Avenue Stores Employee Reviews

Found 277 reviews matching the search See all 299 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Distribution (Former Employee) –  OhioMarch 24, 2018
Avoid this place. The turnover rate is very high because the work load is high and the pay is low. They have had positions open for months because the pay doesn't match the work. Upper management is worthless and can't figure out the local competition pays about 3 dollars an hour more for the same work.
Pros
Merchandise discount
Cons
Pay, upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Manager, Assistant Manager, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rotterdam, NYMarch 20, 2018
a fair place to work many hours 45 a week . paid vacations and

sick time, long days 12hr days, money is ok, short staff lot to cover

a lone when you have a call out. running out of sizes (hot stock)

was in a low volume store.
Pros
money
Cons
45 hrs a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ballwin, MOMarch 18, 2018
Manager was vindictive and petty. The pay was low for my position. Promised career advancement opportunities and given none. Hostile work environment.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Manager (Current Employee) –  West chesterMarch 13, 2018
Avenue is a good place to work, I'm just looking for something more my style. I enjoy the atmosphere but i would like more from my job, then just a job
Pros
Pay
Cons
Not good trainig
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orange, NJMarch 9, 2018
I was the assistant manager for 2 years at a location that has closed however during my time there the store manager was very supportive, responsible and great collaboration amongst the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
chashier (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJMarch 1, 2018
i did not like working there but it was a job right out of high school. but the workers are ok. the shopper was rude. on your feet all day long .pay was bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 23, 2018
I got to meet new people everyday and help ladies with outfits and feel good about themselves. I received and process new merchandise. I balanced out cash registers daily and made bank deposits daily. I made work schedules and submitted payroll to corporate. I processed credit card payments and opened new accounts. I delegated work duties to the other staff and built displays for sales.
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work, hard, work your, best and make sure you treat customers with respect
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Inglewood, CAFebruary 14, 2018
I had fun at my job.
The management was very nice, but they expect you to do your job as expected.
And I did just that and more, I play close attention to training and detail.
And they were a nice respected place to work for. Productive place to work at, but, we just eat on our break and talk, once break was over, back to work,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  MDFebruary 9, 2018
this company is okay to work for if you still live at home with your parents and you don't have any bills to pay. a typical day at work helping customers, processing shipment, the hardest part of the job is accepting that they changed rules all the time, the company is not organized. They want you to do everything but for nothing in return.
Pros
Chill days at work
Cons
pay sucks, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Co Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Trenton, NJFebruary 9, 2018
Busy place to work
fun people to work with
relaxed professional environment
good place to work
close
local
rewarding working with people
customer service
Pros
flexible
Cons
on feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow Paced Work Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 8, 2018
Great job but the assistant manager encouraged laziness. Would limit your work so that others on later shifts had more to do. Would tell me to take breaks/sit instead of doing daily tasks.
Pros
Easy work environment.
Cons
Negative customer's, no challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible manager very sarcastic
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAFebruary 1, 2018
At the time it was only my second job so I was excited, I did learn a lot of new skills and how to talk and work with clientele, but the manager I worked for was very sarcastic, which irritated me and the pay was on lyrics 8$ at the time and I always closed. I did have some good times there but again one of my first jobs and low compensation.
Pros
Easy going clientel
Cons
Pay, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hard work.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJanuary 31, 2018
Lots of fun and lots of hard work. Used to run short staffed on a fairly regular basis. but that was a long time ago. Not sure how things are run now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Nanuet, NYJanuary 30, 2018
i enjoyed working at avenue for it being my first job. it was laid back and the employees were friendly. i became a key holder and opened the store with the manger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor environment and management
Part Time Manager (Current Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHJanuary 21, 2018
poor hours/ poor pay
hiring under flase pretense (not selling clothing, just pushing credit cards down peoples throats)
always under repremand for job quality and job security
always receiving loss of job threats
Pros
discount 41%
Cons
read review
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Require unrealistic financial results
CO-MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAJanuary 19, 2018
Competitive work environment, that at times can require you to achieve unreasonable results. Avenue does not look at the economic demographics when setting goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, Competitive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 17, 2018
Typical Day at Work- Helping Customers with Choosing Clothing and Accessories

What I Learned- Teamwork and Customer Service

Management- Very Involved & Very Present

Workplace Culture- Competitive yet Teamwork

Hardest Part of Job- Having Pressure to Open Company Cards

Enjoyable Part of the Job- Employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers, great customer service
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Gurnee, ILJanuary 15, 2018
I've been store manager for two years I've basically been in some form of management since I've been In retail, I'm a people person, awesome customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere but poor management and lack of upward mobility
undisclosed (Current Employee) –  Rochelle Park, NJJanuary 14, 2018
Pros:
Avenue is a good place to work as far as flexibility and atmosphere. They are great about working with your schedule if you have to pick up kids or have other responsibilities. Great for moms/parents.
The teams can be really nice and everyone is very pleasant and conversational.
The atmosphere is nice because it's very casual and comfortable.
Very patient with staff and very rarely fire based on poor performance.
Good paid time off; about 20 days to start.

Cons:
The company is not really doing well so there are always layoff risks. It is tough, if not impossible, to get a promotion and even if you do it doesn't usually come with a raise.
Managers can be catty and gossipy and there is no repercussion for bad interpersonal behavior.
They routinely hire from outside instead of promoting from within.
No bonus, some years you don't get a raise.
Added a new brand and created a bigger workload without adding staff.
Although the daytime is generally flexible, some jobs have tight deadlines that require work at night and from home.
Not much planning, lots of quick turnarounds without much thought or care as to the process that would create higher quality merchandise or better shopping experience. just a "get it done quick and cheap" attitude.
Pay seems to be better elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous Company with Ridiculously Priced Clothing and Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Evergreen Park, ILJanuary 13, 2018
If you see this job offer, run! I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy. The pay is terrible, there isn't any "up" to advance to and you are required to solicit materials to customers. You are also required to do housekeeping duties such as mopping, cleaning windows/mirrors, dusting, sweeping, vacuuming, changing light bulbs (which require ladder climbing), cleaning air vents, and the occasional MacGyver style fixing and rigging of broken furniture and store fixtures.
As far as work environment, it's a really messy, gossip-laden atmosphere that trails all the way up to the regional managers and tends to trickle back down and affect the daily operations of the stores.
Pros
Healthcare and PTO ( only if you're full-time mgmt)
Cons
Pay, Lack of Advancement, Solicitation Requirements
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Avenue Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 299 reviews
573
475
383
236
132

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture