Barrick Gold Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 192 reviews matching the search See all 336 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place many employee activities
Dump Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVJanuary 2, 2019
I really liked working for barrick gold they took care of there employees had opportunities for time off and outstanding employee benefits very understanding management for family emergencies
Pros
lots of employee and family based activities
Cons
to farfrom home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
MINE GEOLOGIST (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVDecember 18, 2018
Assays results put in database, go to morning meeting with miners, go underground samples and mapping. Update the new information in database, Update maps and drilling reports.

Learned that details are important and integrity.

Management need it to listen both parties before making a decision, in general it was good.

Good workplace culture.

Hardest part was to be tested about my knowledge, and every time I was correct.

Most enjoyable was to go underground and do my job and be the boss.
Pros
Great healthcare and 401 K
Cons
take a bus to go to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work anymore
Metallurgical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVDecember 1, 2018
Really bad management with no leadership skills and bare minimum encouragement for their employees.

Also they do not care about work/life balance.

Chain of command is not followed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grt place
unmderground miner (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVOctober 16, 2018
money was grt .people were grt.really enjoyed work.days off were good.benefits were grt.advancement opportunities were excellent.overall a grt place to work
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barrick is an excellent company to work for
Training coordinator turquoise Ridge (Current Employee) –  Winnemucca NevadaSeptember 22, 2018
The company cared about you working safely and wanted you to be home safe everyday quality work there was excellent excellent management team the hourly employees were great to work with
Pros
4 days on 3 days off salary to 10 hours a day
Cons
Hour drive to the mine 10 hour day is 12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all work, no life
General Supervisor Safety and Health (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVFebruary 1, 2019
Con; long hours, lower than average pay, huge turnover.
Pro; 2 years with Barrick is worth 10+ in experience compared to it's peers....................
Pros
will develope quickly
Cons
long hours, lower than average pay, high turn over rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Miner 1 (Former Employee) –  Golconda, NVJanuary 28, 2019
I work for this company before and becouse i got sick and ended up in the hospital i couldnt call them i lost my job now i apply again after 2 years of waiting and they told to stop waisting my time that they wont hire me 3 supervisor form TR wanted me to.go work for them but the people at HR made impossible for me to get a job with them so unless you know this people or you are friends with them you would never get a job or in my case another chance i wish i could talk to upper management and explained to them what happen and the way some of this people take it personal not to give you a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Company with a vision for the future
Mobile Operations Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Carlin, NVJanuary 6, 2019
Barrick is a great company to work for and they pay very well with industry leading benefits. The only reason I would entertain leaving this company is to be closer to family in Washington
Pros
Great Benefits, Great People
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
PROCESS MAINTENANCE MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Goldstrike NVJanuary 18, 2019
Good job for mypersonal skills. Fun work. Satisfying work enviorment Good safe work eviorment.Able to utilize all my sklills. Good trainingioppourtunities
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
Start time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for beginning college students
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Elko, NV 89801November 12, 2018
This Internship gave me the experience of the industries workplace. It gave me a look into what kind of job I would like to do in the future. I appreciated the opportunity to work with such dedicated people.
Pros
Great pay, compensated Housing
Cons
long hours and long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cortez Mine
Mobile Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Crescent Valley, NVOctober 24, 2018
Overall it was a pleasant working experience. I was on a crew with great coworkers and good supervisors. The shops in which most of the work was performed were well stocked with the bigger tooling needed.
Pros
Good pay, great benefits
Cons
Long bus ride to and from work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Underground mobile mechanic (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVOctober 23, 2018
16 hour work days including the bus ride out to the mine good benifits newer equipment to work on the managemnt is good to work under the have plenty of parts on hand to fix the equipment
Pros
great benifits
Cons
long work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Water Treatment Operator (Current Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVSeptember 23, 2018
Okay company. The people really follow the safety protocol and make it part of the job culture. There are pros and cons, many of the workers are related to workers at the mine.
Pros
Paid lunch
Cons
Long work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits/ lackluster management
PROCESS OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVSeptember 5, 2018
No consistent HR/PR policies. The work environment is partial to management at the expense of workers. People First policy is not followed consistently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVFebruary 6, 2019
Because of the collaborative environment it promotes a lot of peer interaction. This helps develop strong relationships and teams. I have reaped the rewards of sharing great ideas with those I work with and some amazing friendships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and chance to retire young
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVMarch 30, 2018
This company had long hours and very large dangerous equipment but offered wonderful training and benefits. I would recommend this job to anyone who wants to earn a living and get ahead in life.
Pros
Pay was great
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVJune 8, 2018
Good company to work for if you can get in. Fairly impossible if you are over a certain age, or don't know someone. They say they promote from within and if you do a good job and show up to work, you can transfer. That is absolutely not true.
Pros
benefits
Cons
lack of ability to transfer within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work no problems with other employees
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  NEVADADecember 26, 2018
I enjoyed working at barrick it was my favorite underground gold mining job enjoyed the hours and overtime I enjoy working underground .Would love to work at barrick gold mine again.
Pros
Perks lots of overtime
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All of the really talented workers are forced out
Operations (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVJuly 5, 2018
If you hire on and start brown nosing quickly, they will move you up. If you hire on and don’t brown nose you’ll never go anywhere within the company. And if you point out any of the brown nosing, they make your life miserable until you quit or they can fire you.
Pros
Steady check
Cons
Really poor management that shouldn’t work anywhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They play favorites
Tire Technician/Mechanic/ Site services (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVJune 29, 2018
If your not in there little circle and play their games they will do anything to make your life a living nightmare!! And most people that work there hate the upper management it's like us vs them Scenario.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
They put the wrong people in management. Too much of the buddy buddy system
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barrick Gold Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 336 reviews
5135
4126
352
211
112

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight