Banner Engineering Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fergus Falls, MNAugust 6, 2018
It was a nice place to work, but when the economy was slow back in 2009 they closed this plant. It's too bad that the jobs went to China. I guess profitability was the driving force behind this decision.
Pros
Very nice place to work.
Cons
Plant closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed the people I worked with.
Mechanical Inspector (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJune 4, 2018
Banner Engineering was a very pleasant place to work. I had quite a lot of experience when I went there so I didn't need much help.
The management was excellent. I was asked if I would come back if business picked up again, and I said yes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid, simple job that is easy to catch on to
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNMay 9, 2018
I would help restock things on shelves, fill out orders, pack boxes, and ship orders throughout the day. Sometimes I would be asked to do odd tasks like cleaning or assembling things. Since I have worked there off and on during summers and winters between school semesters, I am rather knowledgeable on the job and find it a good place to work.
Pros
Paid company picnics/parties, relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Heavy lifting required somedays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Electronic assembler (Former Employee) –  Huron, SDMarch 14, 2018
Its like any other place you might work at. Depending on the shift and what you might do there, is the hours you will get. You will get a full eight hours no doubt! Unless there is bad weather of course. Other than that; its a place of business and they pay you.
Pros
most of the job you sit all day. I loved that part!
Cons
Computers don't work and don't bother asking for help!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of management and direction
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNMarch 14, 2018
Good working atmosphere. Friendly and great co workers.

Organizational changes every 6 to 10 month.

Changing from a small work place to a cut throat larger company.

Micro management. Keeping track on phone calls, when you come in and leave.

I don't trust managers.
Pros
Friendly people, except a few managers
Cons
micro managing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was happy to goto work loved the work I was hired to do
Parts Assembler (Former Employee) –  Huron, SDFebruary 19, 2018
I was happy with the career I had for short stint, I had a medical appointment and staff didn't take it into consideration. Duties such as soldering and assembly made me feel content and happy ever day to come to work.
Pros
Nice environment in relation to duties and parts.
Cons
Other employee were vulgar in behavior and vocalizations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Huron, SDJanuary 24, 2018
The hours weren’t too bad provided you don’t want a family life outside of the plant. Was hard to get days off. Worked a lot of overtime which made it very hard to plan vacations or doctor appointments. They go through a lot of help.
Pros
Daytime hours
Cons
Lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
Electronic Assembler (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDJuly 25, 2017
It's a good stable place to work. They are focused on providing good quality products for their customers. It's a very laid back easy going environment. Overall a decent place to work.
Pros
Incentive program
Cons
Stuck in a chair 9 hrs a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, Great People, Great Company
Design Intern (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJuly 20, 2017
I am learning new things everyday with new tasks and new challenges arise. With personal ideas being acknowledged. They see the worker i am and put that to the test with bigger better things to see and i am treated well like the people who have worked at Banner longer then i have.
Pros
Lots of activities, softball company outings
Cons
Have not witnessed any yet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment in a vastly growing company
materials handler II (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJuly 13, 2017
the opportunities for advancement and cross-training are great; the hourly wages are exceptional; a lot of new procedures and equipment to accompany the growing customer base
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Supportive of Employees
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJuly 13, 2017
There is little to no training available to educate staff. Systems used are cumbersome and again, no training. The company is stuck in the past, not willing to move forward. Upper management is out of touch what is happening the ranks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, easy work.
Machine operator (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDJune 29, 2017
The pay is very nice for the work being done. The benefits are crazy affordable. You could do a back braking job and make less. I get to work with some pretty cool machines and I get to see the electrical components on the boards and what they make.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDMarch 8, 2017
Management has their favorites, time off is impossible w/o pto, pay not great for what you have to do, better not miss work w/of pto or you probably get fired
Pros
Day shift hours are nice
Cons
Benefits are spendy, favortism, time off nearly impossible w/o pto
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for!
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNFebruary 23, 2016
This company had great benefits, and really knows how to take care of the employees. The only drawback was their rigid hiring guidelines. It can be difficult to move to a different department within the organization if you don't have exactly the right experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disfunctional
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNNovember 16, 2015
Poor Pay. Try 30 percent minimum below market.

Cheap. Who charges their employees for flu shots? Yep. Banner does. $5.00 a pop.

Middle Managers? Try cast offs from Honeywell who feel that the only way to validate their presence is by micromanaging their direct reports. Extremely immature and punitive. Very cliquish. You're either in - or you're out.

R and D? Nonexistent.
Pros
None. Sorry
Cons
Please see below
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an enjoyable workplace with good people
Warehouse Helper (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNSeptember 23, 2015
I mainly packed boxes and cleaned up around a warehouse. I enjoyed working with the people that work there. It was an enjoyable job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really enjoyed the rersponsibility of running night shift crew.
Electrical/Mechanical Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Fergus Falls, MNJanuary 18, 2015
Came into plant at 9pm Monday thru Thursday andn started up all the SMT machinery. We then loaded to jobs in the Solder Paste Screener and the Panasonic MSR Pick and Place machines. ight crew consisted of 3 operators, me being the Lead operator and the Electronics Technician who troubleshot and repaired SMT machinery as needed.
Pros
Availability of overtime and night shift schedule.
Cons
Major problem we shut down pick and place til day shift arrived.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something to do, fun and challenging.
Electrical Technician I (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen SdDecember 11, 2014
Always stayed busy, love being a technician and having the pressure of keeping production flowing when something needed to be done and or fixed. I learned a lot about how a business works how important you can be to the company. most enjoyable part of the job was the people and management, it made it particularly easy to come to work and have a fast day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, the best I ever worked for, great people to work with.
Project Management - New Product Development (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 5, 2014
Opportunities galore, great training opportunities, diverse workforce and
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDApril 14, 2014
Supervisors are very considerate.
Great co-works.
Learned many skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 19Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Banner Engineering Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 24 reviews
58
48
34
21
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Banner Engineering Corporation Reviews by Location