Banfield Pet Hospital
Happiness rating is 50 out of 100
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Banfield Pet Hospital Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.8Work-Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 2,540 reviews matching the searchSee all 2,551 reviews

Banfield Pet Hospital insights

Based on 1,070 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • General feeling of work happiness
Is this information useful?

Great job

Featured review

Banfield Pet Hospital selected this as a representative review
Good pay, Great benefits, wonderful people to work with in a very rewarding environment. Management was always helpful and encouraging. Everyone was willing to teach and give advice without making you feel badly about not knowing something. Downside, the job can be stressful and long hours. There is a big push to sell the wellness plans to everyone. That was the worst part for me, i do not enjoying selling. Overall it is a great job and worth it.

Pros

Co-workers, periodic free lunches, Ce, Great learning environment

Cons

Long hours, can be stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 15, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed working with us! We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Flexible Work Schedule

Offers a very flexible schedule & decent compensation, however, benefits are not the best. Management is a big JOKE! If you have any concerns or issues don't waste your time going to management/supervisors. They are NOT helpful and are not trustworthy. I would not go back & work for this company for anything in the world!

Pros

Flexible schedule

Cons

No breaks, very poor management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 6, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Dont bother

Banfield is a marketing department masquerading as a veterinary hospital. Their proprietary EMR software is a nightmare. They are more invested in selling "wellness" and the metrics thereof rather than providing pet care. If you make the mistake of drinking the orange kool aid here, don't stay for more than a year without a good reason.

Pros

Benefits

Cons

Literally everything else
Was this review helpful?

Overall great company but little pay raise

Managers did not care to much on the amount of pets seen in hospital, work load is a lot , three is not a great pay rate or raise, the love of pets and them staying healthy overall is the best portion of the job

Pros

Working with oets

Cons

Little pay raise
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 6, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Work Enviornment

The work environment here is horrible. They require you to do too much and compensate you for less. This is a company where the client is always right and the vet assistants fall short for every mistake made even if it wasn’t their fault. Employees work long hours, the company (stand alone hospital) rules are changing everyday. The clients are rude, violent, and very unreasonable and Banfield covers for them 24/7. All wrong doings are the CSC and Vet Assistants fault. Clients are very violent; throwing medications at employees, threatening employees, etc. and Banfield expects employees to smile and deescalate the situation and then still receive a write up in the end because the client was unsatisfied overall. I would not recommend this company to any family or friends. The wellness plans are a rip off and you still end up paying 100$+ for services by the end of your visit. Highly NOT recommended.

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 1, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Toxic work culture with poor management

This is the most toxic work environment to work at. No training was provided. I was thrown in without guidance. Management doesn’t care, they just care to have a body there to relieve hours for their head tech since she’s so “overworked.”
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 29, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Good company to start with, maybe not end with.

Great learning for new technicians. You see a lot of preventative care and a lot of repetitive illnesses. You can definitely hone in your skills. However, being corporate, there is a definite structure that is to be followed at all times without variation. Sometimes "cookie cutter medicine" is not the best for each patient.

Pros

Finally competitive wages

Cons

Short/no breaks, overworked, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 29, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

The worst

This is by far the worst company I have ever worked for. They had stated that they would pay out MY PTO on the next pay period well that never happened refused to give me my money and would not give me any person to get in touch with. Firing me on grounds they had no right to and the fact that they just wanted me out the door for not be vaccinated.

Pros

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 1, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Working in an industry that is pet focused is fun

I worked for Banfield for 9 years on the sales team. It's a wonderful company to work for and I would still be there but technology took over and there wasn't a need for my team any longer. I do recommend Banfield as a great place to work though.

Pros

Great industry

Cons

N/a
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 29, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed working with us! We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

No structure, stressful

Springfield location has to be one of the worst locations in the are to work at. The manager is awful.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 23, 2021
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com. -Banfield Pet Hospital

Decent start to career, time to move on

You learn basic skills here, but rarely see anything challenging. If you want to start your career here then it's a good place, but it gets repetitive.

Pros

1 hour lunches, Flexible schedule, Excellent benefits

Cons

Expected to sell Wellness Plans, even when it's not necessary
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Great Mission

A great mission contributes to a rewarding experience. Despite being so large, there is a consistent loyalty to the vision of the company and the principles of MARs Inc.

Pros

Innovative and Principled
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy working with us! Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of assistance; we're here to help! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Decent as a place to start in the field but not to stay

Terrible, terrible pay. Decent benefits and PTO, but not enough to make their wages livable. You'll be constantly over worked, under staffed, and underpaid. The VAs and VTs at our location are great and a close team, but management is constantly changing and the turnover rate is crazy high. The corporate side of things definitely make the focus more on numbers than anything else.

Pros

Pto, Floating Holiday Hours, Benefits

Cons

Low wages, high turnover rate, understaffed, overworked
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 22, 2021
We appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. To make sure your feedback is heard, we ask that you contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

Very fast paced work environment.

I would only recommend working here if you absolutely enjoy working with animals and with a team. Overall the work environment is very fast-paced since Banfield has a lot of clients since it is a chain veterinary clinic. Although times are difficult now with the COVID pandemic, the workplace has been a very good job to learn more about veterinary medicine.

Pros

great experience

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 15, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're thrilled to hear that you think we're heading in the right direction. Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of assistance; we're here to help! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Worst job ever

Coworkers were toxic, smoked all day long, complained about everything! Wellness plans not worth it for most animals imo. But god they push them down ur throat there. I just hated the clinic I was maybe somewhere else would have been better

Pros

Absolutely nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 17, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Good place to learn, doesn’t have great leadership

Banfield is a good place to get started in veterinary medicine. The location I work at is not currently under sufficient management and that makes the work environment very stressful. Also, employee health and safety does not seem to be a key concern for the company as a whole.

Pros

Great learning experience

Cons

Bad management, iffy pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 22, 2021
We thank you for making us aware of these issues. We would like to learn more and ask that you contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

Awful company

They only care about numbers. Will work their staff into the ground and to breaking points. Turn over is horrid. 5 cent raises a year. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT STAFF MEMBERS

Pros

Starter job?

Cons

Most everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 15, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Good entry level job.

There isn't any room for growth. The doctors and manager's show favoritism. The work/life balance is ideal. Workplace culture is sucks. I wouldn't recommend applying for this job unless you just want some entry level experience.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 9, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Not sure if my location is like this

I work the front desk, very busy with answering phone and checking in people. The only problem i feel we have is upper management is very distant with our associates. She always finds the negative and never says anything positive to boost the team. She has made my Practice Manger life miserable. It seems that the people I work with are only out for themselves and will through anyone under the bus.

Pros

Good benefits

Cons

Upper managerment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 9, 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. In order to connect you to the right resource and to ensure your experience is heard, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

low pay, awful clients

Each hospital is different, so management is iffy. I loved my hospital and the people I worked with, but the clients made going to work a nightmare. It would have been worth it if any of the staff was paid a living wage, but that just doesn't happen.

Pros

puppies

Cons

low pay
Was this review helpful?

Perfect if you don't have kids

Great place to work with good pay compared to private practice. Just no flexibility in scheduling. Be prepared to miss children's events and family things on the weekends. Benefits are great.

Pros

Training, Compensation, Benefits

Cons

working weekends and long shifts
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 8, 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. In order to connect you to the right resource and to ensure your experience is heard, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Banfield Pet Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 2,551 reviews
5
462
4
620
3
612
2
373
1
484

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.1
InHerSight Score
2.8Personal Development
3.8Career Opportunities
2.8Family Support
Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight
Powered byInHerSight

Compare Banfield Pet Hospital with

  • Companies
  • Banfield Pet Hospital
  • Employee Reviews