Asian Human Services Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 7, 2019
Horrible environment, unfair treatment, racism, disrespectful, and unsupportive leadership. The upper management use the agency for their own personal benefits, their families and friends.
Pros
None
Cons
Desrespecfull to their staff and clients. corruption and dishonest management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
substance abuse issues at AHS
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2018
The work was rewarding but my direct manager often came into work high on something. She harassed me and targeted me due to my race and was often frightening when she got angry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back caring environment
Lab Attendant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2018
The staff there general went out their way to help the clients. Most of the clients whom did not have computer knowledge was help with resumes and job readiness.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Lots orf paper work to deal with constantly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting place to work
Accounting Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 19, 2018
Staff is friendly.
Very good learning experience.
Management is nice and easy to work with.
Very diverse group of people.
Very good place to work if you are a team player.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leranign environment
Childcare intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 14, 2017
I don't have enough comment having fun a t this center.I have every day fun and good guidance from my coworkers They count with the state benefits and plenty of resources..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 30, 2017
the environment was very poorly.
Management sucks.
Work space was never organized.
A lot of workers were not treated well.
Very rude patients, and management never defended their workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time administrative support staff
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 3, 2017
I only worked here as a part time administrative support staff. I helped our clients in drafting their own resumes and prepared them for job interviews.
Pros
Relaxed work atmosphere
Cons
Limited funding for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural
Project Coordinator, Therapist &Trainer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 11, 2017
This is a good place to explore client Diversity. The clients come from all over the world. Africa, Middle East, Asia, US and Europe. The agency works with a big refugee and HIV population.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the most productive workplace but gave decent experience to recent graduate
AmeriCorps Community Health Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 8, 2015
The work was usually slow and easy on most days. The best parts of working here was talking to clients and helping change someone's life. The staff had cliques and were very unsupportive. The management was also very bad and there is high turnover.
Pros
Easy work schedule
Cons
Bad management, bad working environment, staff unfriendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with low income families
Lab Attendant/Reception/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 27, 2015
IN a way I was my own supervisor. I especially love working with the families, molding them to be independent as well as motivating the daily not to get up, teaching them to how to articulate and believe in themselves. It was an inspiration and a joy each day.
Pros
i loved the relationship I developed I with the clients
Cons
the company was not a permanent posistion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life
Case Manager/Employment Counselor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 14, 2015
- Workload is manageable but difficult at times because of hard files documentation
- Systems are underdeveloped and digital format is underutilized
- Exposure to an array of individuals from different cultural backgrounds
- Agency is client centered but not very in tuned with employees care
- A lot of freedom for outreach
- Case management faces many barriers in getting supportive services for clients
- Bureacratic red tape when working with the state
- Deadlines are not clear
- Communication could be improved acoss departments and outside agency to other nonprofits doing similar work
Pros
Good for entry level position, diversity and experience of getting hands on experience in case management.
Cons
Management needs some changes and agency could benefit from changing and becoming digital. Also, not much room to grow within organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment.
Tutor/Group Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 3, 2013
I would tutor high school students from different countries on all subjects. As a tutor I also assisted some of the seniors in studying for the ACT and SAT. I had to create a comfortable yet constructive setting in which students felt at ease to learn and thrive in their personal academic related goals.
Pros
The opportunity to create lasting and positive impressions on individuals.
Cons
There were not enough hours to be had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position; teach and learn
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 25, 2013
Four days in a week, 3 pm to 6 pm.
Enjoy working with students
Demand patience
Like to help disadvantaged students;
e.g. Minority and immigrants
Pros
can attend my classes, have parking space
Cons
low working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non for profit work place
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 20, 2012
Multi-tasking
Learned to know people with different languages and cultures.
Management was strong.
Co-workers were OK.
To fill in for other co-workers and complete my assignment at the same time.
Working with different language and culture people.
Pros
healthcare, short breaks and lunch time
Cons
no chances to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Asian Human Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 15 reviews
55
43
33
21
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Asian Human Services Reviews by Location