Balfour Beatty Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt able to help out our soldiers which was very rewarding
Turns Inspector (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 18, 2018
Although there was much frustration, there was much satisfaction in trying to give the soldiers a decent, clean, well maintained place to live.

It was also very understaffed.
Pros
helping our service men and women
Cons
fragmented management style
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Goldsboro, NCJuly 17, 2018
Was OK as a contractor. I would work there again. I learned about Electric powered trains and hoe they are teted. I reccommend the Goldsboro location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Service Administrator for Military Academy (Former Employee) –  West Point, NYJune 30, 2018
Very stressful position, pressure to keep up quota, very poor management, everyone works based on fear for losing their jobs, compensation is laughable. Resident have a high sense of entitlement and are thankless for the work that is done, even disrespectful at times.
Pros
Nice location
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company with local leadership problems
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 27, 2018
This company is fun to work for. Most staff are kind and extremely helpful. The problems with this company stem from a lack of good leadership at the Project Management level as many of the PM's are not good at conflict resolution or proactive planning and lack many traits that are associated with good leaders.
Pros
Catered lunched frequently, abundance of available trainings
Cons
Poor division leadership, lagging in technology compared to other construction companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive payroll staff
Payroll Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 26, 2018
Typical work day 8 to 5.
overall good company
My job was in a department that was a crucial role of the company.
I enjoyed the location and comradarie with my peers.
Pros
Dog Days
Cons
Human Resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 20, 2018
Good company to work for pays for flight and give you small per diem will work with you on time off provide company vehicles to work and pay for gas .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
ASSISTANT PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 18, 2018
Balfour Beatty Southwest Division was a closely knit group of professional construction managers. The company compensated well for the long work days required by most projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bbc
Risk Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 16, 2018
Balfour was a great place to work and enjoyed every minute of it until my departure. They have a great leadership team in place to continue to drive the company to success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Accounts Payable Clerk (Contract) (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAJune 13, 2018
Balfour Beatty treats all of their employees well. They care about the safety of their employees as well as the environment around the job sites. The pay and benefits are pretty good and the company functions are a blast.
Pros
Great work-life balance, benefits, employee treatment
Cons
You may have to relocate for different job contracts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Resident Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Point, NYJune 13, 2018
This was the first time to work in property management. I feel the work as a military housing coordinator helped me to understand the families need for housing and take this to another position in the same field.
Pros
West Point, NY beautiful place to live
Cons
not having enough housing for all military personell
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Balfour Beatty?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn different skills
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 3, 2018
Learn about appliances, different HVAC units, people skills, customer service and over all Supervisor skills. Cross trained with warehouse manager, turn key manager and Facility manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active life style
Surveyor, Erosion Control (Former Employee) –  Milledgeville, GAMay 29, 2018
Large company, many opportunities available thru out the world if you career oriented. Company seeks to diversify any many construction
areas. Providing a means to make a living all over the world.
Pros
Company in multiple cities
Cons
no close main office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a very good company to work with
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 28, 2018
I was satisfied working with this company except having some favorite employees that management paid more attention to compared to evaluating employees work ethics and work skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wild place to be
Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lompoc, CAMay 9, 2018
I would just make sure the pool was cleaned and had the right chemicals in it everyday. Made sure everybody in the pool was okay. And I would basically run this place on my own until I closed the pool at night.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Residential Manager/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Hunter Army Airfield, GAMay 9, 2018
I really enjoyed my time there and wished that I could have continued but family reasons prevented that. I felt that the pay was comparable and good for the area.
Pros
worked with hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok at first
pile driver foreman (Former Employee) –  new bernMay 8, 2018
ok at first then its a if your not in the right crowd you wont move up. preach safety buy if it gets in the way of production don't ask don't tell. pay sucks if you are just starting in the field
Pros
some coworkers are great
Cons
short breaks no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYMay 8, 2018
Great work environment. Positive supportive co workers. Reliable hard work. Long hours good pay. A lot of travel set schedule on calls days. Good system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Fairburn, GAMay 7, 2018
Great company as well as great compensation for your experience, some small issues but on a scale og 1-10 I would give an 11, always enjoy the most of your opportunities
Pros
Compensations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary job doing Data Entry, bookkeeping and telephone work.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Groton, CTMay 5, 2018
This was a great place to be and I looked forward to going to work. I did data entry which included working with spread sheets, purchases and contract set-up/close out.
During a time when the Bookkeeper was out for a bit, I was able to work with reports and spread sheets, accounts payables and telephone support.
I really enjoyed this organization and if they had not been completing their job and closing down, I would still be there.
Pros
This was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was ok to work for.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXMay 3, 2018
Balfour Beatty was ok however the stress level was high maybe because it was contracted at Shepard Air Force Base. The hardest part was the fast pace.and age and condition of property.
Pros
Holidays off.
Cons
Being on call.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Balfour Beatty. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 673 reviews
5207
4219
3153
246
148

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.1

3.2Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight