Bealls Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 1,136 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It went to heck in a hand basket
Processor/Handler, Truck Crew, Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Seminole, FLOctober 17, 2018
First year was great, untill i brought up that I'd been working for a year and asked for a raise.
Very shortly after that the manager left, and the stock rook manager left, and people were brought in from other stores who had NO clue of what they were doing.
Shortly after they lost the stock room manager I'd asked to take the position. They decided it would be better to take someone who had never even worked with the company and let him fill that role.
He came in and turned everything upside-down and backwards.
so within my last 6 month 2 more managers left, we only had one real manager running the store, the other being an area manager.
Things started getting backed up for months. employee moral dropped to an all time low, and it came to a point where couldn't advance.
I put in my two weeks and fund a job at the UPS store in Seminole.
Pros
15 minute paid break
Cons
mandatory 30 minute lunch unpaid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressless job with a great work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Giddings, TXOctober 11, 2018
This job was really great for someone who barely joined the labor force and wants to have experience in customer service to help get a work experience and help someone hone their social skills when dealing with customers whether the customers were difficult or not. The work culture was real amazing and everyone got along which made even slow work days go by fast
Pros
flexible hours, great management, good work culture
Cons
low pay and the only chance to earn more was to earn more commission but commission was low as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bealls
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooksville, FLOctober 3, 2018
Great store and enjoyed working there and still enjoy shopping there. Coworkers are friendly and good people, management was caring and respectful. Discount was good.
Pros
discount
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 2, 2018
Relocate Merchandise, Interview, Supervised everything, Handle Cash and Checks transaction. Handle costumers complains and compliments. Fast pace environment. Great environment to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get started
CAD Designer (Current Employee) –  Bradenton, FLOctober 2, 2018
Good place to get started and grow your skills. Can be difficult to advance to upper levels. Bealls has a very traditional culture with enforced dress codes and business hours. They offer full benefits but they are the minimal not anything noteworthy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is the literal worst
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, FLSeptember 30, 2018
management was rude and uncaring. tried to make everyone feel like they were specifically out to get them. pay was not worth all the different job titles. hours were inconsistent. i.e. 15 hours one week and then 39 the next. management did not take responsibility for anything and put every and all mistakes off on employees. i was hired at “on-call” when i was told i was part time while being given 40 hours a week. but did not receive the benefits of full or part time because i was tricked and put in the system as “on-call”. super disrespectful and over working place. treats employees ridiculously terrible.
Pros
free lunches on occasion.. usually chips and soda
Cons
no 15 minutes breaks, no healthcare, no paid vacation or sick time, management terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amibiente de trabajo agradable.
Supervisor de warehouse (Former Employee) –  Bradenton,FL U.S.ASeptember 19, 2018
Mejor trabajo que he tenido tanto en sueldo como en horarios de trabajo.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay workplace
retail associate (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZSeptember 16, 2018
overall i really enjoyed working at this company. up until i started to not have any hours week by week and then i had to contact corporate and that started to face also....
Pros
employee discount on clothes
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Visual Merchandising Manager (Former Employee) –  Granbury, TXSeptember 5, 2018
I loved my job as visual merchandising manager. Unfortunately I can not agree with how that particular stores management was. There was a lot of down talking employees behind their backs. Lack of communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Old School place to work
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Bradenton, FLSeptember 4, 2018
I traveled a lot and the mentality is very old school at Bealls. Very inconsistent goals and initiatives. The systems are out of date but they are working on changing it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
still working there
customer service (Former Employee) –  Palm Coast, FLSeptember 4, 2018
They give you hours and keep you busy. A typical day would be: check customers out, empty dressing rooms and recover the store at night. There is some customer service to do as well. It is fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant overturn in staffing with low compensation
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 4, 2018
Compensation is one of the lowest with constant turn over. advancement is only permitted if willing to relocate to the other side of the state, Full time status can be greatly reduced with approval by management if not interested in relocating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary of working at bealls retail.
cashier (Current Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FL 32118September 1, 2018
the typical day at the Bealls is of the following clock in say hello to a few customers and help them with any thing they need. Other than that help some people at check out, try to make the credit card requirement of the day, and to get people on to the store's loyalty program. while also if the store was slow we had to clean up after the customer, checking the rooms and putting away the cloths, cleaning up the cloths on displays and that is pretty much it. what i learned from it was customer service skills and retail skills. Management is good, you just need to always give two weeks notice for any thing schedule wise. the hardest part of the job would have to be is any time having to deal with shoplifters. the most enjoyable part is when we meet over the quota in credit cards and we get a free lunch.
Pros
free lunch some times
Cons
they have been playing the same music in the store for the past 2 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for College Students
Seasonal Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 1, 2018
Flexible hours, manager worked with my school schedule. There is just no room to grow within the store. Store environment was relaxed and slow paced. Great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Beeville, TXAugust 27, 2018
There was literally no discipline in this store or involving corporate levels. The management was the worst I have ever worked with and was truly embarrassed to say I worked alongside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blaze workplace where experience depends on relationship with buyer
Merchandise Technician (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLAugust 24, 2018
Some buyers are wonderful and collaborative with their staff and others are rude and prefer people who placate to their jokes, etc. The position is pretty easy and just requires getting used to the operating system and protocol.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the greatest
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 17, 2018
lets just say...accept this job as your first but move on as soon as another opportunity comes. no benefits, no chance of promotion, no chance of character development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Perry, GAAugust 16, 2018
Working at Bealls was definitely fun! I loved my managers, coworkers, and even the customers who came in to shop with us. I had flexible scheduling, very understanding managers and much more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bealls Work Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  North Fort Myers, FLAugust 16, 2018
Working at Bealls for the most part has been stressful and disappointing. The management ranges from kind and nice to erratic and hostile. Some of the managers are kind and encouraging while others are vindictive and controlling.
Pros
The other employees
Cons
Managements unpredictability
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bealls is a great place for a part time job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLAugust 15, 2018
very low pay
no benefits for part time at all
not enough hours for "certain" people but "plenty" for others
they say flexible, but easy it really I dont know about that
Pros
If you dont have to live off of that salary its a decent part time job
Cons
Weekends a must, but not for all
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bealls Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,136 reviews
5315
4286
3283
2128
1124

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight