Basic Energy Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Vacuum Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Many, LA 71449August 18, 2018
They reduce your pay by 25% while you pre trip and post trip their raggedy trucks and trailer. Mechanic is a joke. They dock you $1 per hour you work for 2 weeks if you miss a Safety meeting. The trucks and trailer look like they came from a third world country. The recaps are always on flat. Saltwater was literally eating my trailer until parts of it was falling off.
Pros
Nothng
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try to keep busy as much as possible
Well service Operator (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMJuly 23, 2018
I enjoyed my time working with this company..but we all try to go where money is greater due to the fact of the cost of living now days & what we try to provide for ourselves/family..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic is a good company
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Artesia, NMJuly 17, 2018
But when they don't have a steady crew for u it's hard to want to work there they will only use u when they don't have any one else to go to or then some one takes the day off
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Bad work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great learning experience, good benefits
Driver/Professional Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Lamesa, TXJuly 13, 2018
Great place to work. Had the opportunity to advance after just a few months as a driver. Headquarter created a new position and about fifty names were put in a pool for consideration. Each yard manager was asked to select their best 2 drivers. From there only one candidate would be selected. I got the position of Regional Professional Driver Trainer which meant that I would oversee all training operations and trainers from 20+ yards and locations.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Job ended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
DOT Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 13, 2018
The people are great and it is a good place to work. The only problem is that the company as a whole is struggling, so they had to make cuts and I was one of the cuts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Rock Springs, WYJuly 12, 2018
it was a good job but it always seemed like everybody was unhappy with there job or what they were doing so it made your job more stressfull then it had to be
Pros
Local work at the time
Cons
Short tempers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Warehouse/Parts Manager (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 12, 2018
enjoying working with others get to learn parts in the oil business, had a great supervisor that taught me bout parts when he could. learning about the oil field is very challenging and that is what I like
Pros
free lunches
Cons
very small yard for to many pumps. tractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work Environment
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJuly 4, 2018
This was an extremely laid back environment to the point of it being an issue. The management overlooked all kinds of inappropriate behavior that should have been taken care of immediately. I would not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quickpace work
Floorhand (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 3, 2018
Have to be quick and know your tools and what your doing. Have to be able to work well with other workers. Have to be ready to work sometimes out of town or maybe all the time out of town. Get days off on weekends or whenever the schedule is.
Pros
Get paid good work alot
Cons
Have to be fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good equipment
Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXJuly 2, 2018
There equipment was always up to par. i liked the people i worked with. i would of stayed if we started getting more working hours. The pay was awesome. benefits were the best you could get around here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productine
Derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJuly 2, 2018
Its a good place to work. I enjoy it and learn a lot from it l would like for people to go and try to expericed and learned from it . but a good work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  TexasJune 27, 2018
I was a lab tec all I did was mix chemicals and made sure that the Seamit set the right way and not to fast before they went to pump it into the fields
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Rig Operator (Former Employee) –  Talco, TXJune 23, 2018
its hard hands on work, but pay is great, and location is set. Fast paced, days go by fast. takes weeks to get familiar with terms of daily work. easy to advance.
Pros
great pay
Cons
heat outside, Texas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
winch truck driver moving oil field equipment
Winch Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJune 18, 2018
early mornings inspection on truck dispatched to difference locations in TX and NM. Moving oil field equipment. sometimes I had to drive a belly dump with cement.
Pros
learned to drive a winch truck
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work was entry of all work billing different companies.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Stockton, TXApril 25, 2018
Daily entry of all work tickets, entry of all payroll for 20 employees .
Accounts payable of all charges for Ft. Stockton yard.
The hardest part of the job was collecting for pass due tickets.
Pros
Enjoyed working with accounts payable and receivable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat
Intern (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 24, 2018
Some mangers are power hunger and are opportunist. Who take for granted there staff. Executives are clueless of what goes on in the departments. Because they fail to interact with staff. Executives only interact with the managers. Executives never show there faces and if they do they don't say a word. or even acknowledge you.
Pros
Beautiful building
Cons
No diversity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies
Lead Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDApril 19, 2018
This company lied to me the whole time I worked there. They always want you to do your job and 2 other peoples job. They treat the rig hands like garbage. They are all about you making them money but when you ask for a raise they aren’t making any money. I have been told that I was number 14 mechanic that went through that office in less than a decade.
Cons
No 401k match, constantly lying, never happy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXApril 17, 2018
There was a lot of stress with this job and needing to get everything done when it needed to be, kept me on my toes, which is nice. I enjoyed everyone I worked with.
Pros
overtime
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked the people i worked with.
Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Electra, TX 76360April 8, 2018
never did what they told us they were going to do. Like hiring more help. Instead they exspected you to do your job plus two other persons jobs that were not even there, with out a pay raise
Pros
Bbqs
Cons
under paid and over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working
Staff Assistant (Current Employee) –  Artesia, NMApril 3, 2018
I really enjoyed working with management very fair and always encouraged to do more to be more, always open to suggestions, somewhat flexible hours, rewarded is with quarterly bonuses.
Pros
Worked with great people felt like family
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Basic Energy Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 238 reviews
573
472
351
214
128

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture