Atlantic Media Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place but ...
Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 21, 2018
No matter what, journalism doesn't pay high salary BUT the corp culture is excellent.

for my expertise I should have demanded more in salary.

there was a change in management when I was there which was an awkward transition.
Pros
great culture, if slightly leaning left.
Cons
slightly leaning left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 18, 2017
Super stressful environment, horribly poor management, micromanagement every step of the way. No flexibility and "unlimited TO" is most definitely not unlimited.
Pros
Progressive company
Cons
Micromanagement, no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 11, 2017
The company was ok to work for. If you live in DC its a good place to start out. if you live outside of DC it can be a little hard because of travel, and traffic.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Positive Experience
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 13, 2017
Small privately owned media company

Overall positive experience

Workplace culture is unique

Great colleagues and opportunities for professional growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding culture & incredibly innovative
Digital Marketing Internship (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 15, 2017
Atlantic Media has a number of brands that provide various media content for government executives and decision makers. I learned how to utilize various analytical tools to analyze competitive analysis. Also created spreadsheets to analyze certain brands, competitors, and political figures and how they use different forms of social media.
Pros
Great learning experience, wonderful staff & incredibly supportive
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 17, 2015
Atlantic Media has a lot of smart, young talented individuals right out from college. In the first months, I learned a lot at my job, but feel like my learning has peaked in my current position. The pay is not great, but the company is also very laid back. It's good for a first job, but wouldn't recommend sticking around for the long haul.
Pros
Unlimited time off work policy
Cons
Does not continue to be challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No management or Training
Sales/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Deerfield Beach, FLApril 15, 2015
Atlantic Media has to be the worst job I've ever experienced. There is absolutely no management and the hardly train you at all. There was also no job security, if you didn't produce 3 sales a day for a week they would let you go. Also, their sales script was the worst I've ever worked with and the whole place was a scam.
Pros
None Whatsoever.
Cons
No benefits, low pay, no management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Events (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 29, 2015
Best place to work! Atmosphere is motivating, warm, and inviting. Management is spectacular. Typical work day is fast paced, yet exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun placed to work
Human Resource Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NYJuly 17, 2014
The company was family oriented great place to work. The company informed staff that they were selling and I was offered severance pay.
hardest part of the job was leaving and the most enjoyable was my co-workers
Pros
career growth
Cons
Closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential, movement, and work/life balance
Corporate Atlantic Media (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 7, 2014
Atlantic Media is a growing company that is willing to take chances to upend the status quo. Atlantic Media, while having a very long history, strives to institute a startup mentality.

Star performers are well compensated.

Atlantic Media also has above average benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Answered phones
Communications Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 14, 2013
Enjoyed some of my co-workers, but at the end of day didn't enjoy my job at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting place to work seeing how writers gathered information for the publications.
PAYROLL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 18, 2012
A typical day involved collecting timesheets from supervisors of the staff writers, entering those hours into ADP Payroll for Windows, entering vacation time being taken, uploading expense reimbursement amounts, uploading employee data changes, verifying commission payments, dollar amounts for expense reimbursements, bonus payments and prorated or retroactive salaries. Management was very supportive and worked with me quite closely on very large projects to improve financial reporting from Payroll. My co-workers were very supportive, but the hardest part was that this position was a handled by only one person. The most enjoyable aspect of this job were the activities the company participated in as a whole to give back to the community.
Pros
free breakfast and afternoon snack everyday.
Cons
there was no one else to share the work load with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Atlantic Media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 13 reviews
52
45
33
21
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
4.1

4.0Personal Development

4.5Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Atlantic Media Reviews by Location