Army National Guard Employee Reviews for Combat Engineer

Found 256 reviews matching the search See all 15,634 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Army National Guard selected this as a representative review
Hooah
Aviation Operations Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 11, 2019
Love working in the Guard. It has helped me pay for my school, let me meet tons of new people around the world, and it has given me the opportunity to do things I never thought imaginable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was undescribable
Combat Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHSeptember 10, 2019
The Army National Guard is a part-time commitment, allowing you to pursue or continue a civilian career. After Basic Combat Training and your Advanced Individual Training, or job training, you must work one weekend every month in addition to two full weeks each year for the National Guard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to serve on the home front its a good job.
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  St. Pauls, NCSeptember 8, 2019
Its a great job with great benefits. its a hard job at times. A lot of times on training you dont get much sleep. Or during the hurricane season its crazy. But if you like guns and helping people its a great opportunity.
Pros
Play with guns
Cons
sleepless nights sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Army
COMBAT ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 6, 2019
Your typical military experience. You do your normal 10 weeks of basic training then whatever your job requires. The National Guard had some rough times but it's only one weekend a month, 2 weeks a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not about money, it is the service that makes us better ppl
Specialist E-4 Combat engineer (Current Employee) –  Fort Hood, TXSeptember 4, 2019
Do it and don't look back the fun and the hard work will pay off shortly after. And if you deploy that even better, everything will be different after you comeback.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purpose
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 31, 2019
The army national guard is very relaxed. The processing portion sucks, but most of the people you meet along the way are good people. I plan to continue working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
been in service for 5 years
Combat Engineer (12B) (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 26, 2019
i have been in the army national gaurd for 5 years and just signed for another 5 more years and it has been the best choice of my life. they build you up with good skills such as, team player, hard working, compound cognitive skills that build and build as the years progress
Pros
deployments health ins life ins
Cons
away from family long periods of time possible death
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to serve
Combat Engineer (Former Employee) –  Spring City, PAJuly 2, 2019
I was able to serve my country, part time, while continuing to live my civilian life. There are great long term benefits to joining the military, be prepared to lose your hair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready for a thrill ride
12B - COMBAT ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  clarksdale, msJune 12, 2019
You will participate in basic training, AIT, then you will go to your unit where you will train and learn more about what it means to be apart of uncle sam. Good luck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vermont Guard
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bradford, VT 05033June 4, 2019
Has been an excellent experience and has helped improve work ethic and the ability to see what needs to be done, leadership is excellent at my unit and my coworkers are like family
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and hurry up to wait for nothing
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Russellville, TNMay 21, 2019
the average life of an military soldier debates all non your leadership, you have good leadership your experience will be ok. to many chefs and not enough Indians.
Pros
great benefits, cool toys
Cons
hours is days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to get college money
Combat Engineer (12B) (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCMay 19, 2019
Drills are lots of fun. Very easy place to get money for college college. Pays for almost entire college fund. Not hard to be in if you don't make it hard.
Pros
College money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a positive experience
Specialist Combat Engineer (Former Employee) –  Albany, ORApril 23, 2019
The typical day on drill weekends were maintaining combat readiness,physical training, basic construction projects and community support. I have learned and maintained discipline, respect for the chain of command, leadership and the need to be ready at any moment. It was a very positive experience as it has given me life skill that I continue to maintain. the most difficult part would be that there is a lull while we wait for orders sometimes, which makes me feel unproductive.
Pros
Amazing life skills
Cons
Not really any cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job
Combat Engineer (12B) (Former Employee) –  Superior, WIApril 22, 2019
There are a lot of cool opportunities that you can pursue in the ARNG. I learned a lot of valuable skills and made a lot of cool friends. As a 12B my job was very stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contently training
COMBAT ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  VirginiaApril 18, 2019
Construct fighting positions, fixed/floating bridges, obstacles and defensive positions

Place and detonate explosives

Conduct operations that include route clearance of obstacles and rivers

Prepare and install firing systems for demolition and explosives

Detect mines visually or with mine detectors
Pros
good training good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the Military
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 4, 2019
Its the military anyone wanting to join you pick a mos and go to basic and AIT to learn how to do army stuff. Do pt and read to succeed there is nothing else to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of commaradie
Combat Engineer (Former Employee) –  Farmington, MOApril 2, 2019
The armory had plenty of things to do to keep us busy.

Very rewarding when we had to go out and help the public

Played sports during drill for our physical test.
Pros
food
Cons
long hours on Sundays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Combat Engineer (Former Employee) –  Hamlet, NCApril 2, 2019
involves tracking through dangerous and extremely rough terrain to accomplish building projects for the military. The engineer’s job calls for the use of both combat and building skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Jackson, TNApril 1, 2019
The Army National Guard is a good start in life. They give you so many good opportunities. Free health care and life insurance. Depending on your job you get to travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Combat Engineer
Combat Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Point, VAMarch 11, 2019
I served a few years with the Virginia National Guard. I served both at home where I was called forth during a hurricane in to assist those trapped in Glouchester County and was decorated for lifesaving. This allowed me to give back and serve my home state as well as serve my nation as we were activated and served for 12 months in Iraq in 2004.

Great organization with amazing people, many of which are veterans from other services. Benefits for activation/active duty are outstanding and the part time benefits for education are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utilizing explosives
Combat Engineer (12B) (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 6, 2019
Your job as a combat engineer is to perform three functions while in combat. Survivability, maneuverability, and counter-maneuverability. They will teach you how to do everything. No experience required.
Pros
Free Lunches; Comradery
Cons
Away from family for 2-4 days a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Army National Guard. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 15,634 reviews
59.2K
44.3K
31.6K
2310
1242

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight