Bargain Hunt Employee Reviews

Found 314 reviews matching the search See all 317 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 12, 2019
If you are interested in this company please find another company. I've been in retail management for 20 years. I have never been so stressed out in my life. No structure, unorganized and upper management changed things weekly. Good luck
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people not so good coworkers.
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, OHAugust 9, 2019
i liked Bargain hunt but it wasn't the same after a few months i realized that only a few people out of the hand full that worked there were the only ones doing any real work when you have others at the front desk there whole shift or taking 8 smoke breaks a day or staying in the back all day and putting stickers on items and letting other people to put them out on the floor(im not just some grunt but I will work as long as its fair i will stick around)
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Processor (Current Employee) –  Antioch, TNAugust 9, 2019
Great place to work just don’t pay no money and it’s super hot inside the warehouse the supervisors are nice and is willing to work with you as far as your schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good entry level retail job.
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 6, 2019
For me, Bargain Hunt was a good place to work, but not without a few flaws. The job is very easy, and management is very lenient. The store is generally messy so it's hard to keep straight, and at times, items may be defective or mislabeled. If you're a person who goes out of their way to make up for the minor flaws rather than staying in your lane and dealing with them, management WILL recognize you and give you opportunities to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison Sentence
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee) –  Cumming, GAAugust 5, 2019
Awful management of the company, they treat workers like garbage and constantly threaten their jobs. All their products are returns from Target that are either broken or missing pieces, can hardly consider that a bargain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better products
Former lead associate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 4, 2019
Need to stop getting old clothes and shoes from
The goodwill because the clothes and shoes are not clean they have blood stains on them, very dirty and the smell is so bad makes you not want to come in the store. Especially in the entrance way
Pros
Great lunches
Cons
Not enough security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Corporate Management
Store Leader (Former Employee) –  Calhoun, GAAugust 3, 2019
Bargain Hunt has gone away from a company that cared about it's customers much less employees. District Leaders create a hostile environment. HR is useless. They are just a gossip mill. This company has turned down qualified Leaders for being female or fat and HR covered it up. You are expected to be on call 24/7 if you are salaried.
Pros
Pay is Okay
Cons
Belittlement and constant job threats
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAJuly 29, 2019
Management was wonderful and they really showed me about teamwork.

The hardest [part of the job is doing returns . A typical day at work consist of counting the money before shift , cleaning the bathrooms, picking the clothes off the floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Team Member/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Florence, ALJuly 26, 2019
Bargain hunt is a pretty relaxed place. The managers and coworkers are great to work with. Really flexible with the work schedule for parents or students. But there isn't a lot of opportunities for advancement in the company. And pay isn't all that great either. But overall, a great place to work if money isn't really an issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for the tender hearted
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSJuly 23, 2019
Was great at first then steadily started going down hill, store leaders iare terrible to employees, don't respect Team Leaders, therefore, associates do not respect Team Leaders. Few employees nothing but cut throat, daily drama, no job security, you are nothing, you are replaceable regardless of how long you have been there, if you have issues good luck getting the DM to call you back. Bad employees seem to get put on a pedestal, trustworthy employees are tossed out like trash. ALOT of turnover,. Do not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment
Cashier/ stocker (Former Employee) –  Erlanger, KYJuly 22, 2019
At first it wasnt bad, but as i was there for longer i saw how rude the store manager was to his employees and how he picked favorites. Some were allowed to do things like no call no show alot in month. Im not the only person who felt this way everyone was scared to say anything to him.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many chefs in the kitchen
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Hixson, TNJuly 20, 2019
Very high turn around in the corporate office and sever lack of communication.. not enough employees ever scheduled to complete task management . Had 3 different store managers within 3 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad manager, bad changes.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Erlanger, KYJuly 18, 2019
Manager was very self centered and lazy, only worked when upper management came around. Would have “corporate policies” that would never be told to us, so when they went into the stores we never knew until day of so we only had so little time to prepare. Normal leads would only gave 1/2 extra people to help them, while the main manager would have 4+ on his closing shift to do his job while he stayed in the office Playing on his phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Antioch, TNJuly 17, 2019
I like the job in all but it’s just not in my area n the pay was ok but I want some more. I’m trying to find something closer to me and with more pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 15, 2019
Would not recommend working there , pay was very low and management didn’t care . Was promised pay increase didn’t happen. Needs better pay and management and holiday pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  5124 summer aveJuly 11, 2019
Bargain Hunt has to be one of the worse jobs I have had. The one on summer was dangerous. The management didn't care about you. If you aren't available for them, then you weren't any good to them. The district manager only cared about the business, and not the employees. They don't offer full time unless you're a manager. You didnt recieve holiday pay unless you were full time. Store manager gossiped worse then the employees.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Horrible atmosphere, horrible management(certain stores), and horrible pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bargain Hunt
Cashier/ Stocker (Former Employee) –  Newnan, GAJuly 11, 2019
I was in the front most of my time working running a cash register but some days i would stock shelves. The management team are full of great people and they have total understanding for people. I would recommend someone who is working part time to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and excellent environment
Furniture dept Manager (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSJuly 5, 2019
Great place to work and excellent environment. It's retail so don't expect any holiday off . The mangers are pretty cool. Could work together more. They
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
No holidays off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Apparel Associate (Former Employee) –  Winchester, KYJuly 2, 2019
Terrible company on all levels. Employees are severely underpaid, overworked, no benefits or time off. Super inconsistent scheduling. Poor treatment of all employees. Terrible hours. I left ASAP.
Cons
Pay, benefits, hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager in Erlanger Store
Stock Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Erlanger, KYJune 30, 2019
This store has great people working there except the General Manager. He is a no nothing, angry man. The money they pay depends on if he likes you or not. No one gets full time status, but they work you full time hours.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
Everything else!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bargain Hunt. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 317 reviews
546
461
360
256
194

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.2Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight