Avis Budget Group Employee Reviews

Found 1,817 reviews matching the search See all 2,423 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MI 49525September 17, 2018
This is a highly paced job which entitles long hours and multi-tasking. The company does not work well with each individual office and did not give you the proper vehicles to work with the customer.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
company does not get customers what they requested
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Budget Rent-A-Car is a good company to work for.
Airport Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLSeptember 15, 2018
Budget Rent -A-Car is a good company to work for. In this position I learned about the different types of car insurance benefits and learned how to upsell clients.
Pros
Learned how to ask open-ended questions and guide conversations
Cons
At hte time, job location from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 14, 2018
i did various jobs while employed with them for 27 years. each job was a good and different challenge which i enjoyed. Management changed as needed and that was fine. enjoyed my time there.
Pros
large company with good benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relate to get things done and good things will happen
Hiker (Current Employee) –  Kenner, LASeptember 11, 2018
Smiles can go a long time ,the atmosphere is what you make of it .stay focused on the job conduct. Promotions are always there after a period of time with the company. Then you are free to apply for whatever is opening position is.the job isn't hard at all put your all in everything you do.its about getting it done.so many job positions there,there's no hard task because you will be shown how to do things
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days, unappreciated by coporate
Operational Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 11, 2018
Great for someone fresh out of college without a vehicle. Your first day you are given a company vehicle which includes free gas, insurance and tolls. Great incentive but trust me you WILL work for it. 50-60 hour work weeks, fluctuating schedules, no scheduled lunch breaks if you are a manager, 10-12 hour shifts at a time.
Pros
Free car
Cons
Poor work to life ratio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avis Budget was a good place to work
Operations Manager- Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 10, 2018
I wish I would have stayed. Dynamics changed when i couldn't focus on sales and customer service. Sometime there was more mature management needed. Otherwise it was a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay busy
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXSeptember 10, 2018
Helped wash cars by hand, constant walking. Fast pace environment.
customer oriented. great people to work with. from time to time we were short on trucks and cars, which made it difficult.
Cons
strict policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Rental Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Middletown, PASeptember 8, 2018
its ok, the first day I started it was a cool decent job to work at, after two years of working here, its a constant battle w customers and they're rudeness behavior towards the people behind the counter helping them out with rentals .
Pros
going home everyday and not have to worry about a rude person talikng to you1
Cons
customers that cannot comprehend anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work environment
Driver (Current Employee) –  Casper, WYSeptember 7, 2018
I would not work for Avis again as the hours were not consistent or available for change. Not a great place to try to make a little extra income. Not recommended for even part-time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a fun place to work.
Shuttler (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 6, 2018
It is a okay place to work for. Have to be ready for fast pace at times of seasons and slow times of seasons. Be prepared for weather changes as you are outside mostly. It's a decent company to work for.
Pros
making new friends and meeting interesting customers.
Cons
working outside mostly, come rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your location, their rules
AGENCY OPERATOR/ MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GASeptember 6, 2018
Busy seasons are hectic, you only get help from others in the company when you have been there a period of time. Not organized as far as fleet distribution.
Pros
Money as an operator is enjoyable
Cons
Pretty much doing work all by yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment
Senior Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJSeptember 6, 2018
I don't have much to say other than their a lot of work for them ahead. They need to focus on their people and work on increasing their wages for all departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpace
Detailer/Driver (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTSeptember 4, 2018
Great job to have while going to school. Flexible hours. Work goes by fast due to being super busy. Nice employee discount for all car rental wherever a Avis is located.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, stressful, no integrity!!!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 4, 2018
No integrity and support from the top (DM) means none from lower management!!
None of the managers are on the same page, unresponsive, unaware of employee schedule, no true concern about the customer or employee.
Extremely high turnover rate! The new hire training is a complete joke!
New hires are thrown into the boat, without a paddle. Older employees are expected to train new hires. Most are rude and embarrass new hires in front of customers and coworkers.

Good employees are mistreated and the bad ones get what they want.

If you are a person of integrity, do not apply!!
Pros
Meet people from all walks of life.
Cons
understaffed, poor mgmt, excessive customer complaints, poor pay, overworked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and easy going
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLSeptember 2, 2018
On a daily basis, working at Budget Rent a Car provided me the skills I need on how to deal with customers everyday at work and how to handle many situations while multitasking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 2, 2018
Sales, dispatch, returns, driving, cleaning, customer service, fast paced, up keep apperence, standing for long periods of time, working with a team, coming up with new styles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Accountant II (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAAugust 29, 2018
I have enjoyed working here. My coworkers are good. Flexible schedule. Works with appointments and things going on in personal life. The benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try your best
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAAugust 28, 2018
Everyday is a new challenge with the company just do your best and get as much out of it as you can . Good people but the pay is low but some places have a union to support you
Pros
Low hourly pay commision is high
Cons
Hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful but fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCAugust 27, 2018
I love this company because you meet people from all over the world because i was working in the Charleston International Airport, so you meet new people all the time.
Pros
always pot lucks
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace woes
Independent Agency Operator (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXAugust 27, 2018
The company made a easy job hard. They would accept/take the reservations but not be able to supply the vehicles needed. Either the vehicle was simply not available or they did not have the staff to move the vehicles needed.
The company had so many layoffs on the corporate employee side they did not have the staff to move cars or much less get them serviced and ready to move to the stores.
Many times the vehicles we did receive were needing service before they could be rented this left huge customer waits or a busted reservation altogether.
Pros
Some free time
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Avis Budget Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,423 reviews
5707
4735
3564
2205
1212

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

56out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Avis Budget Group.

Powered by Comparably