ARTHUR MURRAY DANCE STUDIO Culture reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and entertaining
Dance Instructor (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 17, 2019
I loved teaching and had a sense of family here. I enjoyed my managers and had a balanced life work schedule
It can be competitive but that is all part of how you perceive your interactions with your fellow teachers. The competition kept me driving forward and achieving my goals as a professional.
Pros
Lively and never boring
Cons
Long days of physical exertion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very happy place to work
Bilingual Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 24, 2018
Recommended. Very understanding. Met new people just about every day. There are multiple personalities to be surrounded around. Owner is very sweet. Manager is amazing! Instructors were awesome to be around!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arthur murray
Dance instructor (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MI 49512June 28, 2018
This place taught me so much about selling, and being friendly with customers. It's a truly amazing job no day is ever a bad day, and this is another job id kill to have back, you can work here and still advance in life, I was young and dumb, this place is great.

Jake Lewis
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, great team, awesome management.
Dance Instructor (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDDecember 14, 2017
Working at Arthur Murray showed me how to manage my time more wisely. It tought me how to manage my own business. I gained a lot of skills working there. For example: how to be a receptionist, how to provide awesome customer service, and how to work as a team.
Pros
Great team, health benefits
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're starting out.
Dance Instructor (Former Employee) –  New JerseyMay 2, 2017
Arthur Murray is a great place to work if you're just starting out. It's a great place to get to know yourself and your teaching style. If you want to make money though, you'll need to move on and teach independently. They will try to change who you are and overwork you. They want the studio to be your life. They will take everything they can get from you. Trust yourself. When you feel like you're done, you're done. There are great places to work outside of Arthur Murray.
Pros
Great encouragement
Cons
Long hours, work every night, little pay compensation for the amount of work you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an enjoyable place to work
Dance Teacher (Former Employee) –  New Britain, CTApril 24, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to put a smile on individuals and couples faces everyday as they learned to dance with one another and knowing that I'm apart of that change
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superior Training
Instructor/Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 31, 2017
Arthur Murray takes all steps necessary to make sure the proper training is given at their schools. There is always constant training and continuous support from executives and franchisees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 29, 2016
Wonderful working staff. Upbeat work environment. Great part time position if you are school or looking for a second job just in general.
Pros
wonderful work staff
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunities
Consultant (Current Employee) –  National and International locationsSeptember 27, 2016
This company is the largest ballroom organization in the world and provides countless opportunities for motivated individuals in dancing, teaching, and business. Each franchise is individually owned and operated which means that each studio may have a different culture. Be sure to check out the one in your area and judge for yourself. I have worked for various owners and have had various experiences, like any business. It is an extremely rewarding career and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a fun, inspiring, and high paced environment. If you are lazy, don't bother applying!
Pros
music, dancing, people, parties, travel
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable.
Dance Instructor (Former Employee) –  indianaploisFebruary 23, 2016
Instructing customers on a day to day basis. Every movement ect. Need to learn how others can improve and how they learn. The management is great. Good people to work with. My Co workers are my assistants, that i chose myself. The hardest part my job is to teach. The most enjoyable is interacting with others.
Pros
fun time
Cons
time management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for training and culture, I needed to move to be with my son.
New Student Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 26, 2015
I learned nearly everything I know at Arthur Murray.
Great training & culture, great customer service.
I learned about the difference of leadership to managing and aspire to be a great leader.
Pros
Very encouraging and uplifting
Cons
Can be challenging to earn a good living
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced learning
Dance Teacher Internship (Former Employee) –  Blue Ash, OHSeptember 2, 2014
I had never danced a ballroom step before walking into the studio. The management was nice and the workers there were helpful as well. Overall, it was an intense but amazing learning experience. I learned 6 dances in 3 weeks which i was very proud of myself for accomplishing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAJune 30, 2014
Learned book keeping

Participated in classes

Friendly co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teachers, bad managers
Ballroom Instructor, Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDJanuary 25, 2014
Arthur murray is a great place to learn to dance, but not that great to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming, fun, and great environment
Dance Specialist (Former Employee) –  san jose, caOctober 4, 2013
Always learning something new!
Management is awesome
All employees are always happy to be there
Every day is a challenge
They have group classes and dance parties which are always fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report

See more ARTHUR MURRAY DANCE STUDIO reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ARTHUR MURRAY DANCE STUDIO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 58 reviews
525
415
36
29
13

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.9Culture