Avenue Stores Employee Reviews

Found 277 reviews matching the search See all 299 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loyal to people and the business
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT MARKETING (Former Employee) –  Rochelle Park, NJJuly 9, 2018
excellence , all way had high marks.

i was a executive leader of the company ranked 3 in structure.
most enjoyable part was working and leading group of people in their career.
Pros
little turn over
Cons
small company tough to compete against competition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Associate (Current Employee) –  Holland, OHJuly 6, 2018
Open store, straighten clothes, assist customers, cash customers out, credit apps, magazine sales, minor cleaning, great people, great manager, overall nice atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the customers.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAJuly 2, 2018
I loved helping the customers decide what type of clothing and other products they loved to purchase.It was a good feeling knowing I had to be responsible for product control and shrinkage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job for retail
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Monterey Park, CAJune 28, 2018
The Avenue stores in my experience was a very great place to work if you're trying to earn some extra money or if it is not your main source of income. my manager fortunately was very excellent at what she did as well as being fair to every employee. The pay is one downside. Unfortunately if that was the reason I wanted the job I would not have stayed so long,But it gives you great experience. you will most likely not see manager position because all the girls in manager positions usually have been there for quite some time,7 years or more which I don't think I would plan my life on working at the Avenue. Or even 7 to 10 years at that matter.
Pros
Experience really shows you how to give great customer service and be patient.
Cons
The pay is pretty low for what is expected of you, Also Avenue credit is pushed way too hard on the girls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and Relaxing
Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJune 26, 2018
Avenue work atmosphere is an excellent environment worth experiencing when it comes to retail shopping. It is very laid-back relaxed but very detail oriented. It’s a clean,spacious, comfortable clothing store customers enjoy shopping at. As a sales Associate I believe this was one of my favorite jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAJune 24, 2018
Working at Avenue it was a casual atmosphere. The management pressured the sales associates to push credit cards and magazine subscriptions on customers.
Pros
Flexible schedule, employee discounts
Cons
Too much pressure to sell credit and magazines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part-time work
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, OHJune 24, 2018
You are treated like a human being and not just a number. At least half of the people have been there for 10 years or more. Is a perfect job for someone looking for some extra $. The full time positions are taken by people that have been there for a long time and they rarely come up. If you can get in full time, you have great benefits, 401k. As a part time employee, you get 2 weeks of vacation after 6 months. You get paid holidays after 90 days. Summers are slow and hours aren’t guaranteed. This place is really on the upswing for those that can wait out this summer.
Pros
Great people, management cares, paid holidays and vacation for part time
Cons
Hours aren’t guaranteed, low pay, could use a boost
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learing the experience of customer service
Clothing Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJune 17, 2018
Enjoyed working there as my first job enjoyed getting to meet new people. Learning to use customer service learning how to be organized and having our store look top notch.
Pros
Enjoyed spending time with co workers
Cons
Not having insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced & Enjoyable
Assistant Store Manager of Operations (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXMay 31, 2018
You learn a lot about fashion and proper organizational skills. Customer Service is at its best and you learn ways to assist a company with its goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and Trashy
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Chester, OHMay 23, 2018
The management style is horrible and there enough customers to keep all of the locations open. Sales associates only make $8.15 per hour and Assistant managers make $9.50. Some stores have been accused of doing drugs and prostituting in the backroom and others have major internal theft. My managers personally were always late to work and to open the store, so I would be left in the parking lot waiting or by the doors turning away customers.
Pros
Slow-paced work, empty most of the time, easy work
Cons
no scheduled breaks, poor management, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXMay 16, 2018
Avenue is a great job to work if you are needing the extra cash, very competitive though. Must know how to sale and interact with customers.It is a plus size store so you must be familiar with sizes, especially bra fitting. also you must know how to count money and able to do basic math.
Pros
very good paced work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAMay 14, 2018
The management team is very poor. They choose from their favorites as to who would get a raise or promotion. They have poor management skills. The upper managers don't care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and enjoyable workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 2, 2018
I started to work with this company as part. I really loved working at the store and enjoyed with my managers. This company was real good in working with associates in schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here only if you need extra money
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 25, 2018
Avenue was a decent place to work. The management of the whole operation however seemed to lack a lot of professionalism,no innovation, and very little career advancement. The typical work day was assisting our specialty clientele put together full ensembles to push more sales; merchandising; cleaning; and payment processing.. The only thing I learned from this job is no one can be trusted. There was a lot of drama and shady business going on... The workplace culture was stale and boring unless you brought your own ideas to the table and convinced others to get on board to feel like a team. The job was very easy..no hard parts at all. The most enjoyable part was simply chatting with the regulars you get to know and love.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and amazing store team
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAApril 4, 2018
the company lacks in certain areas and I was put in a couple poor situations but my experience working in the store, and with the employees i worked with were always amazing.
Pros
flexible scheduling, great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing and laid back atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLApril 2, 2018
Assist customers in selecting outfits, finding sizes, and offer fashion forward advice.
Assist with floor set execution; hang/fold shipment and put on sales floor according to floor set.
Greet customers and provide customer service; up sell customers to apply for a credit card or a magazine package.
Cashiering, money handling, deposit, and end of day procedures.
End of shift duties: vacuuming entire store, put away unwanted items from fitting rooms, clean mirrors, take out trash.

Store management was excellent. Store manager and assistant managers were awesome to work with and to support staff.

The hardest part of the job was trying to offer store credit card to customers because most of the customers were already regular customers who had the card already. Up-selling customers to receive a magazine package.

The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the new styles that were received and implementing them on the sales floor; meeting new people.
Pros
Flexible hours, excellent management, laid back atmosphere
Cons
Healthcare benefits not offered to non management employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chino Hills, CAMarch 29, 2018
love working for this store, provided me with an open schedule, employee discount is super nice. management works with your hours, very chill store not much hard work. most enjoyable part is being helpful and talkative with costumers.
Pros
discounts
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uneventful ,under valued and unappreciated
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2018
Highlight of the day was 1 on 1 interaction with the customer .Typical day processing shipment, several reminders about pushing credit and emails.2-2 coverage. Uneventful. Contest every week.

I learned how to manage people and become a better Manager by having better relationships with the staff.

the hardest part of the job was to tell faithful loyal staff that they were not getting pay raises.

The most enjoyable part of the job interacting with loyal customers.

poorly funded ,tedious ,non productive Fashion Shows.
Pros
discount although the customers benefited better with coupons
Cons
no room fno advancement, no pay raises in 3 years, does not value Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 27, 2018
Very enjoyable work environment. Great management. Nice discount for clothes and accessories. A typical day consisted of assisting shoppers locate clothing, arrange floor layout, and maintain an organized store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  United StatesMarch 25, 2018
There's not always anything to do. Some days there nothing and other days there is way too much to get done in one day. The polices need to be updated if anything their policies drive customers away. They are way too credit card and magazine oriented. You have to sell magazines if you work here.
Pros
Work Staff
Cons
Policies, No Hours, Micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Avenue Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 299 reviews
573
475
383
236
132

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture