Ask.com Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bait n Switch
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Remote Texas USAMarch 3, 2018
They hire you telling you you can work your own schedule either chat or phone but once you are on board they begin nagging you about more phone time and start texting and nagging you to take calls so it was not as he was portrayed to be.
Pros
Work from home and set own hours
Cons
Micromanaging of Independent Contractors is a bit much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ask jeeves
Editor (Former Employee) –  Emeryville, CAOctober 28, 2017
ASK was a fun, yet really slipshod operation in the dot.com era - terrible management. Not a place for career growth, but a very fun place to work at that moment in time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
Lead member (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 10, 2017
excellent company
work-life balance
great colleagues
great management
great place to learn many things.
flexible work timings.
ability to work from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career or job here
Manager, Search Engine Marketing (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 8, 2015
When a company is going downhill, and on a landslide, its a bad idea to remain there. Constant layoffs, bad work culture. Toxic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Took the time to train me. I'm very appreciative with them. Fun place to work.
JR. SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Bedford, MAApril 23, 2014
My co-workers took me under their wings and made me feel like part of the team from day one. I learned more than I could imagine and it was very exciting place to learn & work. Deadlines were a part of every day operation and maintaining up-times were very crucial, making this place a high demanding job. I loved every minute of it.

Thanks
Pros
everything
Cons
Lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate life predator
Sr. Software Developer Application (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 16, 2014
As it has been changed a lot since, the previous experience was not great. There was no code ownership, or review. Short scrum jumping from one problem to another, no telecommute days. At least with my direct management. Offshore team with "why we need OOP?" attitude had more influence than local team. This work is good for people who do not care about product they do and the job.
From friend who stayed heard that has been changed significantly. Now it is complete own control on work schedule and even vacation. Some flexibility on what projects you want to work and so on.
Pros
none
Cons
salary, vacation, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
QA (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 30, 2013
My job here just finished but I would love to work here again!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great office environment
Data Entry Associate (Temporary Assignment) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 16, 2013
I worked with all kinds of people on a daily basis in a fast paced work environment. The enery in the office was great and so were the co- workers. I learned alot abot business conduct, management and overall gow to be a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Ask.com reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ask.com. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 10 reviews
53
41
33
22
11

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

3.2Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Ask.com Reviews by Location