AutoNation Employee Reviews

Found 1,533 reviews matching the search See all 1,546 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
VIP/ Internet Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Sanford, FLNovember 11, 2018
Really cool place to work great team Environment. Very diverse group of individuals. Flexible hours. Very interesting group of customers that you get to work with and get to know their families are strange their weaknesses I am mostly learn new products.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
PRE-OWNED MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 11, 2018
I love the structure of corporate auto retailers. Great company. Did everything from technician to used car manager, service manager. As long as I was willing to grow they er willing to let me go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Parker, CONovember 9, 2018
Clock in and make calls and take ups. Usually star off with meetings in the mornings and set up out day. Making calls for and hour and waiting up front for ups.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
not enough help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AutoNation
Sales & Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WANovember 9, 2018
Sales & Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Bellevue, WA – November 9, 2018
Pros: Fun and when money comes it can come "Big"
Cons: Stressing no balance
Cool job but very stressing - money is not guaranty so you have to put many hours on the line.

No balance between work and life - you never go home.

If you make money you don't go since you are making money.

If you don't make money you stay because maybe deal is coming in.
Pros
Fun and when mony comes it can come "Big"
Cons
Stressing no balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uptight workers
Driver (Former Employee) –  Centennial, CONovember 9, 2018
Everyone is always in a funk late dispatching just wasn't the experience I thought it would be boss was very rude a lot of unprofessional workers no stabity
Pros
None
Cons
Very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Centennial, CONovember 9, 2018
It was not a bad job all and all just not for me
55 hour minimum schedule and it's you better be ther more.
Met some great folks , new life long friends
Pros
People
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good temp job
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Lewisville, TXNovember 8, 2018
Working for autonation was okay at best. I say okay because while working there, the management went from being relaxed to very cut-throat in a matter of years due to management shifting and people leaving the company for better employment.
Pros
Decent hours, great benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 7, 2018
Biggest complaint was healthcare was way overpricedI Also had a pretty bad general manager Promise me A finance position not to leave gave it to a receptionist but I did learn a lot
Pros
I had a good manager
Cons
I had a terrible GM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Appointment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 7, 2018
Autonation was a great place to work at. The environment was friendly and safe. The management was wonderful. The customers where great to work with and help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Full Time - Ecomm Sales (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 7, 2018
Very fast paced on the weekends, you have alot of time to work with customers in finding their needs. Management is good they guide you on how to close the deal and they always do an introduction of the dealership with every customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training!
Internet Manager & Vehicle Acquisition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 6, 2018
AutoNation offers some of the best training in the business. Hands down! I certainly enjoyed my time there. I was able to learn a lot in the business and it has helped me throughout my career thus far.
Pros
Training; Promote Within
Cons
corporate policies change quite often.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay
Aquisitions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Wesley Chapel, FLNovember 5, 2018
I was in sales and there is a potential to make a lot of money however you really wont have home life in sales with this job. When its slow or even busy you will be constantly tryig to gain more business and it can take over your life. I have 2 kids to raise and I feel I dont have a good balance of home and work life.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
work/home life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many "check the box" activities, no entreprenuerial spirit
Service Director (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 5, 2018
My experience has been lackluster. No training on policies and procedures. I was recruited based on extensive experience, but am not allowed to use methods and procedures that have generated tremendous results in the past. Cannot hold bad actors accountable in the shop. Maybe other locations are different, but this one is dysfuntional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Auto Detailer (Former Employee) –  Valencia, CANovember 5, 2018
Fast paced at some times. Amazing job and oppurtunities. The pay was more than suffice at the time and i enjoyed the job because it was a well managed work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Car Dealership Ever
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  USANovember 3, 2018
The company goal and expressed process is the best thing to happen to the car industry, EVER. If everything is being executed the way AutoNation wants it to be, it would be a GREAT car buying experience.
Pros
Free lunch every Saturady!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful nonstop work with limited advancement and raise opportunities
Automotive Detailer and Buffer (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 2, 2018
I worked there for a little over 2 years. I only got one raise during my time, but I was the hardest working employee in my department. I worked long hours and got a lot done. If I was ever out of work to do, I never hesitated to find other tasks to complete around the shop to stay busy. Overall, I was taken for granted and used for my productivity without fair compensation or even so much as an "attaboy." AutoNation is a terrible greed-driven, corporate-run slave factory.
Pros
Time and a half for every hour over 8 in a day, full benefits.
Cons
No advamcement, no raises, will work you until you're near death.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Internet Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 1, 2018
Best auto retailer company to work for. High potential for advancement and to earn a six figure yearly income. Business also provides the opportunity to work from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor.
Business Development Associate (Scheduler) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 31, 2018
They were so unorganized from start to finish, I was never properly trained. Management was very unprofessional. Everyone was always late, it would be a great company if everyone wasnt so lazy
Pros
Laid back
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place for advancement, terrible management, and the lack of business
LUBE TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Spokane Valley, WAOctober 29, 2018
I thought a luxury dealership would be a great place for a career as a Technician. I should have known this place was not up to par when they had us do odd jobs that were unrelated to the job. If you like being neglected as an employee, having a boss that can’t manage, and especially disregard for your safety.
Pros
Discount on auto parts
Cons
Upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process Process Process
Business Development Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Cerritos, CAOctober 28, 2018
Autonation is a great place to learn all the basics of Car sales. You have access to all the training you need and the ability to move up. Working hard is rewarded.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AutoNation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,547 reviews
5412
4380
3328
2185
1242

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss