ASR Group Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 137 reviews
Ratings breakdown
524
447
333
213
120
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 120 reviews matching the search See all 137 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Lead Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 10, 2018
The Plant Manager and three out of the six supervisors were fine to work with, other than that no one has an idea what is going on there. Half of the supervisors are lazy and maintenance complains about anything they can. The production planner has no idea what is ever going on and is constantly changing the schedule making it difficult to run certain machines. I've never worked at a facility where the Production Manager is never on the floor and only takes the advice from certain people. I highly recommend that nobody works here, it is not worth the trouble and I'm embarrassed I wasted ten years there.
Pros
Great pay, friendly co-workers
Cons
Dead end job, no communication, micro-management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure business but old fashion culture
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Arabi, LAAugust 2, 2018
The company has been around since 1909 and the culture reflects that. It has about 370 employees. Heavy male presence. Run through weekends are typical.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, poor management
Operator (Former Employee) –  Arabi, LAJune 12, 2018
Good if you just looking to make quick money. But not a place to have a career. No advancement. They do not hire within. Have favorites they will tell you on a Friday that you have to work all weekend. Don’t care about your home life Very poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Office People
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Arabi, LAJune 6, 2018
Horrible office people.
Cut Throat
Terrible Office people
Fire people in a minute
Have favorites
Terrible plant manager
Terrible human resource department
Harrassmet and Bullying
Pros
Horrible
Cons
Horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sanko Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 12, 2018
very dusty with sugar poor management. great system for making sugar . pushing v mags cleaning and washing machines. loud noisy environment. friendly employees
Pros
Nice area
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanage workplace.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 19, 2018
Cut throat asr group Chalmette refinery is a joke A bunch of clowns running this place compared to certain jobs. micromanaged supervisors can make their own decisions. when you’re sick or when you have the flu they don’t except doctors notes and they want to write you up when you get points they don’t offer sick time or personal time poor excuse for a job and management.
Pros
Breaks and the union is great 1101
Cons
Attendance policy sucks and micromanaged supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houlton maineApril 13, 2018
Worse manager I have ever worked under, he is plant manager number eleven, very unfair to workers and has a strong history of firing people and enjoys bragging about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun miserable job now, no money to be made
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Chalmette, LAApril 9, 2018
You always getting ordered out. Means won’t even get 40 hrs no more.. but I recommend everyone put in and find out for yourself!! Better than last job
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you get the overtime that’s about it and poor management
Machine Attendant (Former Employee) –  Arabi, LAApril 4, 2018
Management is horrible they try to find any reason to write you up. you’re not even guaranteed 40 hours anymore you get ordered out at any time. some days you might get 24 or 32 hours they don’t offer anything the benefits are trash....THE JOB IS REAL EASY
Pros
Pay and refinery looks good on your resume
Cons
Management, benefits and inconsistent overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
WAREHOUSE & SHIPPING LOADING OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Arabi, LAMarch 7, 2018
Very dirty place to work. Union is not the best, protects a lot of lazy workers. Very hot in summer and very cold in the winter, Benefits and pay was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trash from top to bottom
Machine Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Chalmette, LAMarch 6, 2018
This place is a complete joke.. from the plant manager to the terribly unprofessional supervisors... lack of communication between hourly and salaried employees.....production department is the worst by far... weekend schedule is not posted till Friday afternoon soo good luck trying to make plans for anything.. one week you work 84 hours the next you don’t even reach 40hrs.... STAY AWAY FROM THIS TRASH BIN!!
Pros
You’re not unemployed
Cons
You work here
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat
Data Management Lead (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMarch 1, 2018
The business data lead did not want contractors I was the 11 data lead in two years. The twelfth lasted a month after I left. It was impossible to work and deliver even the management team could not help
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Internship
Packaging Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Crockett, CAJanuary 31, 2018
Great learning experience! Recommend this position to anybody who is looking to get their feet in the door for any production line management position and the pay is great for an internship!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Watseka, ILJanuary 22, 2018
loved the job but was let go do to unseen circumstances, you get all the hours you want to work everyone there helps each other through the day to make sure everything gets done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chalmette, LAJanuary 12, 2018
The culture is pure cut throat
No teamwork at all
nobody takes responsibility
CYA 24/7
No rules that can be followed
Management does not support you or the team
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 9, 2017
Great company. The employees worked as a team which was very helpful. Management really cared about employees. I was just a temp and I worked very hard and it showed. When my time was up I didn't want to leave. Two months later they called me back for a permanent position but I had already found a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making sure the Corporate Office was running smooth as possible
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NY 10705November 29, 2017
Oversees several departments.
The entire corporate offices
Mailroom
Cafeteria
Janitorial personnel
contractors and review bids and contracts
Security
Pros
I have enjoyed the great challenge for years and gained experience.
Cons
too much responsibility for one person but I was able to get along with all. my staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Finishing and Packaging Operator (Former Employee) –  McIntosh, ALNovember 20, 2017
did not like management but the work was very comcortable. Some bosses was good others not! But i did like most of the people that worked there! good experience far me!
Pros
work was easy
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs i ever had
Bulk Operator (Former Employee) –  Arabi, LANovember 13, 2017
Domino was a perfect launch point to begin my refining career. Though it differs from the petroleum industry it still teaches you the fundamentals of what it takes to run a complex multi-Unit organization. The culture of the refinery was always safety first as well as maximum efficiency.
Pros
Allows you to make your own schedule cause overtime is almost unlimited.
Cons
Wish technology was a little more advanced, still doing a lot of manual information sharing instead of digital traformation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry to the food chem industry
Associate Scientist (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILNovember 7, 2017
For an AS holder this job was a great way to break into the food chem industry, although I did find myself wanting more after a few years of working. When I left to pursue my bachelor's in chemistry they were very supportive of the decision.
Pros
Solid, set work hours; good environment
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport