Auto-Owners Insurance Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 145 reviews
Ratings breakdown
539
447
337
214
18
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 145 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun anvironment and good company to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIAugust 14, 2018
Auto-Owners is a very good company that treats their employees with respect. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a job in insurance with a regional property casualty insurance company to consider Auto-Owners as a top choice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Regional Catastrophe Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 19, 2018
Manager was unfair. micro managed every single aspect of the job. Allowed for no variances, even when it did not affect to amount or quality of the work produced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school culture with poor pay
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  MissouriJuly 11, 2018
Be prepared to get paid low wages and be monitored very closely. Very little opportunity for advancement unless you are willing to move to Lansing, MI.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 4, 2018
I had to fight all the way thru that place for 22 years what a big let down let again and again micromanagement to intern that don't no anything about there job that has been handed to them
Pros
1hour
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a great company
Life Underwriting Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIJune 6, 2018
It can be a great company if you have the right leadership team working with you and for you to help you advance.

The hours are great and we do get Personal time, sick time, and vacation days. We also get retirement and a pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment Positive workplace
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Lake ELmo, MinnesotaJune 5, 2018
Everyone was very job focused and friendly. Very posititve in helping other succeed. Management was always available to answer questions with an open door policy. For me it was a new job all together, but I feel I covered a lot of ground and learned quite a bit just from my team. Teams of other departments were always very friendly and checking in on me as well to help me grow in the position I worked in.
Pros
Kind and helpful people, 1 hour lunch breaks.
Cons
Reviews only pertain to employees not temps.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay and very stressful.
Commercial Lines Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIMay 14, 2018
There is little to no support from management in the Appleton branch. Most difficult decisions that I have had to make were overridden by management to the benefit of the agency.
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
Low pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto-Owners
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIMay 9, 2018
Auto-Owners Insurance Company is a great place to work. Auto-Owners Insurance Company provides very good opportunities for employees within the company and people looking to join the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
FIELD CLAIM REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOMay 9, 2018
Good place to work. Claims and underwriting work together nicely. Large work spaces with activities to involve employees together. Great benefits and bonus opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting corporate culture
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMay 8, 2018
A solid company, writes business in lot of states, so being transferred is almost a given. There's a lot of training, but not much room for advancement. Strict chain of command and procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family company
Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIMarch 18, 2018
This is a great company to work for if you have a family. Stable employment, decent salary, excellent benefits. If looking for stable employment, I highly recommend Auto-Owners Insurance.
Pros
Benefits, profit sharing, stable employment
Cons
Insurance industry, limited advancement in certain departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure company
Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIFebruary 11, 2018
Very secure company to work for. Benefits include 401k, health care, dental and vision. You are given tasks to work on most days either through email or being asked.
Pros
Work 37.5 hrs per week
Cons
Parking lot is filling up
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging daily
Representative (Current Employee) –  Florence, SCFebruary 5, 2018
Auto-Owners and the claims industry is very challenging, both personally and professionally. Typical workday includes answer phone calls, returning messaging, investigating claims, and basically dealing with problems. Almost every single point-of-contact made as problem or issue they are looking to you to resolve. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you have helped somebody in need!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers' Compensation Claim Representative
Branch Claim Representative/Workers Compensation (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 30, 2018
Investigation and processing of work injury claims. Answering phone and making contact with the insured and worker that same day. Fast paced and constant changes of expectations from the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here
Guidewire Configuration Contractor (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 29, 2018
The company is to conservative!! They are not willing to work with you at all and you better be on time everyday rain, snow or shine. I highly recommend that you do not work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is pretty baby boomer generation like. Very traditional and old-fashioned corporatized company
CLAIMS ADJUSTER (Former Employee) –  ILJanuary 27, 2018
Pay could be higher. Industry is about 10 to 15 percent higher. Lots of stability and knowledgeable coworkers. Prepare to acquire a tremendous amount of work with the expectation of completing all of it while answering 45 phone calls a day.
Pros
1 hour lunch that isn't watched or clocked, Independent and flexibility to break at your desk whenever you want.
Cons
Pay isn't high. Company is too old fashioned and culture lacks diversity as far as minorities
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
administrative assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 23, 2018
I worked in processing doing data entry for auto insurance changes
I worked in the audit dept, i kept records for 7 different states.
I learned how the use the computer systems that helped make to job go alot faster
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place if you have a degree
Branch Clerk/Support (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COJanuary 17, 2018
It seems like a decent place to work if you have a degree. Those individuals are clearly valued and favored amongst the management. If you don't have a degree, good luck having a voice, a place and being treated as an equal. Also quite the boys club.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations for associates
Associate Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 16, 2018
welcoming work environment...at first
new, comfortable work stations
beautiful cafeteria with good selection of foods
lack of training and mentoring new comers
Pros
comfortable work environment
Cons
I'd rather not say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Awful
Commercial File Examiner (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 8, 2018
I wasted two years of my life working for this company. If you are type B and like just showing up for a paycheck then this might be ta good fit. You have to wait 10 years for a promotion. Again type B. Thats where the problems really start is there are people in positions based on tenure and not talent. The office politics are awful and people are generally miserable unless in management. The company holds the pension plan high and offers a lower salary. They do have good benefits. That is great if you are using them, not so great if your not. Horrible culture for personal growth. The company does not invest in their employees. They constantly lose the good talent and everyone that stays is who you will be working with. The people that just settle.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low Salary and or opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Auto-Owners Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight