Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 11 reviews
Ratings breakdown
57
40
30
23
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 11 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Fisheries Intern (Former Employee) –  Camden, AR 71701November 22, 2017
I was an intern so I do not have the insight your are looking for. I would suggest this job to anyone not worried about starting salary because it is a government agency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Telecommunications Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 11, 2017
They will treat you nice at first and then they will stab you in the back once you are comfortable in your job. Dispatch officers, fisheries, and wildlife management personnel. Answer questions from the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to work for, specially the IT dept
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 2, 2017
They have no clue what they are doing and pay people nothing and don't care about you or your family. The Management dosent care about you. No training
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job with nice people
Fiscal Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 17, 2016
Easy job. Nice people. Some office politics. Some room for advancement. Once you move up a few positions there's not much more room for promotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Little Rock Zoo, ARSeptember 13, 2016
it was the best experience of my life. i learned so much the people was so good an humble. i learned stuff about nature an buizzness. the place was amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable outdoor
Wildlife Officer (Former Employee) –  West Memphis, ARJune 9, 2016
As a Wildlife Officer, it was my responsibility to enforce all Arkansas Game and Fish regulations as well as boating laws. I have written numerous newspaper and magazine articles concerning wildlife. I have appeared in court numerous times to support arrests. I learned how to be a professional officer and enjoyed working with the other officers. The hardest part of the job getting up in the night to investigate complaints concerning illegal activities. I enjoyed working outdoors and on the water as well as working with others.
Pros
Outdoors
Cons
Late night investigations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very political work environment
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 2, 2014
The personnel who manage fish and wildlife and enforce regulations are among the best anywhere. In contrast, the management in the HQ office is awful. Decisions affecting employees are made not in what is best for the resources of the state, but by personal politics of supervisors. Employee morale suffers as a result. I'm glad that I no longer work in that environment.
Pros
management of fish and wildlife at superior levels
Cons
low pay vs. private sector equivalent jobs; terrible upper level supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with lots of outdoor opportunities
Administrative Assistant / Citationss (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 14, 2013
I spent 16 years with the Game and Fish. It is now time to move on. I will not say anything bad about the Game and Fish, I learned a lot and when upper admin. changed, I was discharged.
Pros
Ability to learn many different skills
Cons
Things changed fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Varied workload
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 21, 2013
Awesome place to work, great management, enjoyable work. No advancement and low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Arkansas Game and Fish Commission reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Reviews by Location