Bally Total Fitness Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved initial job
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 15, 2018
When I first started at Bally's Total Fitness, which is no longer open, I was the front desk receptionist. I loved the interactions I had with the clients as soon as they came in.
Pros
People I worked with
Cons
Lost my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Head Trainer / Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIApril 8, 2018
Training clients, meeting sales quotas. Long hours but a great team environment. The mangagment was great. Good place learn and the members were fantastic.
Pros
Work/life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job with Variety of Skills Required
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 7, 2018
It was always a pleasure working at Bally's with a diverse group of managers at each location. The daily challenges with the facilities varied from repairing workout equipment to solving plumbing and electrical issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my Job Maintenance Lead
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 5, 2018
Best Job I EVER had!!!! My Supervisor as well as staff were professional as well as fun. Great atmosphere. What I would do to go back in time and have this great job again!! Makes me sad Miss everything about this place!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company closed
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 27, 2018
Bally Total Fitness failed to evolve, before it was to late. Expansion and over spending was the downfall of the company. An iron clad contract, a high turn- over rate, and the company's cost-cutting measures - which included the cut of the sales training program, sent the company into a downward spiral.
Pros
Closed
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
ADMININSTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAMarch 25, 2018
I love the work environment. the work was production, learned from more than one department. learned a lot of skills. the job also had a lot of perks and great benefits.
Pros
I loved the free lunches.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very confusing place to work in
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAMarch 25, 2018
This organization does not exist anymore. The company was going thru some transition and it was a very confusing period.

I was not in place long enough to give a detailed review of the company and the job
Pros
none
Cons
confusing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Medford, MAMarch 13, 2018
I enjoyed working at Bally Total Fitness. It was my first job as a fitness professional. I trained clients from of many different levels. The personal training programs really helped new trainers develop their skills.
Pros
Make your own hours
Cons
They are no longer in business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Energy and social environment.
Personal Trainer/ Retail Manager/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 23, 2018
This was a great job to discover me as a leader, learn to sell, and how to be of service to others. I was given the opportunity to work multiple positions and gain valuable skills that I'm still using to this day.
Pros
great environment and experience.
Cons
was not 24 hours, they got bought out by LA Fitness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Child Care Monitor (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYFebruary 20, 2018
The job was pretty easy. The children were brought to the child care room while the moms worked out in the gym. We had movies and toys for them to be occupied and just keep an eye on them.
Pros
easy work
Cons
boring after a while
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Porter (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJFebruary 15, 2018
I loved my experience to work for this company
Disapponted in the close
Hope to see Great Opportunity future
Will apply Soon
Everyone should use BALLY TOTAL FITNESS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate vs employees
Maintenace/Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORFebruary 11, 2018
This is a stepping stone job for many individuals. In most cases, the staff is very fun and cooperative. The hardest part of the job was keeping corporate happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Porter (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 4, 2018
Working at Bally's you had free access to working out in the gym. You worked at your own pace. Have an opportunity to meet people. A very comfortable atmosphere.
Pros
Free workouts
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable work environment.
PR Processor, PR Tax Acct. & Accountant (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAJanuary 30, 2018
I valued the opportunity to strengthen my administrative skills. There was always room for growth within the company and good organizational collaboration.
Pros
Room for growth within the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun workplace
Personal Trainer/Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CAJanuary 30, 2018
I really enjoyed working here. The manager was very good at his job and a very fun and exciting workplace. I would have loved to keep working here but the company was bought out by LA Fitness.
Pros
great people
Cons
they sold the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive
Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 29, 2018
Very competitive company. Hard work pays off when trying to make more money. If you put the time and effort into your job you will do very well with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paid well
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Revere, MAJanuary 24, 2018
good company with advancement opportunities. When they were open it was good. They could keep doors open. They filed for bankrupcy twice in my time with the company.
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
stress and work like balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Membership Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAJanuary 20, 2018
Unfortunately it closed. I was very happy working there. I met great friends and people. I had a lot of fun working there. Unfortunately, they closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tres anime
gestion transaction monétaire (Former Employee) –  New York StateJanuary 20, 2018
Une équipe très sportifs qui aident aux clientes a réaliser leurs buts.
Pros
acces a la salle gratuit
Cons
pas d'heures supplimentaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a legitimate career
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INJanuary 16, 2018
Bally Total Fitness shut down most of their clubs immediately following my departure. I was fortunate to leave when I did as many of my colleagues were left without a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bally Total Fitness. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 487 reviews
5160
4135
3115
244
133

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture