Ashley Furniture HomeStore Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 737 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5171
4178
3182
2103
1103
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 684 reviews matching the search See all 737 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Life!
General Manager (GM) (Current Employee) –  FloridaJuly 20, 2018
I work every weekend and every holiday known to man except Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. There are no annual pay increases, there is no training and development for managers, no-promote from within and a .25%(1/4 of 1% match up to 6% on 401k) Do your research. Most Ashley Homestores are owned by licensees. Some may pay better than others. The Turner Group is an awful place to work if you are a manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Colton, CAJuly 20, 2018
Overall it was a good experience learned a lot although training wasnt the best but you learn as you go. It was very loud in the warehouse and a lot of people did not speak English.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Staunton, VAJuly 20, 2018
Management is an issue, High turnover, Barely want to pay. Barley room for advancement, discrimination, rules change day by day. You don't stay too busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ashley
Front Office Lead (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXJuly 19, 2018
The people i worked directly with on a daily basis became my second family. But upper Management did not see the reality of the day to day at the store location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Highly competetive
Sales (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 16, 2018
Good place to work, Great people to work with. Fast paced and met new customers daily. Great training opportunities, meeting sales targets every morning.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
on your feet 8 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Cedar Falls, IAJuly 11, 2018
Working here was an adventure, I learned more then I thought I would, Unloading trucks was different then other jobs I've had. They are stingy at hiring people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy specially if we have the sale promotions
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Rohnert Park, CAJuly 9, 2018
I liked working at Ashley even if it’s too far from my home - I worked well with my co-workers. They are all very supportive.
I like the busyness sometimes- there’s so much energy specially when we are selling good
Pros
Free lunch and product discount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've experienced, rather be back in Sharana than Ashley.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 9, 2018
Working at Ashley Homestore was a terrible experience that in many ways soured sales work for me, you're expected to do more and more with less which is due to the fixed sales goal and the high turnover rate. Hard work is in no way rewarded, and the owners will try to cheat you out of your commission at every turn.
Pros
It's better working there than being homeless.
Cons
Hours, pay, leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Home Furniture Consultant (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAJuly 6, 2018
Cutthroat sales environment. The management staff offers no support whatsoever in terms of advice, different technique approaches, nothing. It's all about the sale or you're out on your butt.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place to work
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAJuly 2, 2018
Over staffed with sales people, very stressful trying to meet quota every month.
The more you sell, the more they want. By third time not making the minimum sale of $35,000 per month, you will be terminated.
Pros
benefits
Cons
short breaks, when floor busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job searcher beware
Prefer to be anonymous. (Former Employee) –  anonymousJuly 2, 2018
In my year of working here, I saw dozens and dozens of people get hired, the quit/ get fired about a month later. Don't waste your time here. Poor management, the pay is TERRIBLE and they expect so much out of you and constantly pile on more responsibilities. Your best off working pretty much anywhere but here. I'm so happy to no longer work for this joke of a company.
Pros
Sometimes they give you food
Cons
pay, lies, deception, cliques and drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job full of lies and false promises
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 2, 2018
Didn’t work here very long, the things they tell you in the interview end up being false. Horrible hrs to work and the way their weeks start some times you could get stuck working 8+ days with out a day off. Too much expected from you for such little pay and how many day you works it’s just not enough for all the things you have to go through with customers. Guest services and their sales departments are joke. There is no professionalism at all and there’s no clear line on what’s appropriate in the work place and what’s not. If I could give this place negative starts I would. They tell you certain things are optional to do when you work there but penalties you when you don’t do it.
Pros
Fine with working with requested time off
Cons
Everything else about the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible polace to work
Sales Professional (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYJuly 2, 2018
Working here was one of the worst experiences of my life. Training was one way or leave. It changed each week based on the ideas of one man who could not encourage consistently. You wold one way for a week and then he had a brain storm and we would change everything. Never asked for advice from experienced sales people and never shared his own qualifications.
Pros
None
Cons
Their selling model is fishy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive relaxed enviornment
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 1, 2018
At this job you don't only get benefits like paid time off and and a week of vacation time, you also get to interact with a group of employees that are very diverse all sorts of different personalities from the customers that walk in and out of the store and a life lesson from the many boss you work for i learned to love this job even though i had no idea i would be doing way more then just warehouse work pretty fun life experience.
Pros
paid time off, vacation time, paid holidays off, steady fulltime hours
Cons
self track of time, hourly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing atmosphere
Operation Representative (Current Employee) –  Nanuet, NYJune 28, 2018
My store is one of the slower stores in the company. But it has a good relaxing atmosphere. The employees are welcoming. The managers are understanding, and respectful. We have a tight culture, It feels like a small family. My coworkers make coming to work an enjoyable experience. The hardest part of the job is dealing with irate customers who may have gotten their request/claim denied by corporate.
Pros
Good culture
Cons
Employees don't last long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJune 27, 2018
On a daily bases phone would always be ringing and any problems that arose within the work environment, management would not take care of. It was stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly, fun work environment
Sales Associate/ Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Newnan, GAJune 25, 2018
I learned skills and knowledge about the products and systems used to write and finalize sales. It was easy to discuss concerns and questions to management and getting them resolved in timely manners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you put into it.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 22, 2018
Great company to work for. Can be great pay but the hours are super long and lots of meetings. If you enjoy talking to customers and the thrills of hitting goals then its a great career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good comrodery but the company hasno safety net for employees during slow seasons
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Georgia, ALJune 21, 2018
The overall culture at Ashley is upbeat and friendly, the staff are great, the management is lacking (managers prioritize their schedules and vacation days over the overall wellbeing of the store and their subordinates), the company has difficulty getting product to customers in a timely manner, however the company sells well made furniture and stands by the quality of the product, they're very good about addressing any manufacture defects, for salespeople the pay is entirely commission based which is good until dry months in the winter, in those circumstances the salesperson in paid minimum wage unless their overall sales commission % is more than minimum wage, in December 2017 all salespersons at the Opelika location were paid $1200 for the month, comparatively salespersons earn an average of $4000 during high volume months, this makes it very difficult for salespersons to maintain their quality of life consistently or to provide for dependents
Pros
health care, dental
Cons
inconsistent pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Visual Designer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 20, 2018
N/A do better with paying people. Allow people to move up in responsibility. Hold people accountable. Allow people to have off some holidays. Review and continue to train management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ashley Furniture HomeStore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question