Ascena Retail Group Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 170 reviews
Ratings breakdown
550
443
348
213
116
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 170 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Manager (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAAugust 9, 2018
The company feels like a family. Great work/life balance and room for advancement. Training for employees has always been accessible. Benefit package offered and competitive pay scale if qualifications and experience are in place. Company has competitive discounts and specials for employees so you can represent the company. Discounts are available at all brands under the Ascena umbrella.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic but Laid Back
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 31, 2018
I enjoyed working for Ascena Retail for the time that I did and I wish I wasn’t relocating that way I could stay with them. I’m hoping to get a job with Ascena in my new location.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Director, Talent Acquisition (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYJuly 23, 2018
Overall Great Company
People First Values
Remote/Flex work options
Matching 401k
Unlimited PTO (leadership)
Fair Leadership
Strong Collaboration
Cross Brand Experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers and supervisors play favorites
Annonymous (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJuly 20, 2018
Management gossips about employees. Very unprofessional. Lack of advancement opportunities. People in certain position you wonder how the heck they got there.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Unloader (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAJuly 20, 2018
Terrible place to work do not work here they only give you 8 minutes for break this company will go down bad if they don’t straightened up racist company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people i worked with but HR got ridiculous
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, INJuly 18, 2018
Miss this job but don't miss some of the things. The jobs are never really too hard just have to stay busy and do your work. They use to care alot about the employees but that slowly changes over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expert and collaborative place to work
IT Real Estate Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Pataskala, OHJuly 16, 2018
Everyone at Ascena worked well together as a team and were willing to provide assistance to co workers and other departments.

Excellent management team.
Pros
On site cafeteria
Cons
Distance from home to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work for those without children
UNIT PROCESSOR (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, INJuly 13, 2018
the hours were weird, I don't recommend them for people with school aged-children. A coworker's house burnt down and when he asked for time off, which he had vacation for, Amy Pennington told him he should plan his moves better.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
short breaks, must keep up with employee performance tracking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Ascena
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Pataskala, OHJuly 12, 2018
Great culture, great managers, excellent coworkers. Off shoring work or I'd still be there. Highly recommend! On site cafeteria. Many food trucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s not too bad of a place to work
Replenishment Associate (Current Employee) –  Greencastle, INJuly 5, 2018
You start your day off with the start of shift meeting telling you what our numbers are and if we are possibly have overtime then you go to get your handheld which is what you scan your barcode with on the boxes in the shelves for your locations so they know the product is and you stock the shelves with the product
Pros
They give us free lunches during peak season and have a Company picnic
Cons
Lunch breaks were not long enough on a 10 or 12 hour day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job
Packer (Current Employee) –  Greencastle, INJuly 3, 2018
This is the best job ice had so far. The warehouse is climate controlled, the people and management are friendly, they work with you, you get paid for training. All around great place to work.
Pros
Climate controlled
Cons
Standing all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
SERVICE DESK ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Pataskala, OhioJuly 2, 2018
Great place to work at. The management encourages you to better yourself and move up in the company. They are also extremely understanding of personal issues and home life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management at Sanford location
Justice for Girls (Former Employee) –  Orange City, FLJune 30, 2018
Very childish, it was unfortunate. it was easy going at work which was very nice, and part timers got a paid 15 min. lunch, but my manager was unfair and threatened to give me "strikes" when i could not show up for work as i had to go to Iowa because a family member had passed. I showed her a eulogy and all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packing
Packer (Former Employee) –  Etna, OHJune 29, 2018
The days could be very boring at times. You stand all day every day transferring merchandise from one box to another, so it's a rather monotonous atmosphere. It is a warehouse, so some employees are going to have a stronger work ethic than others will. This was my first job that required me to stand for 10 hours every day, so I quickly found out just how hard standing for that long is on your feet (I was younger when I worked there).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is not worth the job
Unit Processor (Former Employee) –  Etna, OHJune 25, 2018
I was good at my job. My numbers were great. However the only way to advance at acsena is to sleep with the higher ups, or at least wear tight pants and low cut shirts. If you are a male you really have hardly any chance of moving up. Good luck to future workers. I am glad i got out when i did.
If you do a good job you will do everyone elses job. Yet they still get paid for doing nothing.
Pros
15$ an hour
Cons
Doing everyone elses work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment was decent but everything else was rediculous
Picking Associate (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, IN 46135June 23, 2018
Our hours kept changing, last schedule was unrealistic for anyone with children. I worked 3, 12 hour shifts and then we would be called in for Mandatory OT. Production System was flawed I would be over 100% and then drop into the 80s for the same type of production. Write ups for poor production but then they want to give you no work, or cram everyone in the same area. Management is a joke.
Pros
discount at their brands and VTO when slow
Cons
2 - 20 min breaks for a 12 hour shift. No real management strengths.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Unit Processor (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, INJune 14, 2018
Loved working there . loved the people . the job was fast paced but easy. Breaks were fair . they provided meals on occasions. Love the regular 3 days on 4 days off .
Pros
Cafeteria .. Free drinks on breaks . great people
Cons
Too many hours and days in a row during Peak
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wild West
Agile Coach / Senior Scrum Master (Current Employee) –  Etna, OHJune 14, 2018
Politics are favored over the advancement of efficiency.

Process transformation is widely discussed and promised until it challenges leadership's ability to favor political gain. Everyone wants credit for something good happening, and if they cannot get that credit that do not allow that good thing to progress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Mobile Device Specialist (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Mahwah, NJJune 14, 2018
The company is relocating to Ohio and India will be their HQ for IT. The company was great to their employees but this change will place all of IT overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Windows Systems Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Pataskala, OHMay 28, 2018
Multi forest and multi domain Active Directory environment. Significant exposure to vMWare ESXi 6.0. Biggest challenge is implementing DR and reacting to daily retail IT challenges.
Pros
Company is dedicated to embracing the best technologies.
Cons
Significant technical debt to remediate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ascena Retail Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight