Asphalt Green Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search See all 43 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and funny day to day operations with members
Refrigeration and machine operator (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 13, 2018
Asphalt Green is a great way to learn how the marketing works in sports and other areas and the different free programs helps the community a great deal in my opinion unfortunately the engineering department doesn’t grow in the company
Pros
You are aloud to use everything in the facilities for free
Cons
None union job so anybody can send you home as they please
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Fitness Concierge (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 18, 2018
work load is easy, but they expect too much with little compensation. Managers come and go( there's a new manager every 4-6 months ) and it looks like they don't have it together
Pros
relaxed work enviorment
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Head Coach U 10 Girls Soccer Travel Team (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2018
learned how to coach kids in soccer and the technical and tactical aspect, freedom in coaching drills, best part of the job is the kids I coach. overall its a great place to work
Pros
free gym membership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
REP Coach (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2017
I really appreciated working with the Recess Enhancement Program. It was my introductions into working with kids in schools. It taight me skills and practices that I still use to this day. It was a valuable tool in my development as a health advocate to the younger generation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay place to work
Swim Instructor / Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 4, 2017
The pool is too cold. co workers usually call out so many times a week so you would have to fill in for them. The managers do their best to fit the work schedule with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment.
Aquatics Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 6, 2017
Fun sports work environment. Great people to be around. Working with children and seeing them improve. Decent vacation time. Not-for-profit so not much opportunity to make good money.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake Shack
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 30, 2017
The members were all nice! they really follow the rules in terms of food sanitation. There's always a long line outside because they're really famous for burgers and shakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thanks to Asphalt Green i obtain all the knowledge i have today.
Lead HVAC Mechanic (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2017
I was in charged of daily routine and making sure everything was in good working order. Being there for many year help me obtain all the knowledge to overcome many obstacles. And the best part working at Asphalt Green, there were always something different every day.
Pros
Working at a sport facility i was able to workout on my free time.
Cons
The medical benefit could be a little better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Camp
Camp Head Counselor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2017
Asphalt Green gave me the chance to experience working with children of all ages. It also allowed me to give customer service to children and their parents in a very unqiue way.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 18, 2017
Really well run and professional organization. Management really cares about its employees. Retention seems to be an issue but I do not think its on part of management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2017
If you want to work at a camp, you must have patience and an overall excitement to work with children all day. This job requires a lot of energy and is great for those who want to work in the a field with children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work ar
Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2017
Great company to work for. Great culture and work environment. Senior management is super flexible and gives freedom to work. Very nice people to interact with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Recess Coach/ Mentor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 26, 2017
I absolutely loved every moment of working with Asphalt Green. There is definitely advancement and growth for all employees within this company. The community events are amazing and absolutely a fun experience I will definitely recommend this company to anyone interested in health & fitness department.
Pros
Health Care, Paid Overtime, Special Events
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front desk
Guest Services Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 25, 2017
I love the environment. There is somewhat lack of communication within the departments but it's getting better than before. I like working there. My co-workers are good team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Recess Enhancement Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2017
The culture was amazing, it was like a family, you can tell people really care about you and the children you work with. Management does an amazing job of letting you know your job is important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work
PERSONAL FITNESS TRAINER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 6, 2017
Great and fun place to work. Learned a lot from staff and clients.
Build lots of relationships. lots of activities and great location for people who seek convenience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job amazing people
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 12, 2017
I've never been a platt of a company that treats their employees as family. Great environment great people and a great experience. Highly recommended to all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best people you can work with but not the best upper management
anonymous (Former Employee) –  anonymousApril 6, 2017
I respect what the company tries to do for the community, I've met some of the best co-workers you can meet, but it's too political in upper management. The amount of work does not pay off for the compensation they give you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, Long days
General Counselor (Former Employee) –  Upper East Side, NYMarch 29, 2017
This is a great place and facility. The people I worked with were all high quality people with a lot of character. The management staff, however, was very controlling and not very outgoing.
Pros
Free Gym use, High Pay
Cons
Poor Leadership by Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly work environment.
Swim Instructor/ Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 4, 2016
Typically in and out of the pool for lessons. They have two pools one heated and one large competitive pool. Staff is nice and friendly, management is good works well with its employees.
Pros
Free staff membership, pay is good. friendly staff, nice work environment
Cons
short hours, part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Asphalt Green. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 43 reviews
516
419
35
21
12

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Asphalt Green Reviews by Location