Austal USA Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 135 reviews
Ratings breakdown
535
444
332
215
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 135 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management will be the downfall of this place
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 26, 2018
The white hats (foremans, lead foremans, and managers) hire friends and family not people qualified for the job. My manager was gonna hire a new supervisor that happened to be one of his friends because he owed him a favor.... Not because he was applicable to carrying out supervisor duties
Pros
Not really anything
Cons
foremans following and stalking you, and HR isnt there to help you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and competitive
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 11, 2018
A typical day at this company was very face past and competitive . The hardest part of this job was find the inspection locations that needed to be inspected.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Having to walk around the plant and find people to give them an eye inspections.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3/5 for me
APPRENTICE (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 8, 2018
Wonderful people to work with daily. Management could use some tweaking. Excellent benefits and discounts. The pay is excellent for the local area. The company really loves to help the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shipyard!!!
Logistic Associate (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 20, 2018
awesome Mobile al shipyard. Austal USA men and women working together to protect our NAVY. doing a great job building the fleet for department of defense
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human resources is the worst part of the company
A-class ship fitter/ A-class welder (Former Employee) –  Welder and fitterMarch 10, 2018
Was done wrong by the human resources office but other than that it was a good company to work for. I worked the weekend shift which allowed me to be home with my family more than i had to be at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain experienc in the newest form of Naval ship construction and technology
A-Class Structural Ship Fitter (Current Employee) –  Mobile AlabamaMarch 8, 2018
Would highly recommend this as a great place to work
If you like a fast paced environment as I do then, this is a job for you.
Great pay and excellent benefits
Working conditions are clean and favorable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a hard job
Shipfitter/Welder (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 8, 2018
It’s a good job with stability and benefits. It is also one of the cleanest places I have ever worked. They also put safety first and that’s the most important thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
STRUCTURE WELDER/FITTER (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 7, 2018
I loved working at Austal and would do so again if given the opportunity. I enjoyed the people around me and my supervisors. because of a life event i had to move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, Great People. Inovative and cutting edge.
Fabrication Tech Support (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 4, 2018
Excellent Management, especially on the Shop floor. Felt like working with family. Loved getting to be a part of the amazing naval vessels they built.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was something different if you are really trying to get down and dirty that's the job for you
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALFebruary 25, 2018
It's a real hands on job if you're not ready to get down and dirty don't even try to aply but it's easy one you get the hang of it you have climb in small compartment on the Navy ships to clean certain areas out its real labor work so if you're not planning on getting down don't waste your time
Pros
We had 30 minutes lunch breaks off the clock and 15 minutes on the clock
Cons
I loved to work there if I can ever get another chance I would go right back
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True Disaster
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 23, 2018
Life is great... If you're from Mobile working for this builder of this poorly designed ship (LCS - which truly means Litoral combat ship). This is a company that cares little for their start up San Diego office or are open to business recommendations to improve both quality of work and life. As a salaried employee, you will be expected to work relentlessly while the project remains undermanned for months.

The turnover rate has been high in my time on site, this includes senior management. If you're not blindly loyal to Austal, then be prepared to be ousted. By the way, when and if you quit, they are well known not to honor the 2 weeks notice, will let you go on the spot. The work of the previous person is given to another individual w/o getting a proper turn over. They send out surge support from Mobile to set up, but leave you to manage the tools. If your job doesn't allow you enough time to develop the tools, how will you have time to manage them?

If you care about your job, there will be little opportunity to feel good about the work you do because there's a lack of foundation. You'll find yourself in many awkward positions w/ the customer. The only care they have is cash. They are desperate, almost gasping for air and have absolutely no shame for exploiting tactics that double charges the government. At the same time, be prepared for use of primitive tools - everyone has their own, proud little pet project of an Excel spreadsheet instead of an integrated database management system.

If you have integrity, good work ethics, understand quality and project management,
  more... this place will be a demoralising joke. If feeling good about what you do is important, walk away. I have very little positive things to say about Austal and I wish it weren't so. I'm out the first chance I get.  less
Pros
Cool ships
Cons
Poor culture, stressful, cut throat, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
A Class Structural Fitter/Stand-in supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALFebruary 22, 2018
The most mismanaged job I have ever had. A total lack of knowledge in the Supervisor and Foreman positions. Complete lack of care for employees and constant backstabbing between management and workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AUSTAL is a great company
Pipe Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALFebruary 14, 2018
Management could use some work. As a former management member I can assure you that the good ole boy system is alive and well inside of AUSTAL. Hopefully someone will change that culture soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mangement very poor
Test and Activation Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Mobile, AL 36602February 6, 2018
A bunch young kids trying to build ship. Do your job right and show up to work know one notice you. Be a kiss to your supervisor get what you want. Sorry supervision
Pros
done
Cons
Run By people do not know how build ship
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Logistics Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 31, 2018
Austal is a good place to began a career for those with a trade. It's not really tailored for Professional individuals. They really don't support education if its not for a trade. The pay is decent and the hours are solid. Also layoffs are not rampant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on your trade.....
Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 29, 2018
Experience here depended on your trade. As a safety officer, there isn't any room for advancement, the pay is significantly under industry standard, and you aren't given any actual authority. Other trades I spoke with on a daily basis enjoyed their opportunities.
Pros
Full benefits and paid time off.
Cons
No room for advancement. Underpaid. Lack of authority signifacantly brought down moral.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Career Opertunity
Safety Officer/Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 24, 2018
Austal is a great place to work, however, some of the management needs to be restructured. For a lot of people it can be a wonderful place. It does lack in advancement.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Austal
Fabricator/Welder (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 22, 2018
a great skill to learn as far as welding, the hot times of the year were the worst times due to the uniforms and the heat and being inside of a boat emclosed inside of aluminum.. the great job oppurtunity and trade to have
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 22, 2018
Great place to work. Great opportunities. Management needs improvement and quick to terminate. Very safe and can learn many trades if determined. Good pay.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Quick to terminate
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 11, 2018
It is a great place to work for somebody looking to learn a trade. It is a relaxed work environment which allows you to learn more. I left because I had been there for 3 years, and realized I would never be able to make the amount of money I desire to make.
Pros
Relaxed, Clean, and Good Benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report