Atkins Employee Reviews

Found 116 reviews matching the search See all 327 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuclear Engineering company with serious attitude towards work.
Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richland, WASeptember 9, 2018
My overall review of Atkins Global is that the work pace is on par with other nuclear engineering companies around the globe. While working at Atkins Global, I never felt rushed to complete a project, as everyone worked at a slow but purposeful pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Sr. Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 5, 2018
The upper management is hardly connected with the lower level people. Not much of career development planning. A lot of fake hopes and sometime they even lie.
Pros
Pays well
Cons
Upper management is not honest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not Atkins anymore
Sr Human Resources Business Partner (Former Employee) –  Orange, CASeptember 4, 2018
My experience is before SNC-Lavalin took over so you can't go by what I say.
I had the best manager in the entire company as well, so there's that, too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful environment
Operator I (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 30, 2018
Answering calls from roadway travelers became very redundant ans stressful. management house rules see,s sort of unethical to some extent. Overall job is not difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be productive
Traffic Operations Center Operator (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 14, 2018
There are 3 shifts 6 am to 2 pm, 2 pm to 10 pm and 10 pm to 6 am. I have worked 3rd shift in the past and now currently work the 1st shift. My personal opinion i like working 1st shift, 3rd shift is a slight more calmer only road work being performed but it is hard on me being that i have two little children to stay up late.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright
General Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MO 65201July 4, 2018
great if you dont mind a small job to pay a small phone bill but not good if you want any living wage . The job can be stressful depending on what building you are at since some like to be cleaned in particular ways and if you dont do it just so you might be chewed out the next day. though it is a good job if you like to work independently.
Pros
independence
Cons
low pay for what you have to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Richland, WAJuly 2, 2018
Enjoy working for Atkins. Work has been fulfilling and project have been challenging. Workload has been deteriorating and I layoffs have been happening over the last year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intentions but poor communication to staff, no room to advance
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Richland, WAJune 20, 2018
Really disappointed in a mature company like this...I had way higher expectations that they failed miserably to meet...mind you the expectations were not out of line.
Pros
Good pay when there was work, laid off when there wasn't work
Cons
Brit mentality, poor management, poor internal communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could have been a good place to work
Senior Document Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2018
I originally started with Houston Offshore Engineering (HOE)... we were a family. Shortly after HOE sold out to Atkins, the layoffs started... and unfortunately for others not long after that ; Atkins sold out to SNC Lavalin.

It's the nature of the beast in the O&G Industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atkins
Team Lead - Helpdesk Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 12, 2018
On a typical workday, a helpdesk tech could field between 20-75 incoming calls, making 20-30 follow up calls to provide support to employees. It was easy going environment, but sometimes stress occurred. The hardest part was being let go because my job was outsourced to the UK after being there 8 yrs.
Pros
Laid back
Cons
Outsourced NA jobs to the UK and not offered an opportunity to move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working at Atkins
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOJune 11, 2018
Management is a little scatter brained and it doesn't seem like anyone really communicats but all in all your by yourself at evening and night and clean. Not to bad.
Pros
By yourself
Cons
Low pay/no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atkins
Team Lead - Helpdesk Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 28, 2018
Atkins was a great place to work, however, business decisions drove jobs to the UK, thus laying off an entire department as well as other departments.
Pros
Long term employment
Cons
Outsourced positions best suited for local support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay more
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 21, 2018
The job would be OK if they pay more and benefits.You work hard.This has been the most difficult job i had in my life but i still managed.IT was a test but i made it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and challenging place to work
N/A (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 24, 2018
Lots of changes from acquiring companies to be acquired themselves. Things are always changing and the work load just gets piled on. Expected to turn around request very quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional a helpful
Language consultant for European Relocation (Former Employee) –  New York StateApril 23, 2018
This was a temporary contract; I enjoyed the experience! was rewarding to help clients prepare for their relocation. Hopefully, I was able to ease their apprehension.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull
associate architect (Former Employee) –  Euston Tower and EpsomApril 16, 2018
Dull work, Poor management. Full of self important ant people that blame each other. Overly complicated time sheets, Do not bother working for Atkins through an agency. Euston Tower office for architects smells of food most of the time.
Mealy mouthed platitudes , then they start blaming each other and eventually you.
Do not waste your time with them.
Pros
a job
Cons
a dull job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work but communication is a problem
Day Porter (Former Employee) –  Centralia, MOMarch 30, 2018
The work wasn't bad. Weekends off was a great thing but, the communication between management and staff leaves a lot to be desired. If your position is outside of Columbia expect it too be worse. Not a bad company overall but you had better be on the ball with following up yourself.
Pros
Weekends off, easy work
Cons
Middle to low end pay, communication is a clusterf**k
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Traffic Operations Center Operator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 28, 2018
Worked at a contracted location, so Atkins didn't really have a say in a lot of things minus our benefits and training. Interactions with corporate were average.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work, very demanding and high expectations without complete support from upper management.
Senior Project Manager/Technical Manager (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVMarch 25, 2018
Company is run very bureaucratic especially in the project management process. Upper management not truly supportive and do not really appreciate your effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Enginneering Office
A MEMBER OF SNC LAVALIN (Former Employee) –  DenverMarch 9, 2018
Co-workers were great and felt like part of a team.

Open environment office. The office has many employee groups that are fun including a social club you pay into.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Atkins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 328 reviews
5103
4125
359
221
120

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture