Asset Marketing Services, LLC Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's A Boiler Room, BUT It'll Make You Much Better At Sales
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNApril 22, 2019
I'm not sure how much of the company still exists pertaining to the division/type of sales I was in when working as a salesperson for Asset. I was in Coins...as in I was one of just under a hundred salespeople who sold coins under the various different brands and sub-companies. Out of training ("Coin College") I received four different boxes of business cards all listing my position title as 'Senior Account Representative.' They give you a bunch of cold leads to dial away at and try to convert a customer that made a single purchase a year ago for a $25 dollar commemorative coin of something (royal wedding, Elvis, etc.) into a whale that's dropping tens of thousands each sale as they rack up millions with the company....all on coins that are presented as holding numismatic value that will in virtually every case be worth nothing more than scrap. It was a boiler room that pushed overpriced junk coins, that came with a great [fictional] story, presentation case and documentation, were graded by sealed in holders by either of the two main companies, and at the end of the day were made of an ounce usually of gold, silver, platinum, or palladium. So they were worth whatever the going rate for those precious metals is, so they'd typically only represent a loss of $5K to $10K to the customer for the majority of each coin they purchased. There were cash spiffs, decent commissions, terrible management that did nothing more than tell you to get on the phone and dial more and print off call counts with talk time analytics....as if a trained monkey couldn't do the same thing, yet that's  more... the extent of their management.

This job is still worth doing because if you can make it even six months in this high pressure boiler room environment with even a small, almost insignificant, degree of success to show for it....I guarantee you that you'll excel at any and all sales positions that involve a lot of calling the rest of your life. There are sales jobs and then there are sales jobs and then there's working for Asset Marketing. Most millennials think taking an order from some calling them with the sole intent of buying something is "sales." At Asset you learn how to sell something that is insanely expensive but has little to no actual value....to a person that had zero initial interest and probably hung up on you the first few times you tried calling them......

.....if you can slang coins even extremely unsuccessfully compared to the other sales people that are board leaders....if you can make that type of sale happen even a half dozen to a dozen times....you will be better than 99% of the salespeople you encounter as coworkers, colleagues, and competition the rest of your sales career.

There was no place that you could learn sales at better than Asset, and they paid you good money to get an education that was invaluable. There are a lot of things that will make you successful in life that the surface to which will never be scratched upon at any institution of higher education...education, not learning....at Asset you learn something you'll always know and will always be a commodity sought by employers.

In that aspect I couldn't recommend working there enough.
  less
Pros
Cash spiffs where you'd walk out early for the day with several hundred benjamins in your pocket, a grand or more not uncommon
Cons
You're robbing people, but just doing it in a legal yet every bit unethical way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNNovember 30, 2018
During my time there I was able to advance in my career. Due to a drastic company restructuring, my position was eliminated. Given the right opportunity I'd work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, educational, fun
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNNovember 25, 2018
Very interesting place to work. Fast paced, educational, and fun. Sometimes management gets a bit myopic but overall good experience. Lot's of big (ego) personalities providing some very interesting products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you don't mind not being trained.
Sr Rep Customer Service Inbound Sales (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNAugust 10, 2018
Started out in Customer service. It was great got to be top lead and worked with the British Royal Mint. so they thought oh here's a great guy lets get him in to selling. Opps they forgot how to train me. When I got my first review they let me go.
Pros
great customer service
Cons
bad sales Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a workplace
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNAugust 7, 2018
asset marketing services limited liability company was just a job and would not recommend to anyone to work at asset marketing services limited liability company.
Pros
None
Cons
Lay offs to a bare bones staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Account Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNJuly 21, 2018
Pay was pretty good. A couple of departments got laid off so I only worked there a month. Unrealistic expectations. Unfortunately I had a parent pass away not long after I started. Once I got back, they expected me to pick up right where I left off. Basically, I had forgotten everything I had learned and was still shooken up about my parents passing. They however "changed" my numbers to make up for what time I had missed. They didn't think about the upset in my life, and how much I was going through at the time. They showed their true colors, and I am glad they did because it saved me quite a bit of time. This company only cares about the numbers.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Managment, work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNMay 2, 2018
I got a lot out of my sales training, especially the delivery of the pitch. I learned to really create interest and curiosity in others about virtually any product.
Pros
New products with new stories regularly. Variety is a plus.
Cons
Sitting in a cubicle on the phone all day. Not for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Customer Support Team (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNApril 12, 2018
This was a temporary job, in terms of the career advancement there was none, an there was no way to get a raise either. In the end I knew I had to move
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Results Driven
Senior Director of Sales (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNFebruary 21, 2018
Results driven organization that was high risk, high reward. It allowed anyone who was able to sell to have a job. If you were capable you could make a very good living.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Burnsville, MNFebruary 20, 2018
The average day at Asset Marketing is spent on the phones, reaching out to an existing clientele base to inform them about newly released coins. For the most part, the workplace culture is great, every now and then there's an employee or two that throw off the balance. Management is there to support your constantly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just ok place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNFebruary 3, 2018
Its an okay place to work, no real opportunity for career advancement. Selling a cool story does make it easier to pitch product. Completely sales driven compensation.
Pros
Mid-level managers
Cons
Pay, no career advancement, lack of direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure
Sales Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNJanuary 25, 2018
This is a cut throat company. You are working with thousands of dollars and measures that need to be met. Pressure is on from the warehouse to the salesman. However the money is not given from the salesman to the warehouse. Everyone works hard and it is the salesman that drive the $100,000 cars.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential but falls way short
Sr. Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnsvill, MNJanuary 20, 2018
Things were much better a few years back prior to Sr. Management changes. Last few years saw 4-5 pay plan changes all to the benefit of the company not the employee. Work harder and make less for the employee. Sr. Management is out of touch with sales reps which drive the business.
Pros
No nights, No weekends
Cons
Sr. Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Value items sold to vulnerable people
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  BurnsvilleJanuary 18, 2018
The coins are hyped to customer as low mintage unique items and although technically you cannot sell coins in MN as investments. People do buy them as such and as heirlooms but the extravagant mark ups of all the coins to create enormous profit margins benefits the sales reps in compensation and management but not the poor consumer. I attended a local auction and but some coins from this company at a fraction of what the coins retailed for. The auctioneer said when a coin salesperson calls please take the phone out of the hands of vulnerable adults. AMEN! You will feel guilty over time knowing you sold over hyped products with little value.
Pros
compensation
Cons
Poor value to consumers, stressful goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine place to work
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNDecember 20, 2017
A generally pleasant place to work. A lot of nice people working together to get things accomplished. Management at times could be a bit counter-productive.
Pros
Good people, cutting edge technology
Cons
Management did not heed advice form workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad
Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNNovember 13, 2017
a great group of workers working for totally incompetent management
the people doing the work had plenty of ideas on improving processes and the company in whole but those in charge would dismiss or ignore those ideas
Pros
coworkers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful staff, off-site activities
Senior Executive Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNNovember 7, 2017
Asset Marketing Services is a great place to work. The most positive features are adequate compensation, good management, fair and flexible treatment and great colleagues with whom to work.

For me, the negative features are sixty miles one-way to work, metro-traffic both ways (coming and going), pressure to meet assigned quota.

All-in-all, it is a great place to work if you are production-oriented and like challenges as I do.
Pros
Remuneratino
Cons
Pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNNovember 6, 2017
Work was good, excellent coworkers, but SL management didn't recognize behind the scenes employees. Challenged to get noticed or allowed to participate in strategy process.
Pros
close to home with flexible schedule
Cons
quick to let good employees go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
ASMS (Current Employee) –  Burnsville, MNOctober 23, 2017
Lots of tenure employees, not willing to change and think outside the box. Inspired to be accountable for actions, but no follow through by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mike Mirich was the best boss
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 8, 2017
I'm not sure what its like to work there now because I worked there a very long time ago but when I did I really loved it there and I advanced very fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Asset Marketing Services, LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 44 reviews
55
417
312
26
14

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture

Asset Marketing Services, LLC Reviews by Location