Bankers Life Employee Reviews

Found 1,160 reviews matching the search See all 1,162 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Swansea, ILJuly 21, 2018
lots of training provided, they focus heavily on training. Spend a couple days a week on phone trying to set appointments, with a couple training meetings those days as well, rest of week spent visiting customers, tough to make enough sales to make a good living.
Cons
commission only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours for little pay
Licensed Life Insurance Agent/Medicare Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 21, 2018
This is a commission based only company. You work long hours, 7 days a week,trying to convince people to buy insurance products that don't always fit their needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help people everyday!
Sales Producer (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAJuly 21, 2018
I love that every day I get to put people in a better spot. Bankers Life allows me to sell based on relationships. Great products, great company and I love the people I work with. Everyone works together yet we compete for prizes. Love the training and management. You get out of it what you put in.
Pros
Earn what you are worth
Cons
Not for everyone. It is hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Fun
Agent Trainer (Current Employee) –  Kettering, OHJuly 19, 2018
You can't be afraid of the phone because that is the backbone of your office day so you have people to go see the other 3 days a week. If you are actually a motivated person and are willing to put in at least 45 hours a week you will have many opportunities to be successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always pushing
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJuly 19, 2018
Must be independently and intrinsically motivated and able to handle a bunch of 'no's' inbetween all the 'yes''

Staying productive and active setting appointments staying organized handling objections is a must.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 17, 2018
Working at Banker's Life allows you to have a new experience every day, from the clients you meet to the fellow employees you work with, every day is new.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not contact with them!
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 17, 2018
Horrible company to work for. They do not care about you. They only care about bodies peddling their insurance products. Compensation is commission based and with poor business practices from the company you can easily have your paycheck taken over something you had no control in. You get the bad end of the stick in the whole contract. They are a deceptive company and do a lot of things behind your back. You may receive a bill from the company after you have left. You are hired as a 1099 independent contractor but you are treated as an employee that can be dropped anytime.
Pros
Flexible hours, has decent training if you seek it, can pay well.
Cons
Poor management, poor business practices from the company, poor contract for agent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many expenses
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 16, 2018
Bankers would have you pay you 1/3 to 1/2 commissions per sale. You needed to pay of the use of the office. They would not let you do a sale by yourself. No sales support.
Pros
time off
Cons
No insurance, no expense money, all commissions and expenses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was on commission pay only.
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 16, 2018
If you didn't sell any insurance you did not make any money.If you were not good in sells it was a very difficult career. The management team very friendly enough and knowledgeable.
Pros
A lot of great training
Cons
Didn't make any money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be informed
Medicare, LTC, FIA's Life and Health Agent (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 16, 2018
Great profession for a very entrepreneurial spirit. It takes time to become seasoned. Must recognize it does not occur overnight. But once it does, can be lucrative. Unfortunately be prepared to be micro managed, accountable for every minute and personally be driven, committed and consistent.

Not a job for everybody but can be very rewarding. If you like helping people that not always want to be helped but you know you can leave them in a better place than when you met them. This is great!
Pros
Your decision
Cons
Tough industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people their were fantastic, the work and pay was horrible
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 16, 2018
the management and training were amazing but the pay and work process was just hard and didn't work well for the area we were living in do to outside knocking on doors for customers.
Pros
good people and good pay
Cons
selling theproduct andthe process to do so
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent with Bankers Life & Casualty
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJuly 15, 2018
A typical day involved making appointments and driving to meet with prospective clients. One could work more than an 8 hour day.I learned that selling life and health products is very competitive. Management was focused on office sales goals.The workplace culture was very competitive. The hardest part of the job was making appointments and pre qualifying potential customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning from some experienced sales agents.
Pros
flexible time, office space available
Cons
very competitive field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't get paid
CORPORATE RECRUITER (Former Employee) –  SCJuly 12, 2018
Did not get good training. I was suppose to get certain bonuses for my performance and numbers that went to my manager, then she did not give to me. Shorted paychecks every week.
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pyramid Scheme
Unpaid Volunteer (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJuly 12, 2018
If you enjoy long hours with little to no pay this is the job for you. They give pipe dreams of making gobs and gobs of cash, but really you better worry about paying your utility bill. Seniors are too senile to change their stuff, most are broker than D. You become a product of your own environment, visit 15 broke people a week, therefore you are. Very few people are successful in this industry and Bankers seems to stack the chips up against you.
Pros
Dont have to work
Cons
Going into old trashy people's houses, for free
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolute waste of time
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIJuly 9, 2018
do not even begin to waste your time on this company. you put more money into it then you will make. if i could give negative stars i would. i put over 300$ into tests, gas and book materials before even making a single dollar. they promise a guarenteed rate of pay that you will make per month but you really get nothing unless you make a sale. that is one thing they do not tell you. they also don’t tell you that they require you to door knock to receive clients. they don’t tell you that you must put more money into even more tests to sell certain policies. the only sale i made they completed jipped me out of and say now 4 months after quitting that i owe them money. the management was absolutely awful. managers sat in the office where all employees can hear because the door was open and talked poorly of multiple people who worked in the office. stay far away from this company. you will lose money!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut-throat place
Licensed Health and Life Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Hurricane, WVJuly 9, 2018
Bankers Life is the worst business anyone could get themselves into. On top of being a very competitive industry, my manager was the most unprofessional person that I have ever met. Between working long hours, driving everywhere, and setting up all of our appointments, I had to deal with the inconvenience of not even being put on the policies, so that my manager would not have to split commissions with me. Pathetic place
Pros
Has potential
Cons
Cut-throat
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not accept a job here
Life and Health Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJuly 7, 2018
I wish I had taken the reviews I read about this company seriously. If you are intending to sell life and health insurance, do not go here. There is no support. The bonuses they promise you take a couple of months to receive. Some get theirs sooner and some it takes more than two months.

Read and pay attention to the reviews before accepting a position here. It is 100% commission and your first 3 months you only make half of your commission and they hold some back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of promises...but just self serving.
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSJuly 4, 2018
Company is there more to make the salary people money. All split commissions from the start. Little support once mentor doesn't split commissions. Lots of chargebacks, plus favorites were played a lot in this office in Topeka, ks, such as with branch managers son or daughters fiance.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to mention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay job
Insurance Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Raleigh-Durham, NCJuly 4, 2018
Told you will make a certain amount and when you get there no one is making that even experienced agents. Will do little to no help to show you the ropes fo whhat to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 2, 2018
If you want to sell insurance, this is the place for you. The hardest part of the job was getting the appointments and finding people who needed the insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bankers Life. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 1,162 reviews
5220
4227
3268
2189
1258

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
2.9Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss