Austin Powder Employee Reviews

Found 58 reviews matching the search See all 62 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shady place to work!
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Phillipsburg, PAOctober 15, 2019
They expect more than what they pay for! They ended fired the location manager then hired him back! Local manager wasnt in charge, lead blaster was and drank on the job as well as regional managers and when the managers got in trouble with the law, they covered it up!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was forced to quit and got called names.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Roseburg, ORSeptember 26, 2019
I was attacked on a company over night safety meeting by a coworker. When I told someone the next day what happened, I was told I lied. Everyone treated me differently and no one would talk to me. They all took his side and looked at me like I was chopped liver. I worked there for two years and I was sad to leave.
Pros
I loved my job as a clerk
Cons
I never got to use my CDL, I did location managers job, without the title because he was always gone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Drill Coordinator
Drill Operator (Former Employee) –  Martin, KYSeptember 13, 2019
They make u do illegal stuff and wen u do stuff tears up its ur fault... u run bad equipment and wen i got sick (Life threatening disease) was in the hospital for 2 weeks they were calling trying to make me come back to work befor i was even diagnosed, then after 2 weeks i come back against doctors orders and they had some one running my drill... so guess wat i was let go.
Pros
Money
Cons
Lay offs, cut throats
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Road driver (Former Employee) –  OhioSeptember 12, 2019
I worked for Austin for 5 years and during that time I was treated with all the respect and security and support a road driver needs and deserves. The wages are equivalent to industry standards. The insurance and vacation time, and I especially liked being home every weekend and occasionally thru the week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting industry
Detonating Cord Operator (Current Employee) –  McArthur, OHAugust 21, 2019
Close to home, good pay for the area. Not so much hard work at all. Technology has definitely made the job safer and less stressful. I actually have a job that I don’t mind getting up early in the morning to go to.
Pros
Breaks, 8 hour days, off by 2:30
Cons
Sometimes hot, stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management seems to change more often than I change socks.
Truck Driver/ Laborer (Former Employee) –  Roseburg, ORJune 3, 2019
They can't keep people working there, they constantly hire and they constantly quit. I was there 16 years and well liked by my fellow employees and the customers. My employment was terminated because the new location manager a wet behind the ears little weasel didn't like me, it had nothing to do with my job performance. Not a good management decision in my eyes. He was fired a couple months later for making some bad decisions on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much drama
Manager (Former Employee) –  Philipsburg, PAMay 18, 2019
Salesman and regional manager play games and lie and regional manager does not remember what he tells you to do salesman interfere in daily workings of job
Pros
Nice wages
Cons
People make up lies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local job
Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  McArthur, OHMarch 12, 2019
This is a job close to home, for the type of work the wages are very low, should have hazzard pay, vacation benefits are good, paid time off is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs management change.
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  McArthur, OHOctober 17, 2018
Would be a great place to work but would require change of current management and changing with the times. Company is about 20 years behind in technology. They have maintenance but not trained to work on PLC's on anything of technical nature.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Safety & Compliance Field Auditor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 15, 2018
APC was in a development stage. Management was only driven by sales. Only selected employees got promoted or fast tracked. Learned allot from my time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment and treats employees OK
Plant Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Midway, TNAugust 4, 2018
Have been allowed to attend approximately 10 training seminars and workshops since being there. Allowed to learn what I thought was needed and allowed to work independently
Pros
lots of freebies for employees
Cons
small company, not much room for promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fork Union, VAJune 23, 2018
Austin corporate only cares about the company and expects you to put the company first before family. They work you way to many hours and it’s hard to get time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
BLAST CREW MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Mt. Hope, WVJune 19, 2018
poorly managed bounce you around to different locations, long work hours 6 days a week being a contractor your blamed for everything, would not recommend
Pros
co workers
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all it was a good company
Class A CDL Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, TXMarch 20, 2018
we did somthing different every day.my job was a tractor trailer- and i wood pull a tanker, pneumatic or a dry box trailer to sites in lousiana,arkanas.when it was slow i wood help out on shot sevice.the hardest part of the job was summer heat.i enjoyed most was a level of independence.
Pros
independence
Cons
hot sun
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Truck Driver / Blast Crew (Current Employee) –  Kingsport, TNDecember 13, 2017
Austin Powder is a full time job that is very demanding career. It has very long hours and hours vary on time you report and time you leave based on work load and customer delivery location and how difficult the blast site goes that day. The work conditions are sometimes hard depending on weather conditions that day. The job pertains to more than just driving a truck its a lot of physical manual labor envolved also plus preventative maintenance on trucks too. Guess in short there really is no one job title to the work because of of all the steps in process. But they have been a good company to me and I have good benefits . I have really enjoyed the guys I have worked with. Its a shame its coming to an end.
Pros
Good wage ...good benefits... people to work with.
Cons
Long hours ......adverse weather conditions.....hard labor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work just not enough money per hour
Driver/Shot Loader, Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Chico, TXNovember 18, 2017
fun little muddy at times relaxed and great people around just not enough money manage is good and caring about his workers getting newer equipment laid back and real relaxed
Pros
weekends and holidays off benifits and great people to work with
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To Work
DRILL OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Hindman, KYNovember 7, 2017
Nice place to work and got paid well for operating the drill. I was laid off due to lack of work and the downfall of the coal industry. Overall it was a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviroment
General Laborer/lead (Former Employee) –  McArthur, OHOctober 24, 2017
Typical relaxed work environment but at the same time was very productive work environment for an explosive plant was pretty fair with the employees and supervisors were good to the employees
Pros
close to home
Cons
benefits and salery
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting industry with great coworkers.
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Hopkinton, MA, Bristol, CTAugust 22, 2017
Atypical work day consisted of calling on customers, preparing price quotes and scheduling the next days activities.
I learned that good service was more important than the lowest price.
Management was fair, easy to reach and supportive.
The culture was hard working, long hours and fun.
The hardest part of the job was keeping all of the customers happy in a very competitive environment.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the travel involved.
Pros
Sold a great service and products.
Cons
I had limited flexability in pricing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is ok
Blaster (Current Employee) –  WvAugust 4, 2017
The pay sucks. Have to pay for your benefits and then hope you can find a doctor to take the insurance. Truck drivers make almost as much as the certified blasters which is a slap in the face.
Pros
More family time
Cons
Pay, insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Austin Powder. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 62 reviews
515
419
310
27
111

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture