Automobile Club of Southern California Employee Reviews

Showing all 381 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but low ethics and high sales goals
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaOctober 29, 2018
Full benefits. Great, competitive pay. Management is typical for a sales job - mostly incompetent and selfish. AAA is a great company if you know how to play their game. They have high goals but decline so much business. While they pay great when you do well, they make it very easy to lose the majority of your comission with their difficult to understand pay plan.
Pros
Great benefits and pay
Cons
Poor ethics and high goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable & Dependable
ERS AGENT (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAAugust 28, 2018
Call Center position, long hours, no down time between calls. Management is in and out but it's nice to go in and work and come out. Good Benefits and nice salary for starting. It is hard to get your foot in the door or to be given added training to enhance your position. Hard to take time off. Hours are not flexible, hardly any sick time or personal leave benefits which makes it hard to balance personal life.

Call Center is stressful and no time between calls.
Pros
dependable and good benefits
Cons
Non Flexible Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment at the beginning and then company began making changes on a regular basis and less compensation for the insurance agents
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CAOctober 5, 2018
I began working for AAA starting October 2007 and was in training for six months and officially became an insurance agent on April 1st 2008. As the years go by half of my businesses are through referrals due to additional add ons of insurance agents from five agents when I started to currently nine agents
Pros
Unlimited potential incomes
Cons
Too many agents in an office, change in reduction in compensation, uncompetitive insurance premiums in comparison to other insurance carriers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Universal Agent II (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJuly 28, 2018
AAA is a very good company to work for, if i had it my way i would have stayed but due to company needs and me being one of the top Customer service agents in my department, I was not given the time needed to care for my mom, so I had to make the hardest decision of my life to resign from the company.
Pros
Competitive Salary
Cons
Management is not always on the same page
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Insurance Agent Direct Sales (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 8, 2018
Great place to work if you handle your business, meaning, you conduct your self professionally & meet your goals ... sky is the limit. Managers are flexible and help you move to other areas fairly easy. Best of all the training here is absolutely the best. It’s tough but it is fun and you truly learn the sales process & it is lifelong. You never forget the training and you’re a better sales professional for going through it.
Pros
Many career options
Cons
Long hours can cut into work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Feelings
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 11, 2018
I've been in multiple departments and positions over the last few years and have very mixed feelings. Some departments are more lax while others can be overbearing. The culture is old school, but over the last year - management has made an effort to catch up with other companies. It's definitely a slow process. The company is very stable and will be around for years but your experience will depend greatly on what department and manager you report to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you want to be a robot this is the place for you
Emergency Roadside Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAOctober 4, 2018
you can take up to 90-100 calls a day of this same thing over and over sometimes. it was so repetitive. challenging when people had no idea where they were. your time on the phone is always being watched. when you log off the phone to go to the bathroom that is being watched as well. you have no control of the calls coming in. its easy one you learn the job which can take a good 3 months. management is constantly gossiping and talking about everyone. they get annoyed when you ask questions. you really dont get to know anybody there because you are constantly on the phone. i can see the same person for months and not even know their name. one thing i did enjoy about the job is the set schedule and you can bid for a better schedule if you keep your scores up, so adherence and referrals to approved repair shops count.
Pros
you get about 4 hours of vacation every pay period, so about every 15 days.
Cons
taking up to 100 calls per day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Member Service Representative IV (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 19, 2018
It offers good benefits to employees.

You have to be flexible and ready to roll with the changes.
Overall the company is becoming more focused on employee
satisfaction. The current CEO is doing a good job of making
employees feel appreciated. Keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to be a team player
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 7, 2018
Need excellent management skills, Team effort, good communication skills, problem solving and excellent opportunities to increase knowledge and get a raise.
Pros
Great incentives
Cons
Should have a night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, unrealistic goals, management disconnect
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Los Alamitos, CAMarch 13, 2018
I was with AAA as a sales agent for 11 years and the management, compensation, room for advancement and work/life balance has gotten worse and worse over the years to the point where it was seriously affecting my personal life and happiness
Pros
Compensation, sales summits
Cons
long hours, no life/work balance, management disconnect, unrealistic goals, threatening atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about Automobile Club of Southern California?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Costa MesaNovember 5, 2018
Great benefits. In house university for knowledge advancement. Great job placement. Highly recommend for student that are just graduating high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive, high goal expectations, complex compensation plan
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 20, 2018
Good job for anyone without a family and eager to make money with no time to spend it
Very competitive, high goal expectations, complex compensation plan
Pros
Great pay
Cons
No time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 21, 2018
They work you like there is no tomorrow. Agents steal other agents policies. The culture in the company lacks highly. There is no respect for anyone that works there, no support from management and it feels like they take only one person’s side of the story
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If sales is not your thing DO NOT work for AAA
Emergency Roadside Specialist (Former Employee) –  Long beachOctober 22, 2018
Every month you have to meet a certain sales goal even in emergency roadside. You can take all the tips they give you in training but ultimately you may not hit your goal. Turnover is extremely high and the long beach office management is so unprofessional. I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Pros
Free classic membership
Cons
Unprofessional management, stressful job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An average place to get stuck for life, so don't.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CAAugust 12, 2018
Company is just starting to understand employee engagement. In order to better attract and retain staff they are looking to hire people with heavy retail and sales experience. Why? Because not having to work on Sundays looks like a big advantage to them where professionals and many college grads look negatively on having to work every Saturday or at the least every other Saturday.

Branch employees are not scheduled for two days off in a row unless they use vacation time requested several months in advance.

It's a not-for-profit organization that for many years now has moved towards increasing profits first and customer service second. It's obvious to employees who've been here over 10 years and to many of our members. The top doesn't think so, but a majority of communications with employees is on selling "offering" new services that bring in additional revenue. During most in office, phone, mail, and email communications with members there is an offer to sell them something to increase revenue.

Unlike publicly traded companies and true non-profit organizations, AAA is not required to and doesn't publish executive salaries and bonuses, profit and loss statements, or share how their income is distributed and utilized. They do often tell potential recruits that they are debt free with over $6 billion in assets. The public, their members, their employees, and the state deserve more transparency on where all their revenue is going and if salaries are as lopsided at AAA as they are in many cooperations between the lowest salaries and benefits and the executive salaries,
  more... benefits, and bonuses.

Managers are often moved around a lot and are required to be able to work anywhere within 50 miles of where they live.
  less
Pros
Solid company, decent benefits, job security.
Cons
Working every other or every Saturday, Not getting two days off in a row, Worn out furniture, Break rooms where broken furniture from other parts of the office is put to rest, Most training and experience from AAA will not transfer to outside jobs/careers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work from start to retirement
Claims Service Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAApril 30, 2018
Great productive environment filled with professionals that love what they do. They encourage growth from within. Management at least tries to work at at keeping things professional and non confrontational unlike most companies.
Pros
Very laid back. No Micromanagement
Cons
Its so big trying to plan your career path takes alot of networking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activities for employers and good bonuses
Membership, Auto Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 12, 2018
Working in the call center was very time managed. I learned a lot about auto insurance that I never really knew which helps me now make better decisions for my own insurance. The one thing I enjoyed was how helpful my co-workers were to each other. The hardest part of the job was having to take incoming calls right after your last call, sometimes members made your job a little more difficult by the way they would speak to me over the phone. I wasn't given time to cool down and take breather I had to take the next call right away which was hard specially after having a bad experience with a previous customer.
Pros
401K, Full time, Medical, dental, vision insurance
Cons
Time managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership
Policy Management Group Specialist (Current Employee) –  Coppell, TXDecember 20, 2017
Came to Autoclub of Southern California with high hopes, but was let WAY down! Survived a cut-throat environment with extremely poor leadership! After one year in the policy Management Group dept, I rose to being stack ranked #1 in the whole department, and for certain months, at all three sites! The Site Manager and the current Dept Manager are vicious and play politics. If you are a performer, they will definitely seek to hold you back from career advancement. I would not recommend this job to my worst enemy. You feel like another number on the line each day you come to work. Corporate America sucks and this department shows you why!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Escondido, CAOctober 1, 2018
The best part about AAA was you do get paid the work put in. Commission was good and hitting goal as well as making sure accuracy was above 98% motivated you to keep making money. The only problem was there is zero work life balance. Even if you hit goal you were expected to keep selling. working 130 hours every two weeks was a norm.
Pros
great pay
Cons
no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
Policy Service Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 3, 2018
AAA is a very diverse workplace. It is a very stable employment opportunity. Everyday on the phone and experiencing many different types of phone calls. Hardest part of the job is having to deal with escalation calls.
Pros
Free lunches (sometimes), employee appreciation (receive gifts from the day or week)
Cons
Have to work hard for the best time schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Automobile Club of Southern California. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 381 reviews
5131
4107
382
225
136

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss