Aspire of WNY Employee Reviews

Showing all 67 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay place
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NYSeptember 13, 2018
For sure a challenge but well worth working here. I feel that with the time you put in with the individuals really makes a difference. You always feel better especially when they are happy and smile.
Pros
Seeing happiness of individuals
Cons
can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awarding and feeling of accomplishment
Facilitator of life choices (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, NYAugust 26, 2018
Working for Aspire has made me experience many opportunities of accomplishment. I was working with individuals with disabilities but not limitations. I would watch them complete goals in volunteering, in the community and self growth. A typical day would be completing goals of exercise, cooking and volunteering. Some enjoyed learning about their community and walking around the city and taking in the different businesses or the local art on the buildings. Some individuals need personal care, but are very independent in other areas. The best part of the day was when they stated they had a fun day and couldn't wait to do it again. What I learned from working at Aspire was patience, understanding, diversity and creating a bond with a individual.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
No consistent raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aspire of WNY: Great set of ethics and care for individuals
Facilitator of Life Choices (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 16, 2018
Most days I work with the individual and we do whatever they would like to do. My primary job is to get them to where they need to go while maintaining their schedule and keeping them task oriented.
Pros
Great code of ethics, amazing individuals
Cons
No breaks/benefits, no chance for raise/advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, NYAugust 14, 2018
Aspire is a great company overall, if you’re able to handle taking care of an individual and put there needs before yours than it would be the perfect fit for you
Pros
Great boss
Cons
Not a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not like working there
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 17, 2018
It wasn't always a bad place to work. When certain people left no one cared about the nursing department. For a while, we had an acting nursing supervisor who was not even a nurse. They finally hired a nursing supervisor. She was only interested in making herself look good to upper management. It wasn't always like this for years we had a great nursing supervisor too bad she retired.
Pros
could start early that is why I stayed. flexed schedule
Cons
poor communication between upper management and other staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the weak
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NYJuly 1, 2018
Working at this job I was constantly beat up and getting harassed and when you make a report about it, no one bothers to correct the behavior, and when you go out in public with a resident and they have disruptive behavior it becomes your fault. The manager was never there,
Pros
The drive to work
Cons
Being at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 15, 2018
Unorganized and unprofessional. Was offered a job face to face from my "supervisor" but he had no idea who I was and the job wasn't meant for me so it was promptly revoked (even though i accepted) and offered to my co-worked 30 seconds later. Never got an offer letter to stay on staff after summer and received a phone call asking why I wasn't coming into work (in September) when I wasn't made aware of my extended employment status. Teachers have low motivation and activities like music are the same two songs every time. Pay is unlivable.
Pros
students are awesome
Cons
pay, Hr, you are a set of hands to meet federal guidelines, they do not care about you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding helping people with disabilities
Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Fredonia, NYMay 10, 2018
Unorganized management practices. Would like a new job in my field of study. The days go by fast and it is rewarding but ready to start something new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with the individuals
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 12, 2018
Working for Aspire of WNY was a teaching experience for me . it taught me to more compassionate and to have more patience. it made me a better person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and patients
Physical Therapist Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYApril 9, 2018
I love the patients and people there..... Pay is very low though and at times very stressful. A lot of work to be done in a very short period of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful People to work with, Upper management in need of perspective
Manager (Current Employee) –  Amherst, NYApril 3, 2018
Working with people with developmental disabilities has been an absolute joy. The culture is team-oriented for the most part, and Aspire is a big agency, so there is room to move up or try new positions. That being said, Aspire is one of the lowest paying agencies that service people with disabilities in this area. Upper management don't seem to have an understanding of the day-to-day work, and don't offer the support to their managers that they deserve.
Pros
Great Benefits, Fulfilling work, on the job training
Cons
low salary, poor upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Residential Habilitation Aide (Former Employee) –  Getzville, NY 14068March 26, 2018
it was just okay good overtime and thats about it poor management open hours based pay raised needed thats about it I'm not sure what you want from me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job that just made you feel good for helping people
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Getzville, NYMarch 6, 2018
The work load was pretty steady and large. We all interacted with almost everyone in the accounting department, on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job, the volume of invoices that come in, but once you got rhythm going it was easier Management was always approachable, and around when you needed them. All around a great company to work for. I worked for them form 1988-1998,
and the again from 2007-2008. .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding
Assisting Individuals (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NY 14750February 6, 2018
loved working with co-workers and individuals. You make lifetime friends working there. To be able to motivate people to convince them they can do anything they put their mind to and see them succeed is the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Direct Support Aide (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYJanuary 27, 2018
This is a great employer with advancements and also room to grow within the company the PTO is earned weekly which is a plus and the mangers are good as well.
Pros
Weekly PTO
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dedicated and patientence
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Silver Creek, NYJanuary 23, 2018
aspire isnt the easiest job to work, not saying its difficult or bad hours or anything like that it just takes a certian type of person to be able to care for special needs. lots of patience is needed. pay should be better but cant blame the company for it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Staff
Certified Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NYJanuary 19, 2018
I loved my job and my clients. I was given challenges every day, and my supervisor was very understanding when I couldn't make it in. You are treated like family, and not just an employee.
Pros
Very understanding when life happens
Cons
Short breaks, and not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great play to be
Day Habilitation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Getzville, NYJanuary 10, 2018
The management staff is not sensitive to their staff. If your not kissing up to them, you will get a lot of finger pointing and write ups. They let good employees go with barely paper trail and do not justify the reason for their firing.
Pros
the pay is great
Cons
not a friendly place to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 2, 2018
short staffed vs individuals you cared for
management did not help when needed assistance
hardest part was no help from management . you got burnt out fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intimate working environment.
Full time RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NY 14225December 28, 2017
Intimate working environment.
Rewarding experience working with developmentally disabled adults.
Developing working relationship with patients & family.
Worst part was cutting staff .
Pros
Intimate working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aspire of WNY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 67 reviews
522
419
311
29
16

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture