Bargain Hunt Employee Reviews for Retail Sales Associate

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 317 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNNovember 25, 2019
I had personal problems I was dealing with. It’s a great job with great people. Wish I could go back! Only down fall is the pay rate other than that I loved working with the people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go somewhere else
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calhoun, GAOctober 25, 2019
Poor managements, poor training they just throw you loose after hiring you. Drama, lot and lots of drama. Depends on who kisses the most butt gets promotions. No drug screen before hiring so full of meth heads
Pros
20 percent discount
Cons
No drug screening so most employees strung out
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALOctober 3, 2019
Working for Bargain Hunt meant you never knew what your hours were each week, what you'd be doing every day or who would call out due to poor employment options. The staff is unreliable and the district managers were unreliable and unpalatable. No one stuck around long due to wage inequality and low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Retail Team Member (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 1, 2019
Very Poor training
Understaffed
Lazy workers
Made cashier's do everyone's job
Worked Like slaves
They just throw you into your new position without fully training you
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t do it
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hixson, TNSeptember 22, 2019
It is not worth it. Keep looking for a job elsewhere. No one cares about anything here. The people are difficult to work with. One of the managers will yell at everyone over really stupid stuff. It’s very repetitive and the job just sucks overall. The pay is bad as well.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Pell City, ALSeptember 14, 2019
I did not enjoy working here. It was very unstable. I often worked 50-60 hr work weeks because the store was understaffed. I had to do the store leader's duties, but they were paid $4 more an hour which is unfair.
Pros
30 min lunch break
Cons
Stressful, not enough employees, they over work and under pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Pell City, ALAugust 29, 2019
I enjoy my job at Bargain Hunt. My supervisor is very kind and compassionate! The manager is a female which is a good mentor and inspiration, for all who work there! She has made a vast improvement in the store since my arrival with numerous customer compliments!
I was given an opportunity when no one else was willing to give me that chance!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people not so good coworkers.
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, OHAugust 9, 2019
i liked Bargain hunt but it wasn't the same after a few months i realized that only a few people out of the hand full that worked there were the only ones doing any real work when you have others at the front desk there whole shift or taking 8 smoke breaks a day or staying in the back all day and putting stickers on items and letting other people to put them out on the floor(im not just some grunt but I will work as long as its fair i will stick around)
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back job without any appreciation or advancement.
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYMay 18, 2019
The jobs at Bargain Hunt consist primarily of a salaried full-time manager and all other store associates including assistant managers, team leaders, etc. working on a part-time basis.

The job of a store associate at Bargain Hunt is pretty simple and self explanatory for a typical day of work. Be nice to customers by providing friendly customer service to patrons shopping the store. Stock and replenish merchandise on the store shelves by moving freight from the back stockroom onto the sales floor. Label and organize the store merchandise for sale by at best neatly organizing the store shelves. In these aspects as long as one is working hard and doing what he or she is told then the position is a pretty laid back and not mentally taxing in the least.

The hardest part of the job is keeping up with some of the shipments of freight from the delivery trucks and moving it onto the sales floor. This involves re-labeling most of the merchandise that rolls off the delivery trucks with new Evergreen price labels as the original UPC scans are no longer valid with the reselling of items. Bargain Hunt will get two and sometimes three trucks a week full of freight. This is way too many shipments of freight for a store of Bargain Hunt's nature. What is more is that the distribution center will send an abundance of merchandise to stores that the stores already has an abundant supply of out on the sales floor. Bargain Hunt wants and is trying to be something like Wal-Mart, Target, or any of the other major retail outlets but should learn to stay in its lane. Bargain Hunt is a place where
  more... an abundance of overstock, aftermarket, and products of a bad idea design flaw go to die. The merchandise either gets another shot in this capitalist society of being sold to a customer for $$ or winds up in an already over swelling landfill.

The most enjoyable part of working at Bargain Hunt is getting to work with some of my co-workers and getting to know them a bit better. I don't get too attached to my co-workers as there can be a high employee turnover rate that is in correlative to the low pay rate. Another enjoyable part is that the tasks of the position is pretty self explanatory with the work being laid back while not being mentally taxing . The job position however can lead to boredom so it is not for everyone.

The least enjoyable part of working with Bargain Hunt is corporate workplace culture and divorced reality that the headquarters has with store associates. Part-time employees after one year of services are offered the option to set aside an amount into a 401K retirement plan. This both funny and sad at the same juncture. How is one supposed to set aside money to save from an unlivable $8 an hour wage? A major aspect by far of working with the Bargain Hunt store that is the most least enjoyable is the constant management limbo store associates encounter. Just by the time one becomes comfortable one manager and the way he or she does things then off they go and in comes another with a direct opposite management style. I can only conjecture that this high management turnover rate too is related to equally low pay scale and unreasonable demands placed upon management from DMs sent out from Bargain Hunt headquarters.
  less
Pros
Store Discounts, Laid Back, Self Explanatory Tasks.
Cons
Part-time, low pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ALMay 8, 2019
It's a great job for people in school or if you live with someone who is willing to support you. It's impossible to survive on this job alone. I've worked here for Seven months and the only good thing I can say I "enjoy" is the conversations and interactions with other employees.
Pros
20% discount.
Cons
Short breaks, bad communication between management, inconsistent schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is horrible.
Sales Floor Team Member (Former Employee) –  Erlanger, KYMay 8, 2019
This store needs lots of help, It needs a new manager. He doesn't care about his employees, only himself. They can't take days off, but he does. xxxxx
Pros
20% discount
Cons
low wages, Horrible Mgr
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Retail associate (Current Employee) –  ColumbusMay 7, 2019
Too much favoritism. People constantly on their phones including the managers while on the floor.
New management there is horrible.Everyone does what they want there. The store is cluttered with overstock. It looks horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Stability
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  TennesseeApril 19, 2019
Our store was really bad about actually holding on to employees and management, as a result the store can't really be kept in "good" condition. The store and the way things are run constantly seems to fluctuate. There are periods where things go well, inevitably followed by a stretch of stressful times. Rules and guidelines are always changing, but upper management did a very poor job relaying changes to workers.
Pros
20% Discount, Relatively relaxed retail environment to work in
Cons
No chance at pay increases, not enough hours assigned, some workers get assigned too much to do with not enough help
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bargain Hunt
Retail Store Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morristown, TNJanuary 20, 2019
great for high school students and part-time workers.
flexible hours, decent pay.
could have better management.
need more involvement between employees.
great discounts.
useful products for everyday life
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love My Work Family
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Springfield, OHJanuary 7, 2019
I love our group of female leaders! Working with these woman, I find I love coming to to work! As long as you come to work, and do you job, there isn't a problem. It really feels like a family with our group!
Pros
Some times we get free lunch, job is easy and not stressful, breaks are given when needed
Cons
Not enough store management, too many associates who show up and stand there
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is great, Management isnt
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GASeptember 19, 2018
The management team all trusts each other and trusts none of their workers when the managers sit in the office all day and the workers keep the clothes off the ground and merchandise on the shelves but are still singled out for small projects the manager requested that dont move the store forward at all or keep it presentable. The store is a mess generally.
Pros
good deals. good coworkers.
Cons
bad managers. terrible situation to be in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mt. Juliet, TNSeptember 5, 2018
All associals are very helpful and like working for Bargain Hunt. You are able to work thru out store, making your shift flow easily. Help customers find the producing they need.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
I haven't experienced any cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 17Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Heath, OHAugust 9, 2018
Very unorganized and very unprofessional. Assistant manager threatened to fight me after I resigned. Can’t control temper and likes to throw things. Watch your head if you plan on working here.
Pros
Low prices
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJuly 5, 2018
I had recently came in on a morning shift with a couple other people to re-due the store. I was always the one the had the most hours. I was the one working the hardest regardless of the time of day. I would put in 200% no matter what. Dealing with customers, stocking freight, pushing product, supervising the warehouse, driving the forklift taking freight off the truck. Cleaning the store before and after my shift. All of it.
Pros
Good discounts 20% on all mechandise
Cons
horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest Part
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJune 21, 2018
The hardest part of working at Bargain Hunt was that the hiring manager hired many people that knew each other and it was a difficult task to keep everyone on track and doing their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bargain Hunt. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 317 reviews
546
461
360
256
194

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.2Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight