Banfield Pet Hospital
Happiness rating is 50 out of 100
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Banfield Pet Hospital Employee Reviews with Jobs

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
All

Ratings by category

2.8Work-Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 2,571 reviews

Banfield Pet Hospital insights

Based on 1,114 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • General feeling of work happiness

Great job

Featured review

Banfield Pet Hospital selected this as a representative review
Good pay, Great benefits, wonderful people to work with in a very rewarding environment. Management was always helpful and encouraging. Everyone was willing to teach and give advice without making you feel badly about not knowing something. Downside, the job can be stressful and long hours. There is a big push to sell the wellness plans to everyone. That was the worst part for me, i do not enjoying selling. Overall it is a great job and worth it.

Pros

Co-workers, periodic free lunches, Ce, Great learning environment

Cons

Long hours, can be stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

November 15, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed working with us! We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Great benefits and paid time off.

You get what you put into this position (and any position) and there is always room for growth. Hospitals can vary dramatically in culture, production, clientele as well as upper management. Business goals are generally unrealistic given the location and work/life balance can be difficult to obtain based on the boundaries you set.
Was this review helpful?

Stressful work environment, with no support.

You are way over worked and way underpaid for the amount of stress corporate give us. We are expected to meet reduculous numbers with no staff constant changes to management. There is no work life balance and no one seems to care.

Pros

Hour lunch.

Cons

Management, corporate, stress, pay is absolutely rediculous. There really is nothing really good about this company.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 20, 2022
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

No training and overworked

This company is a literal red flag. Do not make the mistake I did and partake in being employed here. You are under paid and over worked for the daily tasks you have to endure. Don’t even get me started on how horrible the management of the Madison,Tn facility is can’t imagine what others are like worldwide. They don’t train you so when you mess up they call little meetings with you and threaten your job instead of doing the right thing and properly training you on everyday task and small ones they don’t even mention to you. This place is very corporate run and you have to always have your own back bc no one else will in this work place very toxic!!! Run don’t apply.

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, management, pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 20, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Management reels you in with the false promise of a healthy work culture and open communication.

Pretend to care about the welfare of employees. Only plus was being able to customize my schedule. Pay was okay in comparison to other veterinary assistant jobs in my area.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 19, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Leave a review. Help people like you.

People rely on reviews to make better decisions. Help them out by rating your employer.

Think short term not long term

Where to begin, I think the company on a smaller scale is a great company what I mean by that is lower management. Not CFO’s, the CEO, COO or any of the field directors. I’m talking about location managers and below. First thing to know is if you don’t have great customer service or don’t like retail work it will be a hard adjustment. This is a corporation and they base everything on numbers regardless of what they say in their “Mission Statement” they as a company don’t care about pets only the money. It’s brutal honesty but true. The only ones who care are those of us actually in the hospitals doing the work (Doctors, RVT’s, VA’s and CSC’s). You have to hit a certain percentage for sign ups on our “wellness plans” or you get talked down to during your annual review. I never caved and it cost me. I was there strictly for the animals and because of my love for my co workers. Finally after 6 years I am leaving and have hit a wall with them. Now you have to remember this is a corporation and with that means competitive and better pay as well as sick days and holidays. Medical and Dental is laughable though but they do match on 401k. This job is best suited for 18-24 year olds just trying to start out. The amount of turnover is just insane and they still do nothing to change it. My advice is stay for the animals and money until it’s too much and then find something better.

Pros

Benefits, better pay, good vacation amount

Cons

Lack of care from the company, unreasonable standards and lack of care for animals
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Flexible schedule and manager is supportive

Very supportive team and manager who helps cover when people are not able to come in. Usually a four day work week and scheduled can be done allowing time with family and i thought the culture and work environment was not stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 12, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed working with us! We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Not a place I want to work again in my life

Team, Love for the Pets, Horrible Management, Numbers/Metrics/Income over Pet's health and customer service. management don't care about staff and Doctors

Pros

Large company so good Benefits

Cons

Management, Life Balance, Lack of respect for staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

If you want to participate in quality medicine and feel valued avoid

The techs are mostly underskilled and Dr are over worked and underskilled. It's all about what your selling to clients they don't care about pets or owner care.

Pros

Decent pay

Cons

Over worked and undervalued
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 6, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Great place to work! Management is very good and supportive.

I love working here! The people are great at my location and my manager is very supportive. You learn something new every day and the pets that come in are fun to work with.

Pros

Company culture, flexibility

Cons

Sometimes upper management is a bit disengaged.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with us! Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of assistance; we're here to help! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Flexible schedule.

It was a decent experience. I was grateful for the flexible schedule. Management did not help me reach my goals. I feel this needed improvement. Pay was okay.

Pros

Flexible schedule

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Unwelcoming. Horrible training and customer service. Rude doctors

Horiible overall experience. Unprofessional training experience. Low pay rate. Bad customer service (we were told to ignore ringing phone lines). VERY rude doctors. No management. Unsanitary working conditions.

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 5, 2022
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

Company sets employees up to fail with policies

Avoid at all cost. The company was only concerned with getting more new clients to sign up for the wellness plans. They would leave open space to be filled by new pets but we could never get in pet who were already signed u for wellness plans
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Corporate will always ruin things.

We were a family, most locations are like that. However with no in room appointments we saw more pets. They wanted more, more, more. We were burning out. They tore apart how great the place was, because your just a number there. Not enough staff to safely do the job.

Pros

Free scrubs

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 3, 2022
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

overall, it is the best place if you love animals.

So far it has been good. I have learned a lot of things. Hopefully, I will be learning more in the coming seasons. I have seen things going on smoothly and everybody is very cooperative.

Pros

team spirit

Cons

break time is unpaid
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoy working with us! Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of assistance; we're here to help! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Great with pets and clients

Atmosphere at my practice was good. Pay didn’t match up for everything I had to do though. Always busted my rump but only got ¢.12 for a raise. That didn’t make me feel valued enough to want to stay...

Pros

Free wellness plan for dog and puppy

Cons

The pay sucked… competitive market, constantly yelled at for no openings
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

January 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Ok place

Pretty competitive, a few employees I think that they are better than everyone else, kind of flexible with scheduling. Can’t work there anymore though

Pros

Great pay, the animals, available hours

Cons

Employees thinking they’re better than you, doesn’t take mental health into consideration like they say they do, favorites
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 30, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Your experience will vary depending on your location

I worked in at least 7 locations in Miami and absolutely loved it. I felt that my opinion mattered and that I made a difference to my team, patients and the mission of the company. This is a high-stress job and requires for you to be quick in your toes. Depending on your location, call-outs are common. I started the Gainesville location in 2020 and was excited to interact in a new team as I have previously found it to be a positive experience to learn and help others with my own knowledge and found that this location has very poor work culture. I went from being excited to work everyday and wanting to help the company grow to jumping at any chance to leave early and work as little as possible (just enough to cover bills).

Pros

PTO Floating Holiday Hours 401k Decent pay (depending on location)

Cons

High stress Overbooking Call-outs
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 29, 2021
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

a LOT of phone calls

It's really stressful. I was hired as a PCA a couple of months ago and there really isn't a training period, it's a learn as you go which isn't the worst thing but it does mean that you end up asking A TON of questions. Majority of my coworkers are really cool about answering everything but it is a little frustrating just to be expected to know how to do everything right away. At my location PCA's, CSC's, and VA's all work 10-11 hour days but luckily my manager is lovely and is nice about needing to leave early for appts and things like that when needed. The clients are the worst part of the job, I've been yelled at on the phone a couple of times so you definitely have to learn to let things go in one ear and out the other which is a big struggle. There are also always phone calls to do. I'm not a CSC and I still get roped into doing them. Also the phone is just always ringing and someone has to answer it. Overall though it definitely could be worse. Everyone I work with genuinely loves the animals and wants what's best for them :)

Pros

Free lunches/snacks

Cons

Long shifts, lots of phone calls
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 27, 2021
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. To ensure your concerns are directed to the right resource to better understand your experience, please contact the AR Service Center at arservicecenter@banfield.com.

Can be a fun and educational place to work at BUT

Stressful most of the time. Goodluck if you're a CVT. They will schedule you 8+ tech appointments with no supporting staff to help you look at your patients. Decent working environment but lots of gossip from management. A lot of favoritism went on. Very understaffed hospital and they try to see 40+ pets a day. Already my second month in and I feel like I've learned a lot on my own just by watching other people. No one really trained me thoroughly. There is no proper training here. Although I did learn more here than I did at this other clinic, it was at the cost of making constant mistakes and people there making you feel bad. You do constantly stay busy, but most of the time you're working under a lot of stress and you rarely get to take a lunch. But overall, it can be a decent working environment when they don't overschedule.

Pros

Free lunches (sometimes), good benefits

Cons

Overworked, not enough training, low pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 27, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review! We're sorry to hear that some aspects of working with us were not a good fit. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Great place to work at

Love working here. Management is great. The hours are great . My pets are well taken care of medical and mental care benefits are great! Really love it here.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Banfield Pet Hospital

December 20, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're elated to hear that you enjoy working with us and our pet-friendly perks. Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of assistance; we're here to help! -Banfield Pet Hospital

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Banfield Pet Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 2,571 reviews
5
464
4
625
3
616
2
375
1
491

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture

Women's ratings

4.3Fairygodboss Score

90%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

83%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by  Fairygodboss

Compare Banfield Pet Hospital with

Learn about Banfield Pet Hospital in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Banfield Pet Hospital
  • Employee Reviews