Ascentria Care Alliance Employee Reviews in Worcester, MA

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 48 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does alot of social work.
Accounts Receivable Specialist/Cash Application (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAApril 4, 2018
Ascentria is a company that has many different sectors if you will. It is a company that helps refugees, foster children, In home care, Transportation. The company has offices in CT, NH, MA, ME. Ascentria is a good place to work. Managers are flexible. They do a lot for the employees. Dress code is casual. Can work from home if permitted. There is a relaxed atmosphere but the end of month can be very fast paced.
Pros
relaxed atmosphere, Casual.
Cons
Healthcare, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 13, 2018
Ascentria is a good company to work for. The wages paid for employees are a bit lower than recommended for the work employees perform, however, the work environment is good and staff and management are supportive when necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grant Writer
Career Advisor (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAFebruary 28, 2018
Working for Ascentria was enjoyable but it was only a grant that lasted only one year.

I would return to work with this company but as I understand it they continue grant work and I would like to move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management has ruined this company
Staff (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAFebruary 9, 2018
There really is no kind way to say it. Management has ruined this company and its not likely to recover anytime soon given the political environment nationally.

No raises for years, however multiple additional managers and vice presidents have been added. Look if you have been paying attention to the work environment/culture the last few years you know the deal. The top get rich, the bottom? You work to make them money. Thats how it is at ascentria, go read the reviews.

Thats not the worst part. The worst part is you have people that have been there for DECADES and make great money and have bottle necked the whole operation. If you are talented, youre screwed. You will be targeted, you will be isolated and held back. They arent looking for talent, they are looking for bodies/mules.

Go read the other reviews, no need to elaborate much. If you are thinking about taking a job with this company you will regret it.
Pros
some decent staff
Cons
The list is too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning experience but poor compensation
Adoption Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJanuary 16, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed the work that I did at Ascentria, but felt that the pay was extremely poor for the level of work and amount of hours that I put in. I loved my manager and the adoption program itself and had close relationships with many co-workers, but would have appreciated more thoughtfulness on the part of the company in terms of providing adequate compensation to employees.
Pros
Wonderful co-workers, great management
Cons
Healthcare benefits and salary were poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAJuly 17, 2017
Ascentria is a place where there is no advancement in career. The years in that place and the hard work do not matter. I would recommend it for fresh out of college individuals , it's a place where you can get experience and get out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caregiver
In home caregiver (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMay 31, 2017
i call to punch in and out when i done i clean the house, dishes and cook for the person. i change bandages on the person id needed. i took care of the person house i' m in at the day and i learned to fold and do laundry for the person.i also remind them to take they medicine and put away dishes or anything results in cooking storage food and helping the person clean they apartment or where they lived.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 20Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great mission
Director (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 20, 2017
You'll enjoy working with nice, talented people helping the most vulnerable populations. The downside is there will not be enough resources to help you complete your job.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Lack of resources to acomplish your goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible and dysfunctional work culture
former employee (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAOctober 30, 2016
Company is very top heavy. Upper management enjoy all the salary and rewards while everyone else works long hours for almost no reward. Raises are practically non-existent, and job growth is a joke. On top of that, its a terrible work culture. A lot of people are unhappy and take it out on others. It's not a supportive atmosphere. In fact it breeds the "CYA" mindset, and don't be surprised if you find your co-workers crying or just snapping under the pressure.
Pros
vacation isn't bad (if you get to use it)
Cons
Top heavy, no raises, unsupportive work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 44NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Mission
analyst (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAJuly 29, 2016
Good staff mostly at program manager level and below, but most move on after a year as there are no ways to move up and no pay increases for a decade. Senior Management receives promotions, rewards, bonuses, and much recognition. Below that level there is only talk. Recently passed over a very small increase for staff after 10 years of zero pay increases and very poor benefits only to then give major promotions once again to the senior staff. Senior staff here are paid better than your average non-profit. Over 60% of employees are actively seeking other jobs. Very poor morale throughout (except at "corporate".) This is not a corporation, this is a non-profit that is working on poverty alleviation, but only rewards their top 1%, the other 99% are left in the dust. Apparently little board oversight, and upper management operates in a vacuum. Major change is needed. This organization needs changes throughout it's senior staff, and soon.
Pros
Good program level staff, working hard, and caring for clients
Cons
Poor Senior Leadership, no transparency, poor pay, poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Heavy Corporate Level
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAMay 31, 2016
I would rate ACA somewhere in the middle of my job experiences. Overall, I enjoy my job and the people I work with. The biggest problem I see is the top heavy corporate staff. Way too many people at this level, and too much bureaucracy. Constantly responding to a lot of duplication in forms, requests, useless meetings. overly done one on ones, etc doesn't add much value. If you have a question about something, you might go through 4 levels of staff before you get an answer. Too many people are put on tasks and instead of providing us with ops excellence, we get - total confusion, and tasks that don't even get done. With a non-profit struggling to survive I am surprised with the waste in resources and the deferred decision making or lack thereof from the leaders. There are numerous efforts going on regarding improving operations, wellness etc that lack any central coherence. Under that lies a lot of positive programs, and dedicated people who try to swim through the chaos and clutter.
Pros
many of the programs, nice people
Cons
Poor benefits, no career paths, disgorganized bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Organizational Values and Desire to Improve
Manager (Current Employee) –  WorcesterAugust 12, 2015
Alot of heart in this organization for doing good work and improving upon operations etc. Pay is low for anyone below the upper echelon and too much of a pay gap between the top level and the rest of folks. In a non-profit that's a problem, when you can't pay a decent wage to your employees and are out to help the world, something's got to give. High turnover due to low salary, few holidays, and more work than you can accomplish with little incentive. A little clicky in the corporate office, and advancement is nill. Top heavy on reviews, and meetings, and too many people doing the same thing that don't communicate with each other creates more work for the worker bees.
Pros
Generally supportive, positive culture, providing services to people.
Cons
Low pay, too few holidays, management doesn't communicate with each other, some poor staff due to low salaries to attract decent employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 92No 8Report

See more Ascentria Care Alliance reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ascentria Care Alliance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 48 reviews
512
49
34
211
112

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture