Aston Technologies Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and progressive employment
St. Louis Park - Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis Park, MNSeptember 8, 2018
ASton Tech. really wanted you to learn and take all you could. Help you become the tech god, as some could say, they you wanted to be. A place where if you want to grow you can and they will help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Environment
Junior Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 17, 2018
My typical day involved learning, troubleshooting, conversing, and playing Ping Pong. Overall, I think the culture would be a great fit for most people. Unfortunately, I could not stay with them due to personal reasons, but I do highly recommend others to reach out to see if the company is right for you.
Pros
Ping Pong
Cons
Sometimes a bit unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult job to do
Junior Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 22, 2018
The mentors are very hit and miss and the work is complicated and hard. Requires you to potentially move around so you have to be open to travel. Good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an opportunity to get into the IT world
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 26, 2018
Provides the help and resources if needed to get you in the door. Could be a great opportunity for someone looking to break into the IT world. Work really hard.
Pros
Stepping stone
Cons
Must give up everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Net Trainer (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNJanuary 15, 2018
Before I started at Aston, I had little knowledge of the Microsoft languages except for what I had to teach myself at a previous employer. Upon leaving, I had learned to program entire software packages and set up IIS. I was also able to help mentor others. For this I am glad to have worked there.

It really wasn't a stellar place to work as I never really received the fulfillment that I was expecting. It's the only IT job that I have ever had that I wasn't proud to be a part of. I won't go into details but I had it to do all over again I would definitely pass.
Pros
Free bagels and toppings as well as coffee, able to chose own hours, intense learning program, awesome direct supervisor, fast paced, mostly relaxed
Cons
low pay, never met my actual needs, in house politics, lackluster personal results.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast
Sales Administrator (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 29, 2017
it is a fast paced environment but it was also very fun and rewarding. I having been learning a lot in my time here. It also provides a lot of opportunity to step completely out of your comfort zone which i found extremely beneficial
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start and grow your career
Sr. Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNAugust 26, 2016
Aston Technologies continually helps me grow and expand my knowledge in Network Engineering. The people there are great and it's fun to be in office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly experts and fun environment
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 15, 2015
At Aston Technologies I was paid to get training in new technologies and have a blast working with great people. It was challenging, fun and they had free coffee and bagels.
Pros
Good people, great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Company who cares about their employees
Escalation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 9, 2015
Aston gives you the tools you need to expand your knowledge while taking the hassle out of contracting. They focus on your needs both to expand your knowledge and your career. I certainly recommend them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not such a great experience
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAMay 21, 2015
Learned a lot and grew as a developer but I had a lot of trouble with upper management. My direct supervisors were excellent people and really harnessed growth and education but management above them destroyed the program due to poor planning on their part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company with dynamic leadership
FINANCE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 21, 2015
This company knows how to utilize human capital and has an amazing history of promoting from within. Ownership is committed to growth and has invested heavily in expanding operations outside of Minneapolis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people stressful environment
Cisco Network Engineer - Training (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 13, 2015
Went through the Cisco voice training. Company emphasizes how great there training is. In reality you are training yourself with material they provide. If you are the type of person that can pick a book up or run through a lab once and learn the material this would be great.
If not you will struggle with this company. When you ask questions there answer is "google it" or "it should be in your notes". very little help from your trainers/mentors.
My experience with them is that to me it seamed that they were more interested in seeing how they could get me to fail then seeing how they could get me to excel.
With that being said, my co-workers and people in the company are nice. I have learned a lot and they made me want to advance my career into the Cisco networking world.
I may not have been a fit for this company but in the end the co-workers and trainers were encouraging me to learn some more and to pursue a career in Cisco networking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 15Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning on the job is a necessary skill
UC/UCCE Development & Deployment Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNMay 29, 2014
- Very fast-paced environment, with tons of learning on the job experience.
- Support and management are extremely helpful and understanding of demanding customers.
- Great engineers to work with and learn from
- Always on the leading edge of new Cisco technologies
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and growing company
Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 5, 2014
Great experience, and nothing bad to say about the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aston Technologies Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
58
42
32
22
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture

Aston Technologies Inc. Reviews by Location