AutoZone Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 6,818 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.8K
42.1K
31.8K
2640
1404
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 6,533 reviews matching the search See all 6,813 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Clermont, FL 34714May 21, 2018
Fun place to work at, especially if your in school and need to build some experience. Working for this company has been a blast. I would consider working for them again, but I would need reassurance of stability and a long term career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive place good friends
Autozoner (Former Employee) –  Vidor, TXMay 21, 2018
Busy I learned Auto Zone doesn't care like they used to about their customers because u cant help them like we use to they took the tools to help them
Pros
good experience meeting and greating
Cons
limited custromer services
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so good experience
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Walker, LAMay 21, 2018
I loved Autozone when i first started however, in the past few months my view changed. My current manager overlooked me as a manager and lied and told me i have to be able to drive to become a manger and that is when i turn 21. I am fully qualified to become a manager and I work beyond what is required of me. He also uses me and only me to distribute truck. and won't let me learn anything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto Zone
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILMay 21, 2018
I have nothing to say. I worked long hard hours and worked a lot of overtime for them.
I was out on Medical Leave and when I came back, I had no job to come back to!
Pros
If you weren't running parts, you had down time
Cons
Quit a few heavy parts to carry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dunlap, TNMay 21, 2018
Not bad, pay isn't great, benefits are alright, hours were not set and could change week to week day to day, the job it's self was enjoyable except for being pushed to sell unnecessary items to customers.
Pros
Enjoyable job
Cons
No set hours and being pushed to sell unnecessary items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and workers
HUB Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 21, 2018
I was a driver for the HUB on Summer Ave and loved working there. Great managers and great workers who trained me. I delivered parts in Arkansas and Tennessee and every store was very friendly.
Pros
Flexible hours, discounts
Cons
Low salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Hampton, GAMay 21, 2018
I walk into autozone from a bad experience with one of there competerors and loved the culture and the seriuosness the enviroment led to upward movement customer statsifaction. I started at the bottom and found myself running a store breifly as needed by district manger wanted me to push and grow with company getting ready for all the hard work an effort it takes to be sucessfull in a culture of profit and sharing education learning growth dependability accoutability to work on as I grew within.
Pros
Friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only for a single person
Part Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Rainbow, ALMay 21, 2018
do not like working for this company. wing shifts are not for me and my family, they pay is terrible for the role you play. turn over rates are very high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
PARTS DRIVER (Former Employee) –  St. Clair Shores, MIMay 21, 2018
I learned how to do a lot while working at autozone. I learned quite a bit about cars as well. I would reccomend this job to others. Working here is like one big family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good parts Job
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  El Mirage, AZMay 21, 2018
It wasn't a bad place to work, sometimes they understaff and expect you to pick up the pace which is ok if you have someone competent working with you. Can be a little too much for the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a place to work if you are honest and care about people
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Missouri City, MOMay 21, 2018
To many hours, not enough help for customers.
to low a pay for good help
expected for manager to work all non covered shifts
no work life balance , when asked managers just say
your in the wrong position for that program.
Pros
Good Friends, helping customers
Cons
no advancement, or work life balance little support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work sometimes
Parts Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, NCMay 20, 2018
AutoZone can be a great place to work but as of late, things that are supposed to be company policy do not apply to certain individuals. There has been a lot of employee turnover as of late, including upper management.
Pros
Parts discount
Cons
Never knowing what days and hours you will be working from week to week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA 95820May 20, 2018
I absolutely loved working for autozone. i was cashier at first, but they allowed me the oppportunity to advance to p[arts counter.
I was able to test starters,alternators, and car batterys. awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Commercial Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 20, 2018
ok place to work, discount isn't much, only 20 prevent off in stock parts, pay is minimal, easy job to perform, management can be good or bad depending on location. culture is big here, hardest part is dealing with irate customers/commercial accounts
Pros
hour lunch breaks
Cons
odd shifts and shifts can be cut short
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not as good as i anticipated
Parts Representative/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 19, 2018
I was told that I could have full time work when I started. after a few weeks of me not getting FT work, I asked my manager, and I was told unless youre management, which would take a good while to be, I wouldn't ever see 40hrs a week. I didn't like being lied to so shortly there after I quit and moved on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be okay there if everyone worked and not playing on there phones.
Commercial Driver (Current Employee) –  Zephyrhills, FLMay 19, 2018
To many cheifs and not enough Indians and they show favoritism towards certain people. The management and employees play on the phones all day and don't want to help the people that are working.
Pros
Discount
Cons
The people that work there are lazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture
Senior Systems engineer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 18, 2018
Good company to work with.It provides all the freedom to express views.10 days annual leave +401k + sick leave are under benefits.I approve the company culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Commercial Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Nazareth, PAMay 18, 2018
The fact that this company has been in business for over 40 years, is beyond me. Horrible company, horrible management, horrible product. Upper management doesn't care about the store level employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp or Underage Position Only
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXMay 18, 2018
Huge amount of luck involved in what manager you will work with. A good manager can make this retail position tolerable in the short term while a bad one will make your life terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Commercial Driver (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLMay 18, 2018
Logged in pick up part orders and deliver when not busy worked at do it yourself counter, pulling parts and putting away inventory. Management was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AutoZone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight