Atlanta Metropolitan College Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Work study program was a great success
Helped the Director (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 20, 2018
Being apart of the work study program at Atlanta Metropolitan State College. This program gave me the chance and opportunity to work with 100 Black Men of Atlanta . I met some great people working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Administrative Assistant/Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 7, 2018
I received my degree from AMSC as well as I was employed by them. The best part of my job was helping students to gain confidence and achieve their academic goals. I was never trained to do what I did, but me being who I am I asked lots of questions. It was always about the students. To help them transition from either teenagers out of high school to veterans trying to further their educations after serving our country to non traditional students returning to school after taking years off to raise their family. AMSC is a good starter school for non traditional students because they do want to see you win but the level of intensity of work from AMSC to GSU or CSU is a extreme difference. I would suggest students who are coming out of high school to attend a university.
Pros
The students
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent experience
Librarian (Work Study) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 29, 2018
It has been a long time since I've been employed in Atlanta Metropolitan, but for my experience on the job there was decent. It wasn't anything exciting nor boring, it was fine for what I had and could do for in service. However, I do not remember being offered any insurance, etc. during my temporary employment, for it was just a summer job required by Upward Bound.
Pros
Supervisor, Assistance, A decent enviroment
Cons
It does get a bit too quiet, tired and boring sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job Enviorment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 11, 2017
If you are attending the college, and you choose to work part-time. Then I recommend working at this college. This job is a great workplace and has great management .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work.
Upward Bound Program Instructor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 4, 2017
The campus is very safe. The president is a very good leader and educator. I have thoroughly enjoyed working with the program. I'm also the play by play announcer during basketball season.
Pros
The student population is growing.
Cons
I feel the institution should add dorms for students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful working with students who are where I once was
Admission Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 5, 2017
Wonderful experience working with and assisting students through their admissions process. Wonderful work/office setting. Very family oriented workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interviewed For Case Investigator Specialist
Case Investigator Specialist -Title IX (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2016
I was very impressed with the the entire faculty and staff that I encountered. All were welcoming and made me very comfortable. There was a face-to-face Panel Interview where tougher, more job specific questions are asked. My Response: The questions will not present a problem if you have truly worked in the field. The next interview was with my, now, manager. He was so positive. He explained his vision of the position. My final interview was with the President. He was awesome. He provided the more strategic need for the position.

By the time my campus visit was over, I had a great working knowledge of what would be expected of me, if selected.

I WAS SELECTED! Management is great!
Pros
Everything
Cons
None Yet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely loved this job all of it
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 5, 2016
Typical day was working with students

Learned how to help students in areas where needed

Management was excellent

Loved my co-workers

Hardest part was leaving

Enjoyed coming everyday to work
Pros
No micromanagement
Cons
not enough healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 18, 2015
Working at the college gave time the opportunity to be at service to faculty, staff ans students. Co-workers were very helpful and the hardest part was dealing with unprepared student. most was enjoyable for the most part.
Pros
working with co workers
Cons
student
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with people
Statistics and Mathematics Instructor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 19, 2014
Each day I lecture to classes of approximately 25 students.
I enter student data into Desire to Learn per federal regulations.
All exams and assignments are designed by me.
My classes are contain an e-learning component through Pearson's MyMathLab.
I teach the students apply Statistics Concepts and work with data sets using Excel.
Pros
The faculty is friendly and my students are eager to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Family setting with fun, friendly, faculty
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  atlanta, gaAugust 12, 2013
A typical day would include work, but its anything but work. I enjoyed my job and Coworkers and It taught me about the value of great social work relationships.
Pros
free lunches, departmental competitions, fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical Skills
Clerical Aid (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 24, 2012
I learned my Clerical and office skills here. It was a safe and friendly enviroment to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical Expirence
Clerical Aid (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 21, 2012
I gained clerical expirence, as well as knowledge to promote a productive office
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work ethic
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 12, 2012
i learned how to patrol more and how different people work ethic is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized for a college.
Skilled Utility Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 31, 2012
I start out by checking my assigned buildings for any problems followed by random service calls. Haven't really learned much that i didn't already know. Management could be better with communication. Most co-workers are pleasant to work with and around. The hardest part is coping with the unorganization and lack of communication. The best part is leaving for the day.
Cons
no benefits, raises, bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, very rewarding job
Adjunct Professor of Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 27, 2012
Great environment to work in. The new health sciences building is going to change the shape of the institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Atlanta Metropolitan College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 17 reviews
511
42
32
21
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
3.9Culture

Atlanta Metropolitan College Reviews by Location