Arlington County Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 24 reviews
Ratings breakdown
510
49
33
22
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 24 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fast Paced
Treasury Specialist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 18, 2018
Very busy productive environment. Meet great ambitious, professional colleagues
Great work & home life balance. Great benefits, healthcare, family events and parking.
Pros
Recognize potential
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work, one that is dedicated to public service.
Chief of Police (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 12, 2018
Arlington County is an outstanding place to work. It is the county that is dedicated to providing the highest level of service to its community. The Arlington County government is very aware of the needs of its community and strives to be as inclusive as possible in the decision-making processes that guide life within the county. For those interested in working in Arlington County, you must be willing to be collaborative and creative in your day-to-day operations. The County seeks to maximize its resources and be responsive to its citizens, almost to a fault.
Pros
Engaged, urban and vibrant.
Cons
The public can be extremely demanding, service level is very high..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Public Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 14, 2017
I enjoyed my time here overall. The division I was in was a little limited interms of career advancement. Overall the upper management had a lot of turnover which wasnt always a good thing.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long work hours unpredictiable overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Program staff (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 26, 2017
I worked as a seasonal employee at county summer camps. As a summer employee, I didn't qualify for benefits or compensation, but I thought my hourly wages were fair. I advanced each summer. The full-time staff were friendly and supportive, and the job culture was great.
Pros
Fun, positive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking
Meter Repair (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 22, 2017
Drive to residence in the Arlington County area and check on their water meters. Record meter amount and do repairs if needed. Report back to manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Stressful, but the money sucks
ASSISTANT COUNTY SURVEYOR (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 7, 2017
Not enough money, but the benefits are very good. If you want a safe job this is the place for you. Working in a government environment does not have much opportunity for career growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a company with no moral's to their employee's
Human Service Aide V (Current Employee) –  Arlington County, VAAugust 17, 2017
Overall just not a good fit for people to work, if you do not have connections. There is not respect for their employees or their client's. I rather not share anything further.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arlington County is great!
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VA 22202July 13, 2017
The County offers many benefits to employees and encourages work-life balance. I have never worked for a government organization that has so many options for employees. It's such a great place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lift Station Operator (Former Employee) –  Arlington County, VAMay 12, 2017
Managers may or may not have a clue as to your job but for the most time let you do what you should and don't bother you. The training is great and Job security can't be beat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward Thinking and Productive Workplace
Administrative Assistant lll (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 27, 2017
A typical day includes many interactions with consumers that cover the entire DMV area. One can move throughout the county through advancements and provides amazing benefits for full-time and part time employees. I truly love working for the county and their many opportunities for growth in your professional development.
Pros
Breaks, Free Professional Development Trainings, Quick Advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, and easy.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 30, 2016
Quick and easy just like it should be. Thanks!.Arlington County was a good place to work, but over the years they had many change some are not for the good. It is all about numbers , what happened to quality. I just don't know, I like helping people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work long hours, no job security, supervisor pets,
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  washington Blvd., Arlington, VaJune 16, 2016
Be Careful! Older coworkers have years of experience. Training is two months and you must know the material that older coworkers took years to understand.

Management is stressed! They need a supervisor and haven't found one for over six months.

It looks terrific in the beginning for work/life, however, long hours to finish your paper work, contact clients, contact physicians, etc.

Look elsewhere! If you are bilingual your job is safe.

Equipment does not get fixed by computer techs quickly.
Pros
Building is new and office space one of the best.
Cons
Benefits if you can stay over five years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is great; hours are inconsistent
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 27, 2015
Pay is great and people are for the most part good but hours are very inconsistent. Work is inconsistent too; some managers demand very little others make the lifeguards do. The older guards get cheated out of hours because they are more expensive. Very stingy culture; have been asked a few times to leave a few minutes early because they didn't want to pay me for my full hours worked.
Pros
Good pay for older guards
Cons
Inconsistent hours, some managers are very stingy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place and fun
Trades worker (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 17, 2015
This is my current full time position, Been here for 5 years 4months. the benefits are great and the opportunity's are there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and work schedule
APPRAISER TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 12, 2014
Excellent benefits and work schedule. Very professional and good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and gratifying
Court-appointed attorney (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VADecember 5, 2014
I have just completed a DBA (Doctor of Business Administration) program and I am ready to work in an area where I combine my knowledge of US domestic law and International law (foreign attorney) and my Business administration skills
Pros
Doing what I like to do providing legal representation
Cons
limited benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for government
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 28, 2014
ok to work for Arlington country
medium pay
management ok
job security great
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and very concerned about progress of employees
Intern (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 3, 2014
While job in therapeutic recreation can be draining, leaders receive excellent training and support.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Service Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 27, 2014
Hard work but worth experience
Learned how to use power tools
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential for excellence, enjoyable work,
Equipment Bureau Chief (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 13, 2014
Overall positive experience. I enjoyed having great credibility and inclusion in management committees. I was able to propose many improvements to the operation.

On the down side there are impediments including decision making at top management levels instead of the appropriate level of management, ineffective purchasing procedures, cumbersome personnel procedures.

The staff are quite capable but first level supervisors are ineffective. Mid-level managers are not engaged as much as they should be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport