Avenue Stores Employee Reviews for Cashier/Sales

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 299 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and Trashy
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Chester, OHMay 23, 2018
The management style is horrible and there enough customers to keep all of the locations open. Sales associates only make $8.15 per hour and Assistant managers make $9.50. Some stores have been accused of doing drugs and prostituting in the backroom and others have major internal theft. My managers personally were always late to work and to open the store, so I would be left in the parking lot waiting or by the doors turning away customers.
Pros
Slow-paced work, empty most of the time, easy work
Cons
no scheduled breaks, poor management, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth it
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDJuly 22, 2017
on a typical day, as a cashier/sales rep, i don't even touch the register, terrible management, on a good day i get a sale or two. mainly works on shipment, and censoring. 1 day notice of work is not okay.
Pros
employee discount, 30 minute breaks
Cons
lack of communication, lack of notice for shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 19, 2017
Great company, ashame that the store closed. Good products and customers. Enjoyed helping customets with customer servicr. The company closed unfortunately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 28, 2017
management is horrible
the District manger is very rude and sassy
customers are very rude
very disorganize
too much drama
no space to have lunch
also a very lazy store manger
Pros
non
Cons
doesn't work around your schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Cashier and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 26, 2016
I enjoyed working with the customers and my fellow colleagues. This position was seasonal, but if given the opportunity, I would work with this employer again. My work environment was very nice and pleasant to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJFebruary 12, 2016
Busy happy customers. People who enjoy shopping. Small staff of employers for a small store. Different departments to choose from. The fashion is up to date. The material for the clothing is top of the line.
Pros
Long Lines
Cons
Long Lines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working there the nice customers always had interesting stories and the co-workers were very nice
sales associate/cashier (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJune 25, 2015
I learned how to use the register, how to handle myself with difficult customers, as well how to move fast enough when the store is busy,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, fast paced work place.
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2015
A typical day at the Avenue consist of attending to customers, operating cash registers, fitting rooms and maintaining our work area clean. I learned how to measure the appropriate way for customers whom aren't sure of their size. I also learned how to take proper caution for shoplifters which came in handy for other job opportunities later in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 6, 2015
A day at Avenue is not very eye opening. Yes, we help customers but besides that to me the manager are horrible. I learned what i needed to learn in order work there. As a part time employee i cant even reach 20 hours a week. Sometimes I only get scheduled to work once a week or two. My co-workers are okay besides one. She is a part time employee and she is pulling 30 hours a week and she gets to work day time hours while me an another employee has to work nights every time we work. There is a real enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
i have a job
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor overall quality
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitestone, NYMarch 20, 2015
*Poor store visual quality
*No job advancement from within (hired outside workers for managerial positions)
*No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avenue review
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dearborn, MIMarch 6, 2015
Avenue is a clothing store for plus size females. They are open only for 12 hours out of a day.management work almost 40 hours a week. Associates work almost 20 hours a week. Associates don't get any medical benefits or 401k.there aren't any hard part of the job. We ring customers up when they are ready for checking out. We ring up the customers for bill payments. And we also assist customers with the fitting room. Do general cleaning.
Pros
I able to work there to gain expierence
Cons
not getting enough hours, not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fashion forwerd experience
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  El Cerrito, CAJanuary 22, 2015
My passion is to dress plus sized women so that they can look and feel their best. At this job, I do just that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a clothing store for full figured woman.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 10, 2015
loved working @ this store for the clothing that I had to merchandise the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Cashier, Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Harrison Township, MIOctober 7, 2014
This is a great place of retail when learning more about the fundamentals of retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sales associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hickory, NCJuly 17, 2014
Good for a high school student to work, but no potential to move forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Avenue Stores reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Avenue Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 299 reviews
573
475
383
236
132

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture