BAE Systems Employee Reviews

Found 2,763 reviews matching the search See all 3,436 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Electronic Technician II (Former Employee) –  Summerville, SC 29483March 20, 2019
I worked for BAE Systems for 4 years. They are a decent company but the biggest issue would be lack of adequate sick leave and vacation time. If you were sick it came out of your vacation time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Computer Systems administration, FSO/ISSM (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, NEMarch 19, 2019
The hardest part of the job was the workload while there. I would not have left if the situation were as it is now. When I was moved into the FSO position, I was expected to do that as well as the ISSM work. It was too much for one person to handle. Since I left, they separated the positions.
Pros
People were great to work with
Cons
Too many hours for the security folks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job based on economics. Incentive program based on safety productivity damage and and utilization.
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Anniston, ALMarch 19, 2019
Competitive job based on daily performance. Very dirty and not climate controlled. Management driven with safety and productivity. Job security depended on need of military vehicles.
Pros
Pay, incentives, hours, vacations
Cons
Dirty, job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MAMarch 19, 2019
hard working people, fun to work there get along great with co-workers, most enjoyable of the job was we all get along makes the day goes by faster, no one is above another
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2019
I enjoyed my role as an Administrative assistant immensely.
My manager was the best. She had confidence in me and helped me to become the best that I could be.
I had a variety of roles and I know that I excelled at them all.
Our workplace culture was to always appreciate the employees. We had picnics, breakfasts catered and holiday parties to name a few.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work, dealt with a diversified group of people and customers
Instructor/Technician (Former Employee) –  Sealy, TXMarch 18, 2019
Work with the military and civilian customers on a variety of equipment, and at numerous locations (even overseas) company lost its contract to a competitor, company went through a major work force down sizing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People that I work with we get along well.
Employee (Current Employee) –  Summerville, SCMarch 16, 2019
You're just a number, insurance sucks! They don't care for their employees, oh and no pay raises ever! They do contract work and won't even give you half of what the government gave them to pay you. Just find another company to work for.
Pros
Free lunch every once in a while
Cons
Too many to name
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are ultimately a number in a glorified sweatshop
optical beam technician (Former Employee) –  New HampshireMarch 15, 2019
management constantly lie and when shtf they always lay the blame on the worker " accepting responsibility" aka I blame you and accept responsibility.
Pros
benefits and pay
Cons
mmanagement, backstabbing people, favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of Charlotte's Best Places to Work
HUMAN RESOURCES GENERALIST (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 14, 2019
BAE Systems is named among one of the best companies that I have ever worked for hands-down. The awesome culture of the workplace, along with excellent management are worthy of more recognition than they have received.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 13, 2019
all great reviews on bae it was like home and more i learned a lot and taught a lot to i wish i was still there....................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
pipe welder (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 13, 2019
shipyard pipe welder/structural/is a very hard place to work lots of rules and hard places to get to for weld.over all i did like working there had a good boss and good insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Software arcitect Design and development
Sr. Pr. II software engineer (Current Employee) –  Nashua, NHMarch 12, 2019
Interesting IRAD's to work on. Provides opportunities for software architect design and development. Good benefits. IRAD;s occasionally requires identifying hardware.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is life after this place
Program Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Nashua, NHMarch 12, 2019
Difficult to get into the company due to all the nepotism. The company has 3 generations working there and it is commended. Promotion from within is only to favorites or LDP’s. They would rather hire from the outside than promote or move someone from within. Whatever you do, avoid Program control roles.
Pros
Name recognition
Cons
Pay is terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Field Service Technician II (Current Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAMarch 11, 2019
Need to be flexible on schedule, every day something changes for the group.
There are multiple locations so choose wisely.

Shipyard has different rules to other job sites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside
Electrician Helper (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 10, 2019
Outside working, weather conditions impact working-conditions, always working in groups, different working pace at different times of the year, always working.
Pros
Always working.
Cons
Weather Conditions Outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Loborer (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 8, 2019
Very detailed environment and takes care of the employees. You learn a lot from the management and senior employees which is awesome if you don't know something just ask!
Pros
Medical
Cons
The hot sun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing Environment with Poor Managerial decisions
Systems Administrator I (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 7, 2019
No chances for advancement. Management is turning their Tier 2 support back into Tier 1, when that was never their given intent or design. Particular management has also yelled at employees and generally been disagreeable. Very political and clique-y office, again making it difficult or impossible to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Service Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 6, 2019
Answering phone calls and troubleshooting issues all day.

Management is nice and friendly.

Scheduled lunches/breaks to always maintain people on the phones.

Clean and decently quiet working area.

Recognition for doing a good job.

Most enjoyable part for me is when fixing someone's issue saves their whole day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
3rd class docks person (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 3, 2019
Great place to learn and pick up new trades and advance yourself. Good pay with a pretty set schedule and always something different to look forward to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical large DoD contractor.
Principal Software Engineer/Section Lead (Former Employee) –  Burlington, MAMarch 2, 2019
BAE is a typical large DoD contractor. The job satisfaction is largely based on your direct management and that can vary from group to group. If you are self directed and like large companies it is a fine place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAE Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,437 reviews
51.1K
41.2K
3737
2196
1123

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP50%
In the Top 50% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at BAE Systems.

Powered by Comparably