave me experience as an instructor in a higher education institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with positive environment.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZSeptember 9, 2018
A typical day at work consists of coming in and going to my office area. Once settled I would go to my mentors/coworkers and ask for tasks. I learned quite a bit about how clerical work and had to take care of the front desk operations at times. Management was great and the workplace was like a family setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assistant jobs are a good opportunity
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 8, 2018
I got my graduate degree at ASU and worked as research assistant to one of my professors. It was wonderful applying what I had just learned in class to the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educated professionals furthering the field
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 8, 2018
Collaborative environment
Opportunity to advance career
Knowledgable staff
Exciting environment in large university
World renowned programs
Learned advanced skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Instructional Designer Assistant, Edplus (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 6, 2018
Is a fun place to work at. I learned to work in a team. I basically design the courses for ASU at Coursera. I have to design quizes, assignments, and build auto grader.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teamwork, great environment
ASU Health Services Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 4, 2018
Working as a student, I experienced very flexible hours, friendly environment, and understandable supervisor. They teach me everything with patient and in a kind way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, learned a lot, collaborative
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 4, 2018
Had a very nice supervisor. Helped a lot with basics needed to get job done. Ended up learning a lot. Worked on exciting projects. Nice work environment. Flexible work hours (as a part-time worker).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture in ASU
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 1, 2018
It was a variety people to meet and I enjoyed a hot Arizona desert weather. I have good memories there in many perspective personally. If you have a chance, please visit and enjoy.
Pros
Excellent place to work
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ASU Athletics
Game Day Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 30, 2018
This internship allowed me to gain experience in a different area of sports. We helped market each sport at ASU and also put together different in-game competitions for the fans. Great internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set daily activities.
Accountant Senior (Former Employee) –  FDM Business OperationsAugust 29, 2018
Would begin reviewing accounts and make sure nothing was
posted erroneously. Management would check weekly on
status of transfers or entries. Many employees would complain
about the low pay. I really enjoyed working in my position.
Really enjoyed working directly with my Director and Associate
Director.
Pros
Enjoyed the daily and weekly work.
Cons
Employee moral was low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arizona State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 979 reviews
5497
4321
3114
228
119

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.5Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.