Bankers Life Employee Reviews

Found 1,332 reviews matching the search See all 1,334 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and driven people to work with!
Unit Field Trainer (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOJanuary 14, 2019
I enjoy coming into the office and working with such great people and team. They are helpful, fun and positive! In the beginning you question putting your all into it since it's commission based, maybe even after 3 months your are still questioning it. But there will be a point where you just catch on and it becomes second nature. Helping people and literally changing lives through insurance products is what is the most enjoyable thing. Incentives, bonus programs and so much more is included in start up so I felt confident in the company and I am so glad I remained loyal.
You learn how to reach out to people through prospecting, who need your help with retirement, and the company specializes with retirement as a whole so what we provide for clients is valuable in protecting their assets . You learn products and how they will benefit the client in different scenarios.

Hardest part: The first year; questioning if this was were I wanted to be or if I could do this. This is not a job for someone with low drive or negative attitude!
Pros
Training, Culture, Events
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pyramid scheme
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, MEJanuary 13, 2019
Run while you can, good old boys mentality and lots of favoritism. Take most all of your commissionand shun you if you have to leave to find other work HIGH turnover rates and very unprofessional. Great to clients horrible to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management. Positive Culture. Winning team and unlimited potential.
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Edina, MNJanuary 12, 2019
I'm not remotely the best agent we have, but I can't believe that I'm seeing some negative reviews. It's simple, if you show up and do your job you'll succeed, if you are absent often and make constant excuses you will likely fail. Succeeding means making six figures in around three years or sooner and working 35-45 hours/week or less in doing so, Yes really. Which is of course way more for working way less in all my previous jobs.
We have two typical days, office days(2) and field days(3). Training in the morning, then calling for appointments, lunch and then more training and finish the day getting booked up with more appointments. Field days are 9-5 and you just have to be active instead of faking a work day and sitting at home! We partner up so that it's always easier to work more reliably since you're not alone. Find good partners and be a good partner yourself. Go above and beyond a little bit when you are are learning and then find the work-life balance you want to have. Go on and chase down being a top agent making hundreds of thousands a year or settle in to a 25-35hr workweek but still make six-figures. No BS.
Anyone on here complaining or blaming someone other than them self for failing is crazy. There's nothing more the managers or veteran agents or company could do to make this career more possibly successful other than they already do. Be at the training, read the training materials, watch the training videos, practice, do your job....on top of others always willing to help, always.
Pros
Commissions, Renewals, Bonuses, Prizes, Trips, Medical, Deferred Comnpensation
Cons
Need to be self-motivated, Learning to prospect can be challenging, Staying positive in spite of ups and downs, Learning to ask others for help
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You’ll spend lots of money to start working and it takes forever to get paid
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 10, 2019
I wouldn’t recommend this place at all. All the other reviews are spot on. They make you spend lots of money for training and certifications. Takes forever to be able to sell anything due to so many things. Training doesn’t help you at all. They throw you out there and want you out late going door to door and cold calling. All commission.
Pros
None
Cons
Waste of time and money. Only commission.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies from the start
Interview (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSJanuary 10, 2019
Went to interview and I specifically asked if this was one of those group meetings shams like this tend to do. “Oh no you’re meeting with the manager!”, I was told. Lies. I walked into a group of about 12. Who knows how many else came in after that. Starting a relationship with lies is not my thing especially in a work setting. I warn you to stay away from this one unless you enjoy being lied to your face.
Pros
None
Cons
Lies, no salary, Cold calls., You sell your soul
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy and fun place to work.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJanuary 9, 2019
A typical day would be making cold calls for the first two hours and then out of the office at appointments the rest of the day. Management was very friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrepreneur and career driven is perfect combo for Bankers Life
Insurance Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 8, 2019
Monday and Thursday long office days that include training, call time/prospecting and office admin work. Saturday mornings if you are motivated to work a few hours in the morning to get ahead and booked for the week.

I enjoyed being around the veteran managers and agents, it gave me insight to their business best practices and how to manage the long term residuals and potential income you can make, while helping families.

The hardest part is staying on task, sometimes other agents are distracting.

There is a lot of opportunity to move into a manager Unit Field Manager position with 4-6 mos depending on production.
Licensing fees with Bankers is only $209 and Initial training is only 3 days unpaid, during those 3 days you are booking appointments to run and once direct deposit is set up you are paid commissions weekly through AIM system.
I found starting with medicare supplements and life insurance and mastering those products gave me a base of knowledge to build from.
Pros
quarterly bonus incentive, agent benefit bucks, agent referral program and team environment
Cons
first year means you have to be all in and put in the work, residual income is after the 1 year agent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 8, 2019
Very Cut Throat. No sallary comission only insurance agent. Made very little but learned alot about prospecting and referrals! ;-) And made a few friends along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJanuary 6, 2019
Great for anyone looking to get some sales experience under their belt. Great working environment. The managers are great. Great opportunity to earn a lot of money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete waste of time for no compensation
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Boone, NCJanuary 4, 2019
This company will make you pay for classes and tests out of your own pocket promising you 40k salary if you do well, when in reality you can make 600 phone calls a day after making near perfect scores on tests & learning materials & still end up with no paycheck at all. On top of this you use your own car & gas to drive all over the state, still with no compensation. This company is an absolute scam & i'm still financially recovering more than 6 months after leaving this terrible business.
Pros
None.
Cons
No pay, bad people, no resources given to you
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified work load
Operations Manager, Annuity Operations (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 4, 2019
I have worked at Bankers Life Insurance Company for 25 years. I have worked every aspect of the job from mail room to customer service up to management. Bankers Life offers a diversified work load. Associates are cross-trained and are able to cover for someone who is out of the office.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe the hype.....
Insurance Agent/Producer (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCDecember 30, 2018
If you are looking to pay for all of your required courses, training and licensing costs out-of-pocket; work 40-50+ hours a week as basically a telemarketer with a glorified job title for little to no pay; use your own vehicle, cell phone, laptop and gas with no compensation; are completely comfortable going to complete strangers homes, in sometimes questionable areas, by yourself; and do all of this under the direction of horrible management, then Bankers Life is for you. If not, RUN! The only way to make money with this company is if you are perfectly willing to throw your morals out the window, have an abundance of patience, and pocket money to get started with and live off of for at least 6-12 months or more. Even then, this company offers little to no benefits and absolutely no security. I also found this company not to be very family/kid friendly. I was basically asked to put this job before my family. Nobody comes before my family. Rant over....
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Out-of-pocket startup costs, commission based only, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked meeting with clients
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Forest Hills, PADecember 28, 2018
The most challenging part of the job was getting appointments with prospects. The people that could use the products the most couldn't afford them and the people that could afford the products weren't interested.
Pros
set your own hours
Cons
hard to get appointments and keep them
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research before you join
Agent (Current Employee) –  West VirginiaDecember 26, 2018
It's a fun place to work with decent people who are easy to get along with. Unless you have a large warm market or are really good at convincing people into things you will likely struggle at this position. It is full commission so it's great if you make sales, but b aware if you hit a time where you don't get any sales you will not make any money. Be prepared to make cold calls and get cursed and yelled at on a regular basis. 90% of this position is making cold calls to be yelled at for bothering people. You should seriously think about it before starting in this career field.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Comission only
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MODecember 25, 2018
Terrible place to work. Promised all this training and never received any other than some lesson on my computer. Has to work long days for little money. Hard to start when your broke.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance salesman
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OK 74133December 21, 2018
Bankers is a great place to start as an insurance sales person. They have great training but I hated to cold calling to reach clients. Multiple sales had to be made weekly to keep income coming in. Bankers gave little legitimate assistance in getting leads.

If you love cold calling, great place to work.
Pros
fast pace, great training
Cons
low commission, old calling
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Insurance agent (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VADecember 21, 2018
If you did not sell you didn't get paid. You felt like you had to grind always but at the end of the day not a lot of results. You could have a great month, but the next month you didn't sell anything
Pros
Nice checks
Cons
you had to hound people to buy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Culture needs improvement
QA Specialist (Current Employee) –  Carmel, INDecember 18, 2018
Over here they do not really promote based on merit. You will need to be friends with someone or willing to do dirty work for advancement. I have been with the company for five years, willing to learn and help anyway I can to meet goals but not once did a promotion came my way. In the other hand others that have been here for less have promoted.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work!
LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 14, 2018
If you like to be robbed of your life AND YOUR MONEY, then come work here!! Thank God they fired the managers I had while I was there!! THEY WERE CROOKS!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
commission only
Life Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  University Place, WADecember 13, 2018
Was not properly trained, and just thrown on the phones with a script, and my trainer was moving, didn't book anything, just had me help her move and organize, and touch base with existing customers. drained my bank account.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bankers Life. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 1,334 reviews
5264
4252
3302
2206
1310

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight