Baruch College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Stressed environment without compensation
Administrative Superintendent of CF&) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 30, 2018
The culture is more of laid back with very little accountability. Employees seldom do what they want and have nominal work culture. There are no room for advancement and no raise in salary for 12 years.
Pros
Partial reimbursement for education
Cons
Compensation poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to start
College Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 29, 2018
I started working at Baruch when I was an undergraduate. It is good for a part time position and to gain some teaching experience. Overall, you will become a better communicator, experienced in explaining and manage time.
Pros
Manager work with your hours
Cons
strict teaching habits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Oracle Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 22, 2018
If you want to work in a place where you can implement your ideas, with the backing of a huge amount of resources on your side, Baruch is not a bad place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cronyism
Assistant to Accounting Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 5, 2018
People lacking experience were appointed to professional positions
Task duplication an at times triplication
Creation of invented work emergencies when in reality there were none
Cronyism: appointment of family members in the civil service
Pros
No many
Cons
Cronyism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Copy cataloger (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYFebruary 17, 2018
I learned a lot from this academic school as a government worker.

As a CUNY worker, I learned cataloging of various types of material and media. They support good workers good benefits. The environment of the Baruch college is very good and pleasant.
The supervisor of the place is kind and supportive.
Pros
Health insurance, sick leave, annual leave
Cons
less other benefit than health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for a Video Recording
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 15, 2018
I worked for Baruch College doing a video recording and I was paid $50 for a days work. Everything went well! No complaints, my supervisor was very helpful.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Would have liked more work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No strong opinion
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 15, 2018
I was a peripheral and part-time worker here. I cannot provide anything like an objective review of what it is like to be employed at this particular institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss poorly ran organization
Event/Conference Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2018
I had a great boss but the organization as a whole was unorganized. Luckily my boss and ran our own events and sponsorships so we were not too involved in the day to day of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about being a messenger in the mailroom
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2017
I scanned mail items and delivered to several buildings on the college campus. I became very good at scanning and delivery of package and learned a lot about customer service from those who trained me. It was a great learning experience!
Pros
Varity of things to do. Met alot of different people!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clerical (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 18, 2017
Even though this was a volunteer unpaid internship, the job was fun. The staff was very helpful and worked as a team to complete tasks. My Director was always on hand to assist.
Pros
Great place to learn skills
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, sometimes long hours
Office assistant (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYOctober 30, 2017
During registration, the bookstore work hours were very long and tedious, over 12 hours a day. Most of the time you were on your feet. However, as the months passed by, the hours decreased tremendously. It was difficult as one was paid minimum wage. We had no fun events and no paid off time. We did receive a discount on books and clothes
Pros
discount on books.
Cons
Exa: Long hours, less pay, no time, no insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 18, 2017
Great place to volunteer. Meet a lot of great people there. I made a lot of connections that could help me succeed in the future. Manage was okay......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part of CUNY
Senior Information Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 9, 2017
Good place to work with full benefits and pension plan. Lots of different positions to apply for. Positions for full and part time both on academic and professional positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professor
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 28, 2017
50% of my time is spent on doing and grading homework for an advanced probability course and an elementary statistics course. 50% of my time is spent on consulting PhD students about stats software problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult but huge support from supervisors.
Orientation Leader (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2017
Working with young adults is always an adventure but management really gives you space to control your group and backs you up when needed. Fun work environment.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Too many technically difficulties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lecturer
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  New York CityJuly 10, 2017
Worked for ten years and taught a variety of subjects to a myriad of students from all over the world. Great place to work, but contracts renewed every year with little possibility of full time.
Pros
dynamic
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can advance your career
Assistant to Chair (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2017
Baruch College is very supportive of you going back to school and enhancing your career as well as yourself. Productive and fun workplace. Very diverse workplace. Meet new and different people from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
Director of Executive Programs (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 12, 2017
Great higher education environment. One of the best public universities in NYC. The administrative and faculty colleagues are professional and a pleasure working with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderfull work enviroment
Helpdesk Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2017
Some day are easy other are busy. But leadership is fundamental. Great Staff.

Love working here, the only downside is that if you are a part-time you don't get the opportunity of moving up so quick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked my job
Teachers Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 14, 2017
I found the job to have a very pleasant work environment and would definitely recommend it to others. I have been employed here for 2 years now and will continue my job here as I enjoy the position very much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Baruch College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 99 reviews
545
435
313
23
13

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.1Culture

Baruch College Reviews by Location